Thread: Stanage Bay

Question Stanage Bay

Thinking of heading up to Stanage Bay early September,only have a small 3.4 mtr tinnie with 15hp .Anybody know what the fishing is like there & if any camping facilities??Biggest problem I see is probably water - anybody been recently??

Re: Stanage Bay

mate
    Theres a camp ground pretty close to the boat ramp right on the water which has a dunny and theres another camping spot back towards the shop which is right beside the beach.Dont remember seeing any dunny there though
    Camping is free. water can be a problem. I think there must be a water tank there. an old bloke was telling me that they collect water from a few of the house tanks when theres rain about and transfer it into the camp ground tank but I dont remember seeing it.
    The road was pretty crook after the rain but I dont know whether its been graded since but I imagine it should have been
    Cant help you with any fishing hints as I was only up there on a reccy, checking the place out myself but from the look out you dont have to go too far out get in some nice reefy country.
    There was quite a few people camping on the island directly accross from the boat ramp when I was there.
    The shop is the best place to ring for info on the best fishing spots and road condition
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Re: Stanage Bay

Mate of mine has a place up there and he has just returned (I think) from 2 week stay.
    I'll give him a call todayand try and get some info re: camping, water, road, fishing and so on for you including the shop phone number and put a post up or send you a pm this afternoon.