Thread: Was IT a "Cat"

Was IT a "Cat"

Just watching the Channel 9 news of the Yepoon Rescue and they showed a "Cat Type"boat trailer in the parking lot

Was it a "Cat"

Does anyone have figures on the percentage of "Cat" type boats compared to the overall boat ownership in Australia.

And are there any figures available on what type of boats were in accidents for the last couple of years.

Not wanting to start a bun fight,just facts.
    seabug

Re: Was IT a "Cat"

Dont think so Seabug. The owner stated that he had just anchored , had put the boat in reverse and pulled THE engine off the boat leaving a 60x 30 cm hole in the transom through which the sea flooded in and sank the boat!!

Cats have 2 engines and if one was pulled off the boat would still float! It;s more than likely a old glass boat with a rotten transom or a pressed tinnie with a fatigued transom!! I'm going with pressed tinnie!

Ps. Scott ( Didorderly)it wasn't you in that pressed one of yours was it?
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quinny mate

SL
    IFISHCQ2

Quote Originally Posted by ifishcq1 View Post
    Quinny mate

SL
    It was a quinnie Hey! To much jarring really breaks them up over time! They really are for the rivers ,dams and protected waters imho!

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Thanks Guys,
    Cameraman must have picked the first convenient trailer.

Does this incident make anyone think about extra flotation?
    seabug

I have a 6.2 M Dolphin Flexihull (Plastic Fantastic) it is unsinkable just like the Titanic as it has 10 watertight compartments built into the hull.

hey seabug im not sure if there are actual figures on boats that have sunk/capsised etc but i had a navel architect come and have a look at a pressed boat at a company i used to work for, in short it was a warranty claim the owner of the 5.5 bowrider claimed that he went over the wash of a cruiser at about 10knots and this caused the 3mm side sheet to kink bend the side ribs and a fully welded floor to gunnel bulkhead to bend hence this is why the architect was asked to have a look. the architect at the time didnt agree with the story provided, and the owner had a letter provided by the insurance company in which an supposed credited surveyor stated it was "design fault" and was a warranty issue with the manufacturer. after much searching into who this surveyor was we came up with nothing or no official accreditation was provided either with the letter. now my boss at the time was in no way trying to avoid repairing the boat but it was afairly substantial job to do. now the architect was in no way aligned with the company in any way only through myself as he and i were looking at another project at the time separate to the company i worked for. basically id said to him have a look at this tell us wat u reckon showed him the boat showed him the letter and said wat do you think . his response was that they were having a lend of us and to refuse it as a warranty claim take it to court you will win this damage has not occured as a result of a cruiser wake being hit at around 10 knots. ok now what we say, my boss says we will just cop it on the chin rather than get into an expensive court battle which will take up heaps of time and proves what we already no ,the response from the architect was that the insurance company will keep on file that that model boat has had a claim on it for a structual issue basically a black mark against it so we should fight to prove this is not the case. so i would guess that maybe the major insurance companies would be able to give you some figures on boats involved in accidents or failures on the hulls part but whether they would give this info up is another question but its just something that i thought of when i read your question

Some will recall the modifications that Snelly 1971 did to his boat to improve the flotation.

The improvements made his boat virtually unsinkable

Given that we only get one chance at life, and the modifications last the life of the boat,is it not an idea worth more consideration.

The news report said that those rescued were seen by an observer,but were not picked up by the search electronics(Radar)

Thankfully they survived ,and all credit to the rescue team.

But it would have been so much easier if the boat had been floating ,no matter upside down or not.

Seabug

how older quinnie was it and wat style do we no or is it on the bottom

The whole episode makes a good argument for having flares, EPIRB etc in a floating grab bag doesn't it?
    One of them managed to use a phone. That saved their lives.

"One of them managed to use a phone. That saved their lives.'

1. A freak phone call saved their lives? NO I doubt that's the right way to put it?

On the subject of floatation: If I were to buy a tinnie with wide gunnels and stuff the area under the gunnels with floatation material, will it float upright if swamped? Will it float at all ie would that be enough floatation material? If I think along the lines of life jackets, if I packed the equivalent of 10 life jackets under the gunnels, would that float 750kg? (Might be a use for old jackets here)

Quote Originally Posted by SatNav View Post
    "One of them managed to use a phone. That saved their lives.'

1. A freak phone call saved their lives? NO I doubt that's the right way to put it?

Yes it was a freak phone call and it did save their lives, because they managed to give an approximate position before the phone drowned.
    I would have thought an EPIRB would have been a better rescue device than a mobile phone!

Interesting how some boats are built. My old V163 had a wood transom from side to side and top to bottom and then glassed over inside and out - if it got rotten you have real problems and flex would be evident given the small amount of glass.

In my 70s Seafarer the only bit that has some wood is the bit right in the middle where the outboard is and the glass around this and either side from top to bottom is about 6mm thick solid glass...you could get the middle section rotted out and it wouldnt be a problem....a marine surveyor that looked at my boat before I bought it over 4 years ago said that he had seen poorly kept Seafarer's of my vintage with completely rotten timbers in the floor and transom and enough glass to ensure no problems. Lindsay Fry at Seafarer told me the same thing - so much glass the wood becomes a frame for the glass...I have heard of old glass boats cracking transoms and flooding and knew someone who had an old boat where the transom literally fell out as they jumped onto my mates boat and sunk in the bay but surely transom flex would be evident with the motor out and hauling on it...with allow though it would tend to go from no flex to broken I guess in one foul swoop.

Quote Originally Posted by MTAQ/BTAQ View Post
    I have a 6.2 M Dolphin Flexihull (Plastic Fantastic) it is unsinkable just like the Titanic as it has 10 watertight compartments built into the hull.
    Geez Mate
    Hate to tell you this but perhaps you should go see the movie
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE