Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: RAV 4 vs X-TRAIL or OTHER...?

RAV 4 vs X-TRAIL or OTHER...?

hey guys,

well we have decided to get a new car, so hopefully my kayak fishing can take off again,haha
    we are looking a small 4wd type as we would like to d more camping and SWMBO does a lot of dog trials/training so it would be logical
    we are thinking an X trail will suit us best, but would like any advice from those who already have one, or perhaps a rav 4 or honda crv or something else again.

we will mainly be using it on road but obviously the camping bit would b good,
    ideally would love to be able to goto fraser or moreton

any tips much appreciated

Re: RAV 4 vs X-TRAIL or OTHER...?

Buying new?
    A friend of mine has an x-trail and likes it. They are well regarded by owners. Suggest you check out the australian x-trail forum (google for it) for more owners' opinions.
    My friend has taken his to straddie and another beach in nsw and it did ok. The 4x4 system does have a tendency to overheat in soft sand requiring you to stop/slow until it works again. New model might be better.
    Have you considered a vitara (bit smaller but more 4x4-oriented) or forester (very popular with owners and always get good reviews)?
    I'm sure new x-trail or rav would be great though - especially the v6 rav :-)

IMO if you want to go on the beach stay clear of the rav and anything else that doesn't have a second stick (or switch these days). allot of the "soft 4x4s" are based on a lsd transfer case. In a sticky situation like sand and mud the lsd cant divide/ transfer power as required and it all seems to go to one wheel. You may not bog down in all cases but in the end you are only doing damage to the transfer system over time.

I have pulled many a rav out of soft sand up at DI.

IMO stick with 2 stick 4Bs.

I have a new Xtrail T31, mate cant say enough good words about it. I tow my 4.5 trailcraft every week and its bloody great. (must weigh close to 1000kg loaded) I havent taken it off road yet, however slippery boat ramps / sandy ramps general towing has been great. The cvt is so smooth and quiet very impressive. The boot in the xtrail is by far the largest of its category, however the rav has bigger rear seat leg room. We just had our 10,000 service which cost 220 bucks and didn't have to complain about anything!

If you need anymore info mate let me know, i can give you average fuel costs and how much i paid and what i got for my money.

Read all the reviews on www.drive.com.au . I will be taking mine to DI at some stage (car only) and i dont expect too many dramas, i think its only when you load up 5 adults all the gear and stuff up the tyre pressure u'd have trouble. 2 adults and some gear.. the right tyre pressure should see you shi#ting in the sand driving.

I've read that the muranos need a trip to the dealer on a tilt tray if the battery goes flat - to reset the cvt box prior to restart. Hope the x-trail isn't the same?

Torque on demand 4X4 isn't overly successful off road unless it can be locked. Some of the later ravs, x-trails etc have a lock switch which helps, but these generally self cancel at about 40 kph leaving you in a t.o.d. situation again. There are plenty of these cars that make it onto and off the beach in good conditions, but all struggle when its a bit loose.

Vitaras aren't the prettiest, but are genuine off roaders, and are simple enough to put load carrying springs into for camping.

The forester has low range (manual) and is constant awd - also available with self levelling rear suspension.

Dunno about the korean/thai/indian offerings and probably wouldn't suggest them anyway.

Hope this helps.

The guys (and gal) that do the same sort of work as me have a range of these vehicles (ravs, xtrail, forester and a diesel captiva). We do a mix of road and non extreme 4wding (or sand) and all of them are happy with their vehicles. The fellow with the xtrail is particularly happy with its ability to get him out of sticky situation. I guess I am trying to say that they seem to be all good. Not suitable for more 4wd orientated use, but ok for the occasional non extreme use.

In a round about way its already been posted ,if u want to do any kind of real 4x4ing stay away from the awd series of vehicles they are not a true 4x4 and u will get into trouble if the going gets sticky also as mentioned the suzuki is a fantastic little vehicle and highly recommended but go the v6 if u want auto,a great deal of new vehicles run similar electronics systems(canbus) that all require a constant battery supply or it will have to go back to the dealer,honda saab fords renult bmw some holdens are just a few, they also require a special procedure and equipment to jump start them , good luck with your purchase
    THOUGHT OF THE DAY

Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
    pee on it and walk away.

Out of the choice you have named I would personally go for the X-Trail myself. I have been to Fraser many times and I never see RAV4's there strangely enough but then again I can't recall seeing any X-Trails or CRV's either. Perhaps this could be testimony to their performance off the bitumen? One has to wonder. Just thought I would also throw another non-biased suggestion in. Have you ever considered Subaru? Apart from not much clearance I have seen one in action at Fraser during my last stay and it was getting to most places okay. I know they also have some decent power plant options including turbo charged.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Quote Originally Posted by JB View Post
    however the rav has bigger rear seat leg room.
    The comfort of your passengers is very important when you are stuck in a car that is bogged.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Fellas,

From what I've heard X-trials require new front brake rotors after only 40,000klm's. At a cost of $800 its an expensive surprise for an unsuspecting 4x4 owner.

Steve99

i have a suzuki vitara it is the only one that has low range out of all the small 4wd have had it up di heaps of times the new turbo diesel ones are meant to go really well i went through this whole think a while back and the suzie one

I have an 08 CVT auto X-trail... pulls the $1700kg full boar no problems..... great to drive, heaps of power, good fuel economy, down hill assist...... SUV of the year... the new 4WD system is best in class.... enjoy, I am more than happy with my purchase.... this is no toy 4WD it performs well.

I have driven the new RAV and don't like it compared to my x-trail.
    Not enough time in the day, to many spots to fish!

Quote Originally Posted by roydsy View Post
    I have an 08 CVT auto X-trail... pulls the $1700kg full boar no problems..... great to drive, heaps of power, good fuel economy, down hill assist...... SUV of the year... the new 4WD system is best in class.... enjoy, I am more than happy with my purchase.... this is no toy 4WD it performs well.

I have driven the new RAV and don't like it compared to my x-trail.

But how does it go off road (sand or mud)?

neil

Quote Originally Posted by HONKY DORY View Post
    But how does it go off road (sand or mud)?

neil
    Fair dinkum, he'll probably use the car 98% of the time on a sealed road yet you blokes are talkin about low range and mud... absolute garbage i tell you. Next you know there will be posts tellin him to get a cruiser.

Mate just go and drive the xtrail, suby, etc you wont be dissapointed. They will eat up sand driving on moreton etc no problems. Check out www.australianxtrail.com.au if you want lots of owner information and video of softroaders on stockton beach etc.

As for the negativity talking about new technology in the cars, i suppose all you blokes would rather a horse and f$kn cart . Once again hes not crossing the simpson desert ..

Quote Originally Posted by JB View Post
    Fair dinkum, he'll probably use the car 98% of the time on a sealed road yet you blokes are talkin about low range and mud... absolute garbage i tell you. Next you know there will be posts tellin him to get a cruiser.

Mate just go and drive the xtrail, suby, etc you wont be dissapointed. They will eat up sand driving on moreton etc no problems. Check out www.australianxtrail.com.au if you want lots of owner information and video of softroaders on stockton beach etc.

As for the negativity talking about new technology in the cars, i suppose all you blokes would rather a horse and f$kn cart . Once again hes not crossing the simpson desert ..
    I was asking roydsy a simple question I am genuinely interested on how it performs off road. So theres no need to get your knickers in a knot .
    Also in my books mud doesn't mean 2 foot of slop with 1 foot of water on top.

I also can not see any negativity on asking a genuine question

thanks

neil