Thread: straddie kayak?

straddie kayak?

Fellas, a divorce has emptied me of a boat (and half a house).

For now my fishing will be land based with occassional trip to Straddie and Moreton. I am begiining my reserach into a single kayak that i would love to throw on top of my mates Landcruiser and launch from the beach.

Thoughts please on what brands I should be looking for?

Re: straddie kayak?

i got an ocean kayak - scarmbler xt.
    its a good kayak for its price($900) as far as fishiing off, its fine. theres heaps of room for all the extras like sounder and rod holders.
    the only down fall is you literally sit in a bit of water so during the colder months i wouldnt dream of taking it out ... too cold...
    im currently looking at upgrading to a ocean kayak prowler. this is like the luxuary model. it comes with rudder, good storage and heaps of extras. it would be perfect for fishing.

hope this helps
    boat minder- only $40 a day

Mate I spent a lot of time in My Viking Pro Fish last week at straddy.

It was great. Got out to Shag Rock and the Group. Launching at Home Beach was darn easy.

I am over there often and always take the yaks.

Angus

I love my Hobie Quest. Very stable, comfortable and comes with more than similar yaks for the money.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line