polycraft owners...
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: polycraft owners...

Ausfish Platinum Member breamnut's Avatar

polycraft owners...

since im still on the look out for a boat that can do a bit of alround fishing ive recently been looking at a few polycraft boats (with a few added extra's and dech layout) was just wondering if anybody has had much experiance with them?

Re: polycraft owners...

Go to
    http://www.polyboatowners.com/

Heaps of info there

I have a 455 frontrunner ,which have served me very well for 2 years now.The front casting deck is instant for lurefishing.It have been bounced off rockwalls drifting,pulled up on concrete ramps every time we launch or retrieve,run up to beaches to land.In fact we done everything to it what would destroy a tinnie or a glassboat.They are very tough ,practical and for that fact i strongly recommend them.If you after a shiny showpiece however they maybe not for you.Sea handling is,being a heavy piece of plastic is very good ,but takes a bigger motor to run it,i had mine in 4 metre seas with no drama .Mine is 330 kg for a 455 boat.Have a testride and make up your mind .
    George
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

I have a 4.55 Centre console. All up, more pro's than con's. They are an ugly boat but man they can take a beating. I dont respect my goodies very well so this boat suits me well.

But as with any good thing, there is also bad. Polycraft have traded handling for stability. The poly is great when you are sitting there fishing, but when you are banging sideways into 2-3m chop you get very wet, and you need to hang on to the tiller/wheel cause these things dont like going through waves. This is not too different to other boats, but it is noticably worse. IMO, my boat would be better off with the console sitting back another foot or two to help pull the nose up out of the water a tad more. Also, if you are going to buy one, get electric trim, as they are a dog to get the motor set right. They either bog down or when trimmed up ventilate on tight turns.

As for weight, dont beleive it. Pick another boat the same size fitted with a console and casting decks and floor and the weights are all about the same. I checked all this out before I bought mine and was very surprised.

I’ve got a 5.3 with a tad over 400 hours

It has been brilliant, the hull is superb - it is stable, soft riding and never broaches. They are fairly basic from the factory but I’ve fitted mine out with a live bait tank, T-top, outriggers, baitbord, esky seat and a good set of electronics.

I regally go camping overnight with out a drama and the usual fishing grounds are 25 to 50 miles out and she does it easy.

There are a few things you should know:
    The wiring is poor - no tinned copper and things stop working after a few months so I’ve re-wired the lot. You get wet in a big sea when it’s on the front quarter and side on. Need to keep skids on the trailer lubed so you can push it off.

Quote Originally Posted by Luke G View Post

It has been brilliant, the hull is superb - it is stable, soft riding and never broaches. They are fairly basic from the factory but I’ve fitted mine out with a live bait tank, T-top, outriggers, baitbord, esky seat and a good set of electronics.

I regally go camping overnight with out a drama and the usual fishing grounds are 25 to 50 miles out and she does it easy.

The wiring is poor - no tinned copper and things stop working after a few months so I’ve re-wired the lot. You get wet in a big sea when it’s on the front quarter and side on. Need to keep skids on the trailer lubed so you can push it off.
    As for broaching, mine does it, but I do take it out in conditions where most would stay at home cursing the weather! You wont notice the broaching till you head out in short chop in the 2+ metre category.

G'day do you have a 5.3?

Mines a CC and it has never come close to broaching - today was 28knot winds and up here we have short sharp chop. I has a folowing sea for approx 8 miles with waves probably around the 1.5 to 2m mark and as usual she tracked straight and true. I always tend to trim the motor right up and keep the power on in these sort of conditions.

Quote Originally Posted by Luke G View Post

I thought wiring is up to the dealer - not Polycraft.

Ausfish Platinum Member breamnut's Avatar

thanks for the comments, you may get wet in rough sea's but atleast u wont have to worrry about the hull cracking.
    i have a mate who can do all the wireing for me IF i decide to go for one...
    ive been looking at the new 4.5 drifter with a 60hp something in the side consol version
    also ive herd they are very easy to get in survey

Hey Breamnut - I'm in a simliar position as yourself.....looking at selling the tinnie, and getting a 4.5 poly (No more worrying about electrolysis, cracked welds etc).

If buying new, make sure you get one that's already in the yard, so you can really check it out for defects...been told(And seen) that the quality has dropped somewhat recently.

I also have a 5.3 but in the Cuddy, never felt it come close to broaching, Not doubting you TRA, just my experience.

Polys are not for everyone, but suits what I want to do that's why I bought it. Have a good look around before committing to anything (not just boats).

Fez

My mate has one and I have spent more time in it than my own boat.He bought the base model boat,50 hp motor and trailer.The only extras he bought was the bench seats that doubles as storage or kill tank/esky.He has decked it out himself with a false floor( that leaves the deck clear and is used for spare rods,tackle and safety gear),nav lights,sounder,bait tank and concealed battery + seats rold holders etc.Been fishing up North in it a couple times 7 weeks total all around Sir Edward Pellew Islands and the Macarthur River system open water and estuary.
    Id have to say durable because we hit a rock bar in Poison Creek and bounced a bit a came away with only a few scratches.Trim and tilt is definently a plus.The way the boat is designed it can almost turn on a dime and diplaces water well.Under floor tanks are great.Easy to clean.Doesnt fade.Get someone to back the trailer down and you can line the boat up pretty much and hook her straight on.Keep the silicon spray up to the skids on the trailer.The only reel disadvantage that I experienced was if you run in to shallow water or beached at low tide the poly boat is alot harder to move than a tinny.Its either heavier or needs more water to stay bouyant.
    For esutary fishing its great but at the end of the day its your choice and your $$$$$
    Mex

I have a 455 Side console. I do not find it more or less wet than any other boat in the same configuration, at the end of the day an open boat is just that.
    The finish on the Polys is not that of a glass boat however I believe in 10 years time will look better than a glass or tinny of the same age, I really give mine hell and once every 3 months pull out the heat gun and fix the little nicks and gouges.
    The wiring is not supplied from Poly but is the responsibility of the dealer, having said this a few guys have found the trailer wiring to be less than satisfactory.
    As said, the Polys are not for everybody, if you want a stable, quiet, bombproof rig that requires very little maintenance, the poly can not be beaten (imho)
    If you want a boat to be seen in with a flawless finish and lots of pretty stuff, go glass.

Im based near Newcastle, but have an open offer to anyone serious about Polys that I am happy to take them for a run if in the area.

Geoff

Go check out www.polyboatowners.com You will become acquainted with plenty of good blokes who have lots of experience in poly boats, and it is a really friendly place with everyone willing to share info etc. Considering the amount you will be spending on a boat, it would be worth your time to check it out. If possible, make up a shortlist of boats you like, and then try and get a ride in each of them. My personal opinion is that the Polycraft will surprise you with its ride and handling and quietness on the water. A definite bonus if you like to chase bream. No corrosion - ever. Very tough boat. Not everyone's cuppa tea, but have a good look before you decide to buy.
    Last edited by bushbeachboy; 15-07-2008 at 08:08 PM. Reason: spelling error

OK .... I have to say it. The first few comments were about 2-3-4 m seas they handle great ! If you are out in a 4.55m anything with 4m seas then you are an idiot.
    I think the poly's are a great boat and alot of times I wish I got one instead of my Haines Signature due to the rocks and mud at CQ.