2WD Hilux - Chunky Tyres Possible?

Thread: 2WD Hilux - Chunky Tyres Possible?

2WD Hilux - Chunky Tyres Possible?

Gday

i have a mate with a 97 2wd hilux. unfortunately he doesnt have the money to upgrade to 4wd but he was wondering is it possible to get slightly chunky tyres on the rear.

i was at his place the other day and we had to push his car off the nature strip because it had no grip.

has anyone had any experience with anything like this? ive seen slightly chunky tyres on a subaru outback before so it must be possible

Jock
    Last edited by Lucky_Phill; 15-07-2008 at 07:44 PM.

Re: 2WD Hilux - Chunky Tyres Possible?

First problem is there is no weight in the rear... then if he had a LSD, that would help.

There might be insurance and roadworthy issues with different tyres on the rear ?

yeh was just thinkin tyres would probably be cheaper than a limited slip diff. could probably get four new tyres?

they would be the same size tyres as before

Jock

in the 14inch tyres theres notthing what would suit you. if you went to a 15inch rim of sorts you could put on a 205/70/15 which will be pretty close to the original size/ thing the bridgestone 684 or dunlop PT1 would be the go

I'm guessing you are in QLD.
    You can have different tread types on each corner of your vehicle if you like as long as they are the same size.
    Unfortunately in QLD at the moment light commercial 2WDs need to have what ever is on their tyre placard. Why I don't know. Yes I know there are a heap of low luxs and alike out there with different wheels and tyres but they are all breaking the law.

In saying this if you go close to whats on the placard I'm sure the authorities will turn a blind eye. BUT the insurance company might be a different story if anything should happen.

neil

na mate im in tassie, i went in today to look in beaurepaires and talked to the bloke behind the counter. he told us we are able to have different types of tyres on the rear. he suggested dunlop venturas or something like that. apparently the same type of tyre that telstra use on there vans. i know the bloke so he wasnt bull $#!++ing me.

ill tell my mate to check with his insurance company

i personally think lowluxes are a waste of time and money (but thats just my opinion)

Thanks for ur help

Jock

venturas are a goodyear tyre that was recently phased out. pretty ordinary at best. if you get venturas check the date code to make sure the tyres arent old stock

perhaps i heard the bloke wrong. might not of been venturas. but they were definitely dunlop

he said somthing about he been selling them for over 10 years with no problems

Jock