Thread: Wild Toga and Sooties

Wild Toga and Sooties

Hey guys,

Last week Trent and i ventured out to the pristine untouched waters of the upper Fitzroy Basin System in central QLD (a couple of hours from Rockhamton and Mackay) and landed a few thumper Toga which are endemic to the system and a relocated sooty (southern most geographic location for sooties).

Fished some of the fishiest looking water you will ever see, with heaps of snags and plenty of patrolling Toga. It was winter so we weren't expecting much, but managed to temp a couple of Sooties, but only landing 1 around 40cm on a ecogear sx40. You catch a lot more Sooties fishing here in summer, and the quality is usually excellent for river fishing.

The Toga fishing was surprisingly still good, we managed to land 5 in a couple of quick arvo sessions, and dropping double that, as there mouths are real bony and its hard to make the hooks stick- their ability to jump out of the water doesn't help either. We were mainly sight casting for them, which is a real buzz, and managed a few periodic double hookups.

All toga also caught on sx40's. Biggest going 76cm. Lost an absolute brute of fish at the bank that would have been in the 80cm bracket. Very happy with the quality of fish on offer. awesome watching them cruze, can't wait to fish for them in summer when their really on the chew!

Re: Wild Toga and Sooties

what an awesome spot to go fishing well done good size toga and sooty too.

bron

I'll second that Bronson, Top effort boys!

Looks like a great spot with some awesome togas and big sooties! well done!
    Cheers barra

Thanks for posting, the area and those toga look great.

Regards Cameron.

Nice fish fellas. I went fishing in that same region a few weeks ago and managed 2 sooties and 2 toga but nothing like the size of the fish you guys got. Sure is a great spot. Matt, do you work for the fisheries department in mackay? The reason I ask is that a friend of mine who has a property on Water park creek recieved a phonecall from a keen lure fisherman named Matt asking about the species of fish in the creek. just wondering if that was you?

Cheers guys, sure is a great spot.

Thumbs up Re: Wild Toga and Sooties

A great report Matt.

I've fished those northern Fitzroy rivers (Connors, Funnel, Issacc) a bit over the years but haven't hit them for a couple now. It brings back alot of fond memories.

Thanks for posting.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Some of the best wild fish i have seen good on you .cheers

Still loving those SX 40's mate. Great pics, looks like awsome country.

richie