Thread: Harrys Wed. PB. 1st KNOBBY

Harrys Wed. PB. 1st KNOBBY

After zero keepers around Peel on sunday with the family, and a couple of pan size squire around coochie on monday with the mate, I spent a couple of hours on tuesday arvo cleaning and mothballing the boat for a week or so because friday, Im heading to Pottsville to get some sand between the toes and give the long rods a workout.

Then tuesday,about 4.30,just finnished washing the suds off the haines and 4th beer in hand , the phone rings.
    Its the mate(usual deckie). He is in Tingalpa ck giving his runabout a gallop.
    Seems he was talking to this bloke at the ramp at Thorneside who was in a hell of a hurry to get his boat in the water. Turns out a friend had rung him to say he had just bagged out at Harrys in an hour and to get his bum out there quick.

Thats nice I said to my mate. Ring me the end of next week and we will see how we go.

8.30 wednesday morning the mate rings.
    After a few threats and a "I will clean the boat" and something about a carton of tooheys it was arranged to meet at my place at 1pm.

He is late as usual. Get to wello at 1.50. Look at the ramp, turn to the mate and say,"looks like you are in for a bit of pushing." Low Low tide at 2.30.

Made it out without the need of a push and off to Harrys.

Only 1 tinny there so we decided to drift all the marks. 1 rod still had the coochie no weight gang hooks on so on with a pillie and cast.
    Rig the 2nd rod with a jig head and nuke chook and cast.

drift , drift nothing. Across the last mark and time to pull the rods in, go to the top and start again. Get the nuke chook halfway in and the pillie rod takes off.
    The puppet master. Rip the pillie rod out of the holder while putting the chook rod in a holder and dogding the mate whose already waving the net around.

A couple of good runs then settle to getting some line back then thump thump zzzzz and get some more line back. Not a goddam catfish this time. No russian sub either but it will do.

After a decent fight the mate finds some use for the net and the fish lands in the bottom of the boat. And spits the nearly straight bottom gang hook. SHITE.

76cm..5.13kg A NOBBY.

8 more drifts till sundown without a touch.

Maybe next time mate. Wheres my Tooheys.

Rod.

Edit.
    The first photo was after scaled and gutted. As mentioned in another post, this was one fat snapper. There was the remains of 2 small sandies in the gut.
    Rod
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Re: Harrys Wed. PB. 1st KNOBBY

Nice fish mate! Make sure you get that carton ! Well done on the PB!
    simon

The ocean is the ultimate solution - Frank Zappa

http://s428.photobucket.com/albums/qq9/slyman71/

Thanks Simon.

You and your brother have got some great fish in the last couple of days as well.

Rod
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Well done mate, there's certainly some nice size snaps getting around the bay at the moment. I bet your glad your mate convinced you to go out ay.

Nice work Rod. Nice solid fish.

Wags

Oh no! There's an answer right there, bait on one rod, nuke chook on the other. I might have to change to smelly stuff again seeing your snap went for the gang hooks. Good read mowerman. Congrats!

A great read yet again mowerman. Congrats on the PB. That's an impressive fish.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat