Thread: Same cod in the Same Spot

Same cod in the Same Spot

Fri nite was fishing a rocky patch by the mouth of the Coomera, and I pulled a black spot cod around 55cm on a slab of tailor and 40lb leader. Then I see that he has an old rig of mine stuck in him, and that this is the same fish that buried me in the rocks some 4-6 weeks ago!

The old rig was a red wire trace with a gamma 7/0 that was stuck down his gut. This American bleeder wire is pretty rare, and the wire knot that I use is pretty unique, so it was definitely the same fish in the exact same spot! I havent used wire for over a month now, since Im not chasing sharks anymore.

He seemed in good enough condition, and looked like he could go another 6-12 months before the gut hook and 30cm trace would finally kill him. Whats more the gamma hook hadn’t deteriorated in the slightest. I thought they rust out?

OK, revenge was nice, but I was more interested in the fact that the fish had stayed in the same spot. Are they territorial?

This fish has a habit of burying you in the rocks, then he sits on the bottom and waits for you to get impatient. Eventually, after freespooling and winding for 5-10 mins, you will think hes not there and then you break the braid. This time he did the same thing, but he came loose after a bit of freespooling.

Half an hour later, I had a big jew on the line after he took a whole gar, and got him to the boat, saw a flash of silver, but he played up, took a big run and spat the hooks, bugger. That will teach me for snelling a 10/0 with a 7/0. I must go back to 2 10/0s. All the action at the start of the runout on the neap tides.

No pics cos the camera got rained on the other nite, and the neoprene cover acted like a sponge. New camera on order, and this will be a cheap one just for the boat.

Re: Same cod in the Same Spot

Great story Andrew, so did you keep him & have beautiful cod fillets for dinner ?? , Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Yeah, good report and unlucky about that jewie.

Cheers Tom

Bad luck on the Jewie mate - You'll land one soon!

It does not surprise me to catch him twice in the one locations even after a month delay. In the pine river there probably is a singular cod I have caught from the same deep hole about 6 times in the last 3 yrs. It is definitely the same cod of about 10 lbs as it has a badly shaped lower jaw probably from a break when he was young. Every time i have caught it is within about a 100 foot circle.

Large cod and groper will live for many years in one location if the food source isn't broken.

Same goes for some sharks too, a hammerhead appears every afternoon for several months in front of an old camp site i used to frequent right on sunset looking for a feed of whatever has been cleaned there that afternoon right in the wash zones.

Thanks for that Jack I didn't know that.

Yer, thanks TT, Im happy to see someone else confirms the same habitat theory. I wasnt even gonna post about this average catch, but theres been a few threads on how dumb and greedy cod are, but none on how they hold the same location. I suppose groper are well known for it, so cod must be similar.

This one wont be eating anything again tho. He made great fillets for last nights tea.
    I dont think he was gonna throw the gut hook anytime soon, so he was a goner.

Andrew, remember that hook I got out of a cod 4 months or so back, they just don't seem to rust inside the fish. There goes the theory of sniping the line on a gut hooked fish and the hook will be gone in a day or two.
    Keep after that Jew, I'll be waiting for the Ya hoo, I'm sure I'll hear it from my place.

Dids

i think this is how it goes,
    for nearly anything to rust it must have an oxygen sorce, and the corrosian contaniment (water). With a hook being underwater in a fishes guts it dosnt come into much contact with oxygen, hence the reason it didnt rust in the water.
    i hope this makes sense, and correct me if im wrong!!!
    jamie
    Ahhhhh, To be young and Free

Cobia kid,
    water = h2o = one molecule of hydrogen to 2 molecules of oxygen, I think. So the oxygen is already in the water.

The reason I raised this issue, is that some previous threads have suggested hooks rust out in a fish in several days or a week or so.

An interesting article on the subject of leaving hooks in;

http://www.bassdozer.com/articles/ma...k_in_out.shtml

Good story!

Shame bout the jewie
    You win some, you lose some, eh!!

Hi Andrew

It is interesting. Personally I don't believe it, but often on fishing shows they leave the hook and say, She'll be right, that will rust out in a few days.. The theory is as you put it, the salt and oxygen start the job, and certain enzymes in the fish aid the rusting process.

Many years ago I caught a bream, he didn't look too great, and hanging from his bum hole was a very rusty hook, which to me meant he had swalloed a hook, or rig, and it had gone right through his system, because it was only the barb and point protruding

Imagine having to endure that !!
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

good read mate, keep going for those jew mate. Still a virgin myself.
    If i could get paid the same to fish, sorry boss but i ......!

G'day Andrew,

Good to see you've still been getting out a bit!

Cod are definitely very territorial, I remember reading in a report on tagging how one E Cod was caught four times by the same person in the same spot, I can't remember how long it was between captures.

Good luck with the Jewies, the next couple of nights should be good on the high tide change.