Thread: Plastics In The Bay

Plastics In The Bay

Hi,

I'm heading in the Bay on Sunday to chase Snapper on Plastic. I was thinking of heading to either Mud or St helena and was after some info. I was wondering what areas i should be looking for (what side of the island, what depth and what structure i should be looking for) and what weight jighead weight i should be using.

I have caught snapper on plastics on the inshore reefs off the Sunshine Coast and have plenty of different size and styles of plastic.

Also if anyone know any other spots i would love to know.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thanking you in advance

Re: Plastics In The Bay

I think that you have to keep in mind 2 things. The hook size will vary with the weight. You don't want to go too weak in a hook. I would stick to the same size 7" if thats what you are used to. Even a small squire will slam a SP from the side, aiming for the head area

At Mud you want to be fishing in about 10 meters or approx 25-35 feet, and look for a rubble bottom. I use a 1/8th jighead, or if the current is stronger ill use a 1/6th. I think 4" or 5" inch plastics are best in the bay, although slyman has done well lately on smaller ones.

Also it will be a bit lumpy out there on sunday, so i hope you have a good size boat.

Also look back on page three of the saltwater section, there's a thread about plastics for snapper with some good info. There's also a poll somewhere (maybe in the general section) on the same topic.

When i fish outside i use 1/4 and 3/8 in 5/0's, tomorrow im getting some for the bay prob 1/6 is 5/0's too big for 5 - 7 inch plastics or should i go 3/0'!!!

1/8 in a 3/0 nitro saltwater series should be fine !!!
    Also if fishing Mud, try the western side in 10 meters .....

Yeah mate, I did well on a 3inch nuke chook fry the other day and my brother got a decent fish on the 3 inch craw this week too, so you could think about something that size as well. You could use 1/4's weights, especially if the current is strong which it probably will be seeing as the new moon was yesterday.

I've used both 3/0 TT and 5/0 TT jigheads on a 5inch jerkshad before, any bigger than that and you've pinned too much of the lure and you dont get the movement in it. For a 7inch shad I'd go 5/0 to 7/0 TT. This might sound strange, but I've had packets of TT 5/0's that were the same size as Nitro 3/0's, and the TT 7/0's the same size as nitro 5/0's, has anyone else or did I just get mislabelled packs?

I haven't done much fishing at mud, but like Mark P says western side, I've caught fish there, also I reckon on the eastern side, somewhere on the eastern side of a line between the two East cardinals. St Helena I reckon on the east side between the red buoy and the South cardinal.

Good luck.
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

From the S/W corner to almost the Middle of the W side of St Helena can hold fish.
    Its similar to Mud, fish the drop offs and find the bait. St Hel is a little shallower than Mud
    1/8 is the weight I use 1/0, 2/0, 3/0 Nitros or 3/0, 5/0 TT's, I use the HWS TT Jig heads a bit 3-5" Plastic

Because I make my own jigheads, the two weights in the mould I bought are 1/8th and 1/16th oz, I seldom buy heavier. If I can't get to bottom with 1/8th, I'll stick the sea anchor out the back to control the drift, which then enables me to get to the strike zone. Generally I think too heavy affects the presentation of the plastic, and when a snap is hungry enough, he'll rise up a few meters to smash a well presented placcie anyhow, so 1/8th will do it.

My favourite hook is the Gamakatsu Hard wire in 2/0 ( mostly 3" gulps and atomic shads) and 3/0 for the 4" gulps in Lime Tiger and Nuke chook. Very occasionally I will use the 4/0 for 5" gulps

Thanks everyone, i was thinking 5/0 because thursday i went off caloundra and one of the fish i caught was a 33cm squire on a 5 inch exude and a nitro 5/0, so wasnt sure if the fish are more wary in the bay of the hook size!!!!

If anyone has some more info i would love to hear it!!!

Becaus of the poor weather, have decided to postpone the trip till wednesday or thursday.

I fish mud 2-3 times a week . Use to use 5 inch plastics on 4.0 quarter once jig heads. Lost a lot of good snapper to straghten hooks. Went to 7 inch plastics on 7.0 quarter once hooks and have never looked back. Get snapper around 6 to 7 kg on most trips and dont get any bite offs like before and havent had any straighten hooks since.

So if i go 5/0's, 1/4 oz jigheads on 5 - 7 inch plastics i should be right, Maggot1

Also what side do you fish?

Quote Originally Posted by MeePee_99 View Post
    So if i go 5/0's, 1/4 oz jigheads on 5 - 7 inch plastics i should be right, Maggot1

Also what side do you fish?

4.0 for 5 inch
    7.0 for 7 inch