Awoonga update 15-7-08

Thread: Awoonga update 15-7-08

Awoonga update 15-7-08

Hi guys quick update on charters and some personal fishing time this week.
    Two charters, one early week and one yesterday proved to be exciting and rewarding for travelling angler from NSW, both with limited angling skill but a keen learning attitude saw them land fish they had only read about.

Yesterday a 108cm and a 96cm fish were boated and 4 other solid hook ups in 4 hours, normally my charters go for 6 hours however the boys were keen to get back to camp to celebrate with a few coldies.
    Early week saw 4 fish boated out of 7 hookups for two anglers, smallest being 87cm and the largest 113cm. Will post the pics up on my website in the bragmat section.

The fishing is not red hot at present, and certainly not seeing big numbers but the quality is there. Current weather patterns are keeping the fishing steady but not ground breaking, but the Barra are there to be caught and I am hearing stories of greater success during the dark hours.

Personal fishing time and sounder work for upcoming charters saw 10 fish in two sessions mid week, light breezes and comfotable weather means the water is great place to be this time of year.
    Each day has proven to be typical of Barra fishing. The lure that worked yesterday, didnt work the next, so keep an open mind (and tacklebox) if your fishing the lake at present.
    Cheers and good luck if your heading up this way.
    Jas

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

Re: Awoonga update 15-7-08

Thanks for the report Jas.

Looking at another trip up there in August.

John.

Mate looking an absolute treat at the moment. Weather on the dam for the next few days should be about perfect - feel a sickie comin on..........

Hi John,
    Was nice to meet you down in Brisbane. Small world hey!
    Might catch up when your up next eh.
    Jas

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

G'Day Jas,
    Yeah mate it's truly a very small world, it's amazing who you run into on some of the trips you make. As you probably know i fish Faust a hell of a lot and the people i have run into there is mind blowing, not only that but the new friends you make and you see them again and again, always time for a beer and a yarn, makes life great.
    I guess after all the comp fishing i did when i was living in Sydney it's inevitable that i would run into some of these chaps again on the barra trail, great to catch up with these people.

Going to Faust again for 3 weeks in Oct but with the fuel prices going the way they are you will see a lot more of me at both Awoonga and Monduran, you know i have only fished both those locations once before, bloody crazy! Just love that Faust!

I will be up to Awoonga in August, not sure of the dates yet but i'll let you know.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by the_matrix View Post
    Hi guys quick update on charters and some personal fishing time this week.
    Two charters, one early week and one yesterday proved to be exciting and rewarding for travelling angler from NSW, both with limited angling skill but a keen learning attitude saw them land fish they had only read about.

Yesterday a 108cm and a 96cm fish were boated and 4 other solid hook ups in 4 hours, normally my charters go for 6 hours however the boys were keen to get back to camp to celebrate with a few coldies.
    Early week saw 4 fish boated out of 7 hookups for two anglers, smallest being 87cm and the largest 113cm. Will post the pics up on my website in the bragmat section.

The fishing is not red hot at present, and certainly not seeing big numbers but the quality is there. Current weather patterns are keeping the fishing steady but not ground breaking, but the Barra are there to be caught and I am hearing stories of greater success during the dark hours.

Personal fishing time and sounder work for upcoming charters saw 10 fish in two sessions mid week, light breezes and comfotable weather means the water is great place to be this time of year.
    Each day has proven to be typical of Barra fishing. The lure that worked yesterday, didnt work the next, so keep an open mind (and tacklebox) if your fishing the lake at present.
    Cheers and good luck if your heading up this way.
    Jas
    hey buddy sounds like good fun.
    i stayin on awonga this week work till 4 then will be hittin the lake every arvo it looks like a pretty big lae any tips would be much aprechiated

hows the water levels up there does anyone know what percent awonga is?
    purcho

Quote Originally Posted by two fold View Post
    hows the water levels up there does anyone know what percent awonga is?
    purcho
    Google up SunFish and all will be revealed...Whitto PS Or is that Sun Water

Ausfish Platinum Member Awoonga's Avatar

Whitto... have you lost the plot...lol...Not Sunfish or Sunwater...Its GAWB......53%

Quote Originally Posted by Awoonga View Post
    Whitto... have you lost the plot...lol...Not Sunfish or Sunwater...Its GAWB......53%
    IBD Trev IBD Mate.......If only I was closer.......Thanks for the correction Trev....Cheers Whitto