i reckon fish the mouth.
if you pick up the latest edition of bush and beach magazine it has a full brissy river guide which will helped me alot. hope this helps
Gday all, going to the Brissie River on Wednesday afternoon / night to give it a go, just hoping someone could offer some tips, intend to give the old cast net a flog for some livies and will have some sp's on board, was hoping to maybe snare myself jewie or some nice squire for a feed, hoping someone could suggest what part of the river to target, i understand if you don't want to give up spot X just the general location would do. Should i concentrate around the mouth or head up river towards the gateway? I am new to the area and would greatly appreciate any help,
i reckon fish the mouth.
if you pick up the latest edition of bush and beach magazine it has a full brissy river guide which will helped me alot. hope this helps
BreamBuster33
try around the sunken wall pinkenbar or the pylons of the gatewaybridge for some threadies
For jewies look for bridges that are well lited. Baitfish love the light - the baitfish then congregate there and bring in predators like jewies. Other places are like wharves that are the best bet for snapper and bream flicking plastics near the pylons. Good luck and get onto a few fish. Can't wait to read the report
Cheers Tom
Cheers to you all and thanks for the replies, forgive my ignorance for this post as since posting i find there is many tips on fishing the Brissie on other posts, ( mental note too self improve search skills )again thanks to you all and I'll be Shaw to post a report
You better post a report
My tip! Watch out for BIG ships!And be good to your mother!
Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!
Yer thats for sure, dont get in there way!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Hi all, just a report back on how it went, not too good unfortunately, the wind just about blew us off the map, we arrived at approx 11:00 headed out to the s*&%t pipe to throw the cast net to get some livies no luck there, don't know if that was the right place for that? , anyway headed back to the sunken wall fished there for couple of hours with pillies, no good only managed to feed the pickers, however did get something pick one bait up and run with it only to have it bust us off around the wall, did i mention that it was windy oh yer, threw the odd sp around no takers, decided to brush up on the castnet techinque while nothing was happening, managed to pick up to odd herring or two for the afternoon/night fish, we then decided to go over to Clara rocks area to gather some more livies and managed a couple of nice poddy mullet. We then decided to anchor up off the red becon @ Clara Rocks, for the night fish ( we got a lilttle visit from our police freinds while we were there, checked the safety gear, just about got run over by there boat as there was trouble with our lines and there boat, they were freindly though) we had high ambitions for these live bait, however, still no takers, so we decided that was enough wind burn for one day and called it a night, sorry this report isn't more exciting than some rambling on without even a scale in the boat, better luck next time
unlucky mate.
better luck next time
BreamBuster33