-
perfect friday
Hey fellow ausfishers,
long time reader first time post. After a sleep in on Friday and waking to the winds not being bad as i expected (i only have a 12ft tinny). I decided to start the weekend early so i ventured out to the mouth of caboolture river with some worms in search of the humble winter whiting.
first bait in the water for approx 5 seconds and the fun started and did not stop for about 1 hour in which i pulled in kept 25 winteries all in the 20cm range with quite a few going over 25cm. I only had about 10 throw backs for the day!
towards the end of a drift i was chatting to an old timer in a boat not far from me who couldn't raise a fish as he was using squid. i gave him the remainder of my worms in which he was grateful for and had caught 5 whiting in the short time i was next him still chatting.
I finished up the great day by trolling a 3" pumpkin seed gulp super slow along a bank on the way to the boat ramp and managed to nail 2 solid flathead going 47 and 55cm.
great weather, a great feed, and great to see the roosters get beaten enjoying a few cheeky ones at the local club where a mate won 300 bucks on the pokies. I reckon it was Karma for the worms.
Bermo
-
Ausfish Gold Member
-
Ausfish Addict
Re: perfect friday
Sounds like a day well spent. Good on ya for passing on unused bait to a fellow fisho.
-
around that area is firing well for winteries at moment .we were out saturday and got about 30 and also found worms were the only bait to use couldnt raise a scale on anything else.just good to be out and setting a few.Did you drop any pots we have been getting some good sandies out there as well ?
-
nah seajay, didn't drop any pots but there were quite a few out there around the yellow cross. the water looks great and really clean at the moment. SE QLD is not a bad part of the world don't you think