Thread: Braid-Mono Leader joins?

Braid-Mono Leader joins?

Hi Ausfishers,

What's to best way of tying a loop-to-loop connection between a bimini double (in braid) and a twisted mono leader?

Also, what's a relatively simple way of connecting a heavy single strand leader to braid? I normally would revert to an albright knot, but when using heavy mono leader, it seems to catch on the guides a bit too much, so preferably the knot I'm looking for should travel through the rod guides pretty well.

Any links to diagrams or your own pics would be fantastically helpful.

RB
    searchin' for my lost shaker of salt

Re: Braid-Mono Leader joins?

Gday Red Bull
    I guess you've seen the twisted leader on the Ausfish animated knot page - http://www.ausfish.com.au/knots/

blew a flip flop, standing on a pop top

Cheers Dezzer, I hadn't seen that, but have used a similar knot which was in one of Geoff Wilsons books. Good knot for strength, but seemed to really clatter through the guides when casting.

I've heard of a slim beauty, but is it really very slim?

RB

Hi Redbull, try this one. Easy to tie and never had it fail. Line will break before the knot fails.

http://www.worldseafishing.com/tackl...d_to_mono.html

To join my reel mono backing to braid I use a bimini twist in each end and then join the 2 using a cats paw. Looks weird but it works, very slim little resistance through the guides.

the easiest one i've found is very similar to the Albright Knot.

if my description helps give this ago.

form a loop in the mono line, pass the braid up through the loop. hold the braid at the spot where the mono loop meets with a tag end of braid about 6 - 10cm. with that tag end wrap it around the mono loop and the braid, i usualy do this about 10 - 15 times. finally go back through the mono loop you created, wet the knot and slide it down.

i'll do a quick paint diagram so you can see what i mean.. sorry about the instructions. and i hope i haven't made anyone lose sleep over my drawing ability.

this loop runs flawlessely through your guides.. just remember to cut the tag ends as close as you like to the knot.

i use this on 6lb braid to 20lb mono leader (jenkai)

This knot that local guy has shown is the one i have been useing for 4 yrs and it hasn't let me down once in that time ...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Check this , a MidKnot instruction which is my favourite knot for GT fishing .

http://www.noreast.com/discussion/Vi...opic_ID=112071

Jon .
    It's not what you don't know that gets you into trouble , it's what you know for sure that ain't so .
    Mark Twain .

I have converted from Bimini twist and improved albright to the slim beauty.From what I have found, the slim beauty tied right is considerably more 'runner friendly' than improved albright...especially on heavier guage lines/leaders. Hasn't let me down so far, and its quicker to tie in a hurry. Not sure where to locate a diagram or instructions except the fishing DVD no 11 with Jason Wilhelm.

cheers steve.

Quote Originally Posted by Local_Guy View Post

form a loop in the mono line, pass the braid up through the loop. hold the braid at the spot where the mono loop meets with a tag end of braid about 6 - 10cm. with that tag end wrap it around the mono loop and the braid, i usualy do this about 10 - 15 times. finally go back through the mono loop you created, wet the knot and slide it down.

i'll do a quick paint diagram so you can see what i mean.. sorry about the instructions. and i hope i haven't made anyone lose sleep over my drawing ability.

this loop runs flawlessely through your guides.. just remember to cut the tag ends as close as you like to the knot.

i too use this knot & never had it slip or break, not even a est 200kg groper on 50lb braid could break it, top knot!

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Arrow Re: Braid-Mono Leader joins?

Quote Originally Posted by Local_Guy View Post

Thanks LG.

Do you use fireline? Or have you used this knot with fireline?

neil

can't remember what line is on my reel. but it's similar to fireline. you shouldn't have a problem.

cheers fellas, all very helpful.

Local guy, that connection looks simple enough, I will definitely learn it. Will it work on heavier mono leader like 80 pound, do you reckon?

Jonli....that mid knot is far too complicated for my limited skills, and I don't think I could tie very effective midknots in the heat of a fishing moment! But thanks for the suggestion.

Steve, I'll be learning the slim beauty too i think. Cheers mate.

RB