Treasured memories. Thanks for sharing.
Steve.
Monday 30th afternoon I took off with my grandson, Jacob, from the Raby Bay ramp and went to Amity Banks. We drift-fished with squid strips for a while and caught about 30 winter whiting.
As the afternoon sun was sinking, we left the whiting and I drove the boat north to one of my favourite spots for squire. The GPS found the spot for me and I dropped the anchor. I had to pull it up a couple of times and re-anchor to adjust the boats position in relation to the wind and tide so we anchored exactly over the ledge I had marked.
We used whole squid on one rod and fillets off some yellow-tail pike Jacob had caught at Amity earlier, on the other rod.
It was great just sitting there in the boat with my grandson and talking to him about all sorts of things while we waited for a fish to bite and had a couple of sandwiches and a hot drink provided by his grandma.
We got a couple of undersize squire and also some grinners. Then, as the tide slowed at its peak about 7:30pm my rod with the pike fillet bent over hard and the reel started to squeel. Boy was there some excitement in the boat. It took me a couple of minutes to subdue the fish and Jacob did the honours with the big landing net. A 2.6 kilo (5 and a half pounds in the old measurement) squire landed on the deck and into the esky with the whiting.
We didn't catch anything else worthwhile for the next couple of hours after that, so, we up anchored and went in close on the leeward side of the island to get out of the wind and camped in the half cabin till morning.
The fish were very welcome in the esky but the time I spent with my grandson was much more valuable and satisfying to me.
Having sons that I have fished with for some 40 odd years now is a great thing but fishing and an overnight camp in the boat on Moreton Bay with my grandson is something very special.
GES
Treasured memories. Thanks for sharing.
Steve.
What a great post. Its not about the fish is it. I have four sons and I really look forward to the time out there with them and to being able to write a post like that one day.
Brendan
the snap would have been fun to catch
figjam :wink:
That was a pleasure to read, thanks GES
Absolutely, thats a golden moment there GES, good for you man
My son is 7 now, but overly keen on fishing, only boating.. Still, any time I can get with him is top stuff, so know how you feel.. Did you get 100 calls on the mobile from his mum / dad ? camping overnight with pop would be good, but his parents would no doubt still worry
If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?
Hi GES Ive just got back from a few hours in my tinny on the broadwater with my grandson Adam.I was going to put a post up but after reading yours I decided not to .,your comments regarding the times spent with a grandson were priceless .and as you I can think of nothing better than spending quality time with ones grandkids . Congratulations on a top post .
cheers Terry
No phone calls. I have worked in boats most of my working life and they know how respectful I am of the sea.
We are going to have a family get-together tonight to watch the State of Origin football and ...guess what's on the menue for tea?
Thanks everyone for your positive comments.
GES
Woo Hoo, snapper dinner, beer and footy, it can't get better can it ?
Umm, you forgot to put your address in the post so we can all come around ?
have a good time
If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?
Well done mate.you got me thinking of my 2 boys and how much fun they've given me and gee I get to do it all again when I have grand kids.Sounds great.Your a champ