Thread: I am moving to Rocky

I am moving to Rocky

It was earlier this year that my wife and I decided to actively pursue a move to a regional town and escape the every growing problem of living and working in Brisbane. Originally from Rockhampton and my parents still there it was odds on favorite to get the guernsey. Things happened pretty quickly and with some things falling into place through my wife’s employer she was able to score a position in the Rockhampton branch. I still have to tie up the ends with my job but hopefully that should be ok. Job or no job, I am still going. I can’t wait to get back having never worked and lived separately to the oldies so it will still be an experience for me. Not long to go, moving on the weekend of the 19-20th of July.

Fishing talk, I have to thank Ausfish for an excellent portal into how to catch a fish or two in Moreton Bay. Without it I would have been up the proverbial creek without a paddle. I was able to crack a few regular target species, a 5kg bay snap on the smelly stuff, a few squire on plastics, some arm stretching LT’s, a few nice hauls of sizeable spots, a bucket of prawns from a local creek, a few hauls of muddies and a 1m+ threadie in the River. Some species also eluded me over a few trips, a bay jewie and a bay cobe. I am still young and hope to come back for another go. Never give up.

I am not leaving Ausfish and definitely not giving up fishing. I still have locked away many spot x’s and times for catching some beauties in and around Rocky. Plus, the old man has a much bigger boat than my tinnie so there will be plenty of regular trips to the reefs off Yeppoon. I was there for the summer after the 90/91 flood and can remember the ball tearing barra season in the Fitzroy. This years floods weren’t as big but big enough to bring another great season that I am eagerly waiting. Basically, I will be spending much more time on the water and you will see a few more reports from CQ.

Clay

Re: I am moving to Rocky

Good to hear Clay
    Will hope to catch you up here
    Just in time for the fishing classic at Yeppooon on the 8 9 10 August hope to catch you up in the water around
    VHF CHANNEL 21
    CALL SIGN : JT OR SC552(social club member)

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be without sponges

Up here we Use Hussar as baits for real RED FISHS (SHSIIFDER)

G'day JT. Will look forward to catching up with you for sure.

Not sure about the classic yet. I haven't got a clue what will happen with my job at the moment. I'll be there....if i'm there.

congrats on the move.

might see you out and about pulling up a few fish on the water...

I'll have to find another fishing companion Does that mean you won't be doing the R2M?

My bro got a Signature 580f so maybe I'll be able to post some pics of fish that will resemble the size of fish that you'll be onto.

See ya at the farewell bash. If not sooner.

Avast ye matey!

Your moving to Rocky and you're telling everybody. Whats wrong with you???

..........Only joking .......................or am I
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

Quote Originally Posted by mangomick View Post
    Your moving to Rocky and you're telling everybody. Whats wrong with you???

..........Only joking .......................or am I
    lol Mick....that there's Hillbilly country....
    oops..hang on a minute...banjo playing is a favourite pastime up here as well.

Yeah I shouldnt joke about Rocky. I was really saddened when I read that during the floods many historical burnt out car wrecks of historical significance were washed away. And that was from the best part of town
    THE POOR MAN ALWAYS PAYS TWICE

I'm happy with hicksville, Here's what you can catch in arvo at the Keppels 2 weeks ago and a quick trip up north 1 week ago

Hi Clay,

Some of the best fishing I've ever done was at Stanage Bay which is only a couple of hours fron Rocky. The dirt road from the highway was a shocker but the trip was a great success with the 10 of us bringing home a swag of reefies and spanish mackeral. Hope to see some photos of your trips soon.

Matho

Quote Originally Posted by mangomick View Post
    Yeah I shouldnt joke about Rocky. I was really saddened when I read that during the floods many historical burnt out car wrecks of historical significance were washed away. And that was from the best part of town
    OH HAHAHAHAHHA
    Lest we breathe some clean air here unlike .................... where are you Mick Gladsmokeystone is it We drove to the marina and thought it was foggy how wrong we were
    VHF CHANNEL 21

There is a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot

Boys, boys, boys ,, we are from Yeppoon not bloody Rocky which has just joined us to raise their real estate values

I suppose every town needs a dump now we have Rocky

SL
    IFISHCQ2

I take my boats to Gladstone for a cut and polish and acid wash before repainting. Don't do anything to em, just leave em in the Marina and then wash off the coal dust after a week. Come up a treat.
    Don't know why they complain so much

Ya can bag Rocky all ya want....I heard it all before..

I had a choice to move to Gladstone too. Not keen on 24hr UV exposure.

I remember once upon a time when half of Yeppoon sold out to southern retirees and moved over the hill to Rocky. They partied hard for 6 months, bought big mad cruisers and fed the pokies what they had left. Rocky had to raise real estate prices to keep the d*ckheads away...we had enough already.

I will be happy. No longer will a 20min drive equal a 5min walk.

Catch you rednecks later.

P.S. That is a nice looking boat you on there grahams! you might need a hand washing that down one day??

Quote Originally Posted by grahams View Post
    I'm happy with hicksville, Here's what you can catch in arvo at the Keppels 2 weeks ago and a quick trip up north 1 week ago
    Was that you taking a charter out on Sunday gramhan behind Conical?
    VHF CHANNEL 21