Thread: Tinaroo quick update

Tinaroo quick update

Evening all,

Its been awhile since posting any reports as to be honest I have had little to post about. Trips have been less due to resigning from my current position in hospitality industry so am watching the funds with the curent price of petrol
    I have done a couple of trips with Shayne and then one on my own today. We have only boated 1 fish over the metre a few weeks back.

Today I went out to give a fly rod I picked up a go. I had a couple of casts but the wind was pretty strong, so I changed to my spin stick and first cast I had a monster hit on a slick rig. That was really the sum of my quick arvo fish, but found a dead barra (there are a few starting to go belly up) that was without a doubt the biggest I have ever seen in person. I did a measure against my Loomis CR665 and it went from the rod tip all the way to the cork grip. It was huge!!!!! Wish it was alive and hooked onto my line. Due to the recent cold snap, I think this is the reason I have found numerous fish floating.

So I will keep you all updated when there is more to write about. I am waiting for the weather to become a little more consistent before I do more trips, with hopeful success

Cheers guys

Re: Tinaroo quick update

Nows the best time to be out there Matt, you can learn a hell of a lot in pear shaped weather!

IMHO success isn't always putting a fish in the boat!

Hope things are well,
    Matt C

Matt C,

Yeah, I have been trying not to tell myself that I should be out there, but I keep giving in Going again probably tomorrow....

I learnt alot last winter, which I am positive helped me reap great rewards for the rest of the year. I was looking forward to this period again to see what other "things" I can learn.

Matt good to hear from you again!! Shame about petrol and the FNQ tourist industry problems. It certainly impacts many up there.

Fishing wise, bit tough hey. Just hope they can outlast the cold snaps. I know someone found a near dead big fish here last week...I hope last winter doesnt repeat for any dams.
    good to hear from you again, I bet your reports will come thick and fast in a few months

Matt,

Gonna give it a floggin on Friday in my tub. Havn't fished in a week and a bit.

Where abouts you see that huge dead fish, and what size do you think it was mate? Its coming up to August... keep an eye on the Barron, always a heap of fish go belly up there for some reason. Last trip by myself saw a 125+ arse over tit in DPI... very fat!

Theo
    TT

Hi Matt i hope the petrol doesn't kill a lot of jobs up your way mate. We saw 75% of Awoonga & Monduran empty no the Queens Bday Weekend - they used to be packed in the past especially at the Boyne Tannum hookup a couple of years ago.

Keen barra fisho's from brissy are already talking about taking less boats up and doing less trips..Some big tackle shops down here don't have the guys coming in buying $800 worth of rods and lures for barra - it might be on the downward phase of the boom. Yep more and more new people will get in to barra fishing to keep the ramps busy- just relaying what's going on in some shops down here.

I agree with Matt - now is a great time to be out there in crap weather.

Keep posting your northern perspective please mate we enjoy reading what all you guys are up to in that great part of Qld.

All the best- lyndon & kel

Hi Matt ..... Good to see that you are still managing a fish ..... I hope things go well on the job front!
    I wonder if those big girls that go belly up ( 125s+) have just about reached the end of the road ...... & things like sudden & prolonged temperature drops just take them over the edge
    Sure ..... some fish get bigger ...... but maybe these are the ones that equate to a 100 YO human

Hey lads,

Yes the price of petrol has sky rocketed but the caravan park @ Monduran is booked out for the whole month of Nov so chin up boys. I was one of the lucky few to secure one of the few remaining sites left.

Bring on summer I say as I think the cold keeps alot of anglers away.

Steve B and the likes - can you plse keep us Brisbane based anglers up-to-date regarding fish losses in these more southern impoundments please. Fingers crossed there will be NOTHING to report.

Caleb

G'Day Matt.....Thanks for the report.....You know I can't help thinking what would the biggest Barra in Tinaroo is at this time....I have mentioned this before, I first visited Tinaroo as a lad of 14 yrs of age and in those days the DPI were putting Barra fingerlings into Tinaroo..Iam now 60yrs old...now I understand that Barra just don't keep growing in relation to their age...at some point they would die of old age...but there has to be some big mothers swimming around....now wouldn't that be a sight to see.......I must return to Tinaroo again someday and spend sometime there.....My home Town is Innisfail I now live in Brisbane......Plenty of Barra and Jack Country not to mention the Brown Gekko's in the Johnstone River.....But Im sure there has to Big Big Barra in Tinaroo........Just my thoughts.....Keep up the report Matt good stuff....Whitto

G'day Whitto!

These 100lb'ers are doing my head in... they're in there thats for sure! If one's gonna come from somewhere, its here.

A mate of mine reminded me of an eye opening sight a few years back the other day... had completely forgotten about it all this time. We were doing a group Canoe trip with school (2005... would have been in Yr 10) when we pulled up to a flat, rather featureless bank to have lunch. I now know the bank as 'Mondora's Run' as the cranky old bastard trolls here alot apparently (seen him do it a few times). Well when we pulled up for lunch that day we saw an absolute brut fish, laying dead on the bank which had obviously sucumb to the cold like quite a few of them do sadly. I havn't stopped thinking about this fish for the last few days.. I went for a fish with BarraBoss today and I was even thinking about it then. I wasn't into Barra fishing then, but since then I have seen alot of big, big Barra and the one I saw that day would definetely match some of the fish I've seen... even Matt's 127 tank. Im glad he brought that trip back up, because I would have forgotten all about it!

When you do come back up to Tinaroo Whitto, you will have to go into Atherton Bait + Tackle and ask Darryl if you can see the photo of the lady from your home town Innisfail that caught the 40kg fish in Houseboat Bay. The photo is on the wall behind the Barra Trophy. Darryl saw the fish first hand as he was fishing that night and saw all the camera and torch flashes, so he went over to invesigate. He got a pretty nice suprise! No nastyness at all in this next comment, but from the photo's that I've seen the lady that landed it is a solid built sheila, and with that huge fish on her lap... its gotta be 40kg. You will have to see for yourself mate!

Theo
    TT

great report thanks barraboss im sure its only a matter of time before you have some big fish to rport
    purcho