Mud Island produces again. Friday 11/7 - Page 2

Thread: Mud Island produces again. Friday 11/7

Re: Mud Island produces again. Friday 11/7

Quote Originally Posted by gummybusta View Post
    Fish has got a pretty big bump on its noggin for a bay fish??? arent they spose to be rounded sorry to be a sceptic, bloody nice fish no matter where it came from!

Good work summertrance there is no doubt in my mind where you caught it as i have seen plenty caught with knobs on them ,it seems that we have too many knobs making comment on things they no nothing about live it up mate great catch . Hopefully we will all have some great catches to show after tonights effort ,i am the same as scalem i am up and getting ready to go see you out their tonight ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

It looks like a Bay Snap to me and a nice one at that. Well done. I think there are some good fish going to be brought in on the weekend

Ausfish Platinum Member dogsbody's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    It looks like a Bay Snap to me and a nice one at that. Well done. I think there are some good fish going to be brought in on the weekend

I'd like to think that I'm going to be one of them.

Nice fish ST and to think I had a pack of blue pepper in my hand at the shop but went with the nuc's.

I reckon some blokes just don't learn and enjoy getting put in the sin bin. (gummy)

Avast ye matey!

Thanks for the relpies guys. Ive been having a ball at Mud lately, and hope it can continue.

Quote Originally Posted by dogsbody View Post
    Nice fish ST and to think I had a pack of blue pepper in my hand at the shop but went with the nuc's.
    I tried a nuc chook for about 40 mins yesterday, and only got a throwback pinkie. I noticed in the last pack of nuc's I got, the green is a lot more flouro then the older ones.

have a look in my esky sunday, you"ll see a few looking in similiar size

Congratulations Marc on another awesome fish. Wish I could've been there to help out. Hopefully we'll have another hit at it this week.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    ...Pulled a 77cm snap there on Monday. Thats the fish in my avitar. Have a close look, you can see Mud in the background...
    That looks like a "sink hole" fish to me. There's no fish like that at Mud.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Quote Originally Posted by For Steve View Post
    That looks like a "sink hole" fish to me. There's no fish like that at Mud.

Hahaha good one mate. Your right but, no one else shouldnt bother fishing Mud, theres no good fish there

I am a newby at Mud Fishing - had some hit and misses. However I cannot understand why if someone says that they caught a fish at Mud (which is a big snapper hatchery and breading ground (and where there are babies being made there has to be mum and dad) why some fellas are quick to can it and say that the fish has been caught elsewhere....you have to ask yourself why would someone lie and say its caught at Mud if it was caught elsewhere (it doesnt make them gun fishos to have caught it at Mud compared to offshore - its probably harder but igf you regularly get Snapper anywhere I reckon your a gun anyway).

Good onya mate for catching that lot - great feed there and light gear again shows the way.

Hahaha good one mate. Your right but, no one else shouldnt bother fishing Mud, theres no good fish there
    I'm still finding it tough going but you're reaping the rewards for the time and effort you've been putting in. Good on ya!
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Totally awesome Summertrance. Can't believe the success you are having around Mud at the moment because most of us aren't so lucky. I fished in the River to Mud this weekend and the biggest I caught was 46cms which I released because I felt it would be nowhere near the size needed to win a prize. I was wrong. The general standard for everyone was throwbacks this year and I can't help but notice the change in quality of fish this year compared to last. As far as bay snapper not having a bump on their head I know this is hogwash. Today I pulled in a 36cm pinkie that was in absolute prime condition but to my surprise it had the start of a knob on its head already. Has anyone else seen this? It's a first for me.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

As far as I know all SEQ Snapper come from the same genetic pool and move freely from one area to another. The bump on the head and the thickening around the nose in big males is due to hyperostosis and seems to be linked to the fishes feeding techniques and habitat. There are certainly many nobby snapper in Moreton Bay but the area holds many big fish exhibiting minimal bone development.
    A catch of a dozen nobby snapper is far more likely to have come from some of our deeper SEQ reef areas than inside Moreton Bay.
    Other conditions can trigger hyperostosis and the fishery scientists are still not convinced what causes some Snapper to develop the knob while in some areas none develop them

Quote Originally Posted by Poodroo View Post
    . Today I pulled in a 36cm pinkie that was in absolute prime condition but to my surprise it had the start of a knob on its head already. Has anyone else seen this? It's a first for me.

Ive had a few around the 40 mark with very minor bumps, but check this 45cm fish that came from Mud a couple weeks back. Huge knob for its size.

I should have taken a photo of this 36cm example yesterday in hindsight but never mind. It had a bump equal to your 45cm fish. I thought it was very unusual for this sized fish. It is going to look ugly when it reaches maturity I reckon. It was legal at that size but I never keep them under 40cms normally so I released it. Maybe I should have kept it and prevented it from certain ugliness in later life. Almost a mercy killing.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

top fish mate well done... good reward for the obvious time and effort you spend sussing em out.