-
Ausfish New Member
Sharks in Pumicestone
With the weather not looking fantastic over the next couple of days to get outside, I was thinking with the bit of fresh being flushed towards the Caloundra Bar I might go hunting for Bullies. I have not fished the passage for sharks before so any suggestions or advice would be appreciated.
-
-
Ausfish New Member
Re: Sharks in Pumicestone
Thanks Tom, I think that will be the the plan
-
Re: Sharks in Pumistone
hey mate
i have been wanting 2 try 4 bullies in the passage 4 ages
my mates and i are going camping up near mission point, so while im there i will have and rod or 3 out for them
probably use stingray flaps (if i can get 1), live mullet and maybe a big yakka
where are u planning 2 fish?
its easy for me camping, will just have the rods out while round the fire, if we get one its a bonus
last time we were there we were fishing for them, but not 2 seriously, only had little poddy mullet 4 bait so not a touch the hole night
i know they are around, i have seen them get fully airborn, and a mate catches them frequently
there are a few good threads telling you what to use and do
goodluck
let us know how u go
jb
-
Ausfish New Member
No problem jb, hope to go tommorw night, if I don't freeze to death I will post how it went. I think with the fresh in the system I will try near the bar and see how I go.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
yeah try near the bar, if your lucky you might get a jewie as a bonus. hopefully you get onto a few, i have not had any sharking experience in pumistone passage. goodluck.
regards,
keechie
Breaming is my LIFE!!!
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks Keechie, keep up the Breaming.
-
Have seen the bullies heard up the mullet close to shore at night while camping at Lime pocket (just upstream from mission) but have never fished for them.
Cheers Scott
-
Ausfish Gold Member
The whole donnybrook area is loaded with them mate. Inside the mouth of glassy is a good start as well as around 112's. Like legend I reckon Stingray flaps are a gun bait followed closely by live mullet. They're usually a bit slower in the colder months, but definitely worth a go. Good luck. Keith
-
Creek Vermin - whwre are or what are the "112's"
-
Ausfish Gold Member
112's are over near the mouth of poverty. It's an old oyster farm that comes out at low.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Bit off the subject Soz!!!!
But does it hold good bream?
-
Ausfish Gold Member
I target bullies from time to time.
Its a matter weather you want to target catching a shark from the outright or fish for jew, flatties etc and hope you also get a bullshark.
The reason being, you can hook up a bullie on 20lb line on a 4/0 hook - and have a chance of landing it - a slim chance. But you wont get as board as other things will jump on your line too.
WHen targeting sharks - it can be a long and boring night if your not totally into it. Not many things can eat a slab / side of mullet on a massive hook.
It takes specific terminal tackle - as a shark will roll, and with the grain their skin is smooth, the other way - it is like coarse sand paper and will chaffe your line and break it by bruit force and weight. surprisingly, its their skin that is more likely to damage your line than their teeth. The teeth are more designed for tearing at flesh, and as such, are poorly alligned and you would be unlucky to get "bitten off".
Anything less than a decent 4/0 hook - and even a small gauge 6/0 will straighten it out like copper wire.
I use 50lb mono, and have one rig floated, and one weighted with enough lead to stay on the bottom. Depending on where you are, and where in the water table you start to get them, change your other rig over. In my experience, bull sharks swim in the middle to lower of the water table, although they will chase schooling bait fish to the surface.
I use a wire trace I make myself, 100lb coated wire that you can cut easily with pliers and weld yourself using a lighter. Make the trace about 100cm long.
I use a snap swivel from main line to wire trace, and a snap swivel from the trace to the hook. You dont have to - just I am lazy and this allows me to swap around terminal tackle and replace hooks - as you will generally need to change hooks once you land one.
Hooks - I use a solid 8/0 - none of the cheap chinese crap. They just collapse out like copper wire when loaded up. Make sure they are super sharp too. I am not fussy on brands...
Bait - eels are the bomb - those slimy suckers that usually hang around the very areas your likely to try for bullies. Failing that ( which is mostly - I hate handling these suckers) - I use mullet fillets from woollies or a seafood co-op at at murrarie near the boat ramp there - WAYYYY cheaper than bait shop. I soak them in an old tupper ware container in tuna oil, and take them out and use them as needed.
I know a lot of people talk about sting ray flaps.... but I dont consider these a practical bait - they are not easy to come by in terms of preparation, and not that safe either in my opinion.
Finally, hold on and wait!
I just have to say - think carefully when landing these too. Its all too easy to get caught up in the excitement of catching a shark.
They are an important part of the ecosystem from which they come, so catching and killing them for "sport" is not something I would support. The 60cm to 1m ones are not bad on the chew. Most of mine - I release or give to a family I know of in local community who culturally values this species as top food.
Also - keep your whits about you... Where are you going to land it - and who is around? People near by will come to look... these things are strong and unpredictable. I would NEVER boat one of any reasonable size. Even on the shore, I have landed one, and thought I had given it a good bang over the head, and have it turn 180 degrees on the sand with its mouth open looking for my leg or arm.
Have fun and let us know how you go.
Brad.
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks Brad,
Interesting reading, I did get out last night and even though it was cold and a bit slow, as we were only targeting sharks, it was a top night. First time targeting only shark and my rig was about what you described. My mate used half a mullett on the bottom and I floated a slimy on the surface and a yakka mid water. 4 hours went by and not a sniff but then we landed 3 in 30 minutes and then they were gone again as quickly as they came on.
A little bit of fine tuning the gear and a warmer night and I will be back out again. All were about 1m and released unharmed although I have heard that those little bullies are not bad eating.
Thanks to all those who posted some useful information and happy fishing.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
G'day Greg
Glad I could be of help... and great to hear you managed to get onto some.
Wait til the warmer months.... SOme places they are very prolific. Esp. certain regions of the logan. I bet you will be more ginger about hanging around in thigh deep water at the local boat ramps now lol...