keen to organise an overnighter offshore
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: keen to organise an overnighter offshore

keen to organise an overnighter offshore

Hello Fellas,
    I would like to do an overnighter on one of the reefs offshore north of straddy in my boat. Just wondering if anyone else is interested. I am a little nervous about doing one on my own but maybe there are others out there who would be interested and have their own boat?Not trying to organise a meet and greet just seeing if anyone is interested for a little added safety.

Marty

Re: keen to organise an overnighter offshore

Hi Marty,

After the first overnight fish you'll want to do it again.
    Just be prepared to be buggered on Monday morning.

Thanks Mate! Looking forward to it just hope the crew dont get crook with no horizon to stare at otherwise it will be a very long night for them with plenty of burley!
    Marty

hey mate were keen to do an overnighter out there as well the only thing is we dont fish down that way as we leave from shorncliffe or scarbrough most of the time. so we fish the northen reefs would be good to do an overnighter but we as we dont fish down there we have no spots or anything.
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

Skusto,
    I have a mate in another boat (sea-mac off ausfish) who fishes from scarbrough and I am keen to travel up there and see how we go. I have some marks for some coffee rock off moreton plus the usual tempest and wrecks but either way I am keen. I normally keep an eye on seabreeze.com and if it looks good we are on. We could do one off Moreton and maybe one out the south passage if you like. Only weekends or can you do mid week?
    Marty

Guys,

I'm pretty keen to get involved in this sort of hijinx too, now that the radar's going in.

Never done it before - how do you make it happen with a few boats and no bumping together?

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

you dont all need to be right next to each other as long as you are in the general area just in case, square patch is a great area to fish overnight, just be prepared to get bricked by some big fish and usually you can get a bag of snaps pretty quickly. good luck and keep us posted if any trips are planned could be interested. cheers lethal

Sounds good fellas , I guess its a case of watching the weather and finding he next available weekend??What are your thoughts.
    Marty

Marty, I'd say that's smack on the money. My Missus likes the idea (she'll make coffee!)

I want to be on the coffee rock at 4 am drifting pillies. Time to catch me a Cobe...

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

TimiBoy sounds great. Not sure about next weekend seabreeze looks a little bad but it is a week away and as we all know the predictions that far away always change. I have my fingers crosed and hope it improves.
    Marty

Correction..... just checked seabreeze again and at the moment Thursday looks a pearler hopefully the weekend is the same
    Marty

G'day Marty, I Would Be Interested ,if The Weather Comes Good.thanks Mac...

No worries mac knew youd be in!

Quote Originally Posted by Captain Seaweed View Post
    Skusto,
    I have a mate in another boat (sea-mac off ausfish) who fishes from scarbrough and I am keen to travel up there and see how we go. I have some marks for some coffee rock off moreton plus the usual tempest and wrecks but either way I am keen. I normally keep an eye on seabreeze.com and if it looks good we are on. We could do one off Moreton and maybe one out the south passage if you like. Only weekends or can you do mid week?
    Marty

hey mate sorry about the late reply can only do wkends as we arent as lucky to be able to do mid week altho im sure tim would be able to go by goin form his offshore reports. top of morteon sounds great only reason why not so sure about south passage is because of the bar neva been through one(south passage is bottom of morteon and straddie isnt it?). but yeah there are a few wrecks that we were keen to hit on the nite time heard of big jew and snapper feeding round them late at nite or the usual shallow tempest. really doesnt matter where we go as long as we get the fish hey! so if u guys dont end up goin mid week and do a wkend trip we would be up for the trip!
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

I think its probably best to leave it to the next good weekend as it seems to suit more people. If anyone sees some weather they like maybe post it up and see who we can gather. I think maybe a Saturday Night would be a little better as we could get out in the afternoon. What you guys recon?