Tow vehicle advice

Thread: Tow vehicle advice

Tow vehicle advice

Folks,

I'm planning to purchase a 200 Series Cruiser for towing, the boat's about 3 ton loaded.

I really like the petrol (diesel is just stupid $ and no financial benefit long term either), but I'm interested in views on what else is out there that would do the job EASILY.

Thanks in advance,

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Re: Tow vehicle advice

Timi,

I looked at them around xmas when they came out but I was told that due to the weight of the actual vehicle Toyota did not put the sub tank in some of their models as it put them over some sort of weight limit..changed the rego or something like that... with the V8 the extra fuel is a must!

Ended up going a 05 V8 100 series Kakadu..65k on clock for $42k the leather interior makes the car IMO

Retired Honda Master Tech

With a 3 ton load i'd be looking at the diesal .
    better tauque in the diesals.
    dont know mutch about 200 series
    but the 100s down sized there diffs
    to that of the hilux .
    not so strong like the 80s
    look at the diff sizes and the touque

F250
    That will tow it

Ausfish Gold Member

Petrol may be cheaper than diesel but you use a heap more. 200 series petrol is a bit better than 100 but still a big difference petrol-diesel.
    For towing a big boat you could not go past the diesel.

That said, the petrol can be had easily in low $60k region and delivered immediately. Diesel will cost you $80k and delivery in a few months.

I did the sums on 100 series petrol vs diesel recently and got the TD - total ownership costs were similar over a 5 year projection (TD resale is excellent) but diesel has definite advantages with torque and range.

I did the sums on their numbers Diesel v petrol, and the payback is 39 years on diesel, given it's so much more expensive.

That assumes both suffer similar depreciation, which is probably not the case, but I think a gas conversion will offset the diesel resale to a large extent.

What I've read and been told it appears the additional fuel usage while towing is comparable in both petrol and diesel in the 200 series.

I also believe the diesel resale advantage is likely to disappear, given the change in the cost of diesel relative to petrol.

The diesel is about 12K more, given I'm looking at the Sahara, which I would have to take to ARB/TJM for a long range fuel tank fit up.

I won't be buying an F250, as they are 'orrible!

Seems I'm probably not changing my mind...

Cheers and thanks,

Ausfish Gold Member

Used TD 100 series cruisers have increased in price in the last year or two - what's happened to the price of the petrol ones?

My calcs suggest for a 100 series it would be less than ten years to get your money back based just on fuel - but you are right in the 200 series it is much longer since the petrol isn't so thirsty.
    Still, the demand for the diesel is huge and that means guaranteed resale. Diesel prices would have to increase considerably (relative to petrol) for that to change, in my opinion.

Anyway, I reckon costs would be similar or maybe favour the petrol a bit - but which one is the better tow vehicle? Surely the diesel.

Will be picking up my (or my wifes) new 200 series TD on Wednesday. My boat weighs aroung 2.5 tonne empty so I will be looking forward to seeing the difference between it and our current 100 series petrol. Was talking to a guy who has a 200 series today and tows a large caravan and is very happy the way it tows compared to his old 100.
    I was talking to a mate yesterday and he was telling me his oldies have put in an order for one and they are trading their 100 diesel in and got $10000 more for their trade than we got for our petrol with around the same amount of k's. Also theirs is a '92 model whereas ours is a '93. So it shows while the diesels cost more up front they do retain their value.

Kezza

Rangie? x5? Dunno the tow rates on either but engine outputs are up there.

I agree with your thinking about new diesel toyotas.

I can't think of any other motors that'd do it easily apart from the above - not that I'd take either over the 200.

A member here just towed a 21' glass boat up and back to 1770 for around 28l per 100. Thats the auto and well and truly keeping up with traffic - heaps better than the old one.

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Timiboy,

Is there any way you can do this on a novated lease?

I am on my second 3 year lease on turbo diesel GXL landcruisers, this one ends in October 09 and I will look to do a third lease on a 200 series if I can.

When leasing like this I got an $11K fleet discount which brought my on road cost down to $62K with the towbar and weather shields etc.

I lease for 3 years over which time all expenses are GST excempt and paid in pre-tax dollars.

At the end of my first lease I bought the landcruiser back from them for $32K and then sold it within weeks for $45K (3 year old 100,000 Klms).

Sure you pay lease costs but these are easily accounted for with the fuel cost savings being no GST and pre-tax dollars.

Anyway, just a thought for you.

The fleet discount shows just how much car companies make off the household buyer, stinks really.

- Darren

I towed my 6.8 m fisher to 1770 with my Patrol 3L TD fully loaded would have been close to 3 tonn, it did the job not a problem. I have had a chip installed to give it a bit more tauque, have had it for 12 months now going well. Half the price of the new cruisers. It will be interesting to see how the cruisers auto box stands up to heavy towing.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr__Bean View Post
    Timiboy,

Is there any way you can do this on a novated lease?

I am on my second 3 year lease on turbo diesel GXL landcruisers, this one ends in October 09 and I will look to do a third lease on a 200 series if I can.

When leasing like this I got an $11K fleet discount which brought my on road cost down to $62K with the towbar and weather shields etc.

I lease for 3 years over which time all expenses are GST excempt and paid in pre-tax dollars.

At the end of my first lease I bought the landcruiser back from them for $32K and then sold it within weeks for $45K (3 year old 100,000 Klms).

Sure you pay lease costs but these are easily accounted for with the fuel cost savings being no GST and pre-tax dollars.

Anyway, just a thought for you.

The fleet discount shows just how much car companies make off the household buyer, stinks really.

- Darren
    I will have a chat with my accountant. I own the business, and rather than being paid a salary, I am a "beneficiary of the trust". Damn good idead though.

I have a 3 litre Patrol, but it's an auto, only rated at 2.5 tonne. A Nissan tech told me the tranny is good for 5, but I don't want to push it!

410 Nm of torque in the petrol should be more than adequate, too, and a 92 litre gas tank as well as the 138 litre petrol tank should provide enough range.

I can keep it under $100K I reckon. I'll squeeze them for Fleet either way. It'll be the third car I've bought from them that I currently own, and I own 5 Toyota bobcats!

After all that I have ordered a VX TD. Just couldn't cope with buying petrol. Damn, now I have to wait 3 months!!!

Tim, picked up mine yesterday, VX TD, and love it. Even more quieter and more toe than our old petrol. You probably wont have to wait the full 3 months, we only ended up waiting about 2 months. Enjoy!

Kezza