Thread: question on keels

Re: question on keels

Roughasguts, the correct details and history of the boat i think is somewhat sketchy.

this was the details i had at the time http://www.boatingservices.com.au/ed.php?de=22894

I don't know if that builder Peter Muiler or Muller? even exists.

the beam there says 11' 6" but the survey said 3.04m which is 9' 7". so some discrepancies here and there and i never know what to believe.

I can pm you the survey report but a bit reluctant to post it here in public as i don't want it up for ridicule or anything. It's one of those things that probably only other people with timber boats might understand i don't know. I love em

One of the reasons i went for this boat was after many months of searching it was the only one i came across that basically had the best open plan i wanted to suite my wife and wheelchair and live aboard for a few days at a time. oh and under 30K was a clincher too as i found many boats at the 27 to over 30' mark but where 45K to 60K mark but i still would have had to spend money renovating to suite my needs.

So this way i felt that for a 30' under 30K i had room to spare even knowing about the repairs that need doing I felt i would come out with a great boat in the end.

I am trying to get away with not spending any more than 10K on it to get it to the stage I want it at and not have over capatilsed on it. And its something that is looking quite possible at this stage.

The motor I was told was a 4ltr ford and came of a car about 8 months ago. Apparently reconditioned. no proof of that except the motor does run well and felt like it did 15knots easy on the test run i did.

I have to get a closer look at the engine to find out exactly what it is like a 3.91 0r 3.99 etc... to help pinpoint the year. I want to put a better K&N filter on it too for the carb as the one thats on it looks like it got ran over by a truck and then squashed back on.

The survey guy felt it was a Hartley New Tidesong approx 1969.

Each time i climb aboard this boat it automatically puts a smile on my face It just has that great warm feel about it.

I also had to do some research on this idea some people have and recommend using epoxy to skin the hull. The surveyor recommended it be stripped back to timber and dried then several coats of epoxy applied then the primer and paint etc....

But after talking to a few people and someone who has just spent over 2 years rebuilding an old timber boat I have decided very much against it.

Since this boat has been in the water for approx 40 years its actually best to only ever paint it. If i epoxy it it i will more than likely run into problems once the boards move and the epoxy cracks and water gets in between it and the timber.

I have read all the pros and cons and came to the conclusion as many others have that its basically a waste of money that does very little unless its done from a new timber boat then it may have advantages.

So i am glad not go down the soda blasting and epoxy route spending thousands of dollars on that idea.
    Last edited by Razgo-; 28-06-2008 at 05:56 PM. Reason: added epoxy content

Razgo, now ain't that the thing with a timber boat, probably a one of, it puts a smile on your face and if it gives you confidance in it's structure your on a winner if it can do that.

Mate start searchng down a slant 6 Valiant motor for her, slowly do that up, and she will rocket compared to the Ford and cheapper to run as well, what a motor those are.

Hartley design interesting I didn't recognise it at first but yeah maybe.

Don't worry about ridicule mate boats are a passion if there new or old it's a personal choice, and I'm with you on the old girls, they have done there apprentiship and now ready to work, there going to be still around when my Signature is dead.

I just came across the new tidesong yesterday which tells me even more thats what it is http://www.zillion.co.nz/listing/511...wphoto/353347/

I was trying to figure out what was missing at the helm as i felt no backrest was odd.

but this pic reveals what may have been as it looks exactly like my helm.

Oh hell she is beatifull, now that's a boat.
    You don't need speed when you have that sort of class.

I had a valiant 6 ute back in the late 70's early 80's.

What cc's are they? they would be around the 250cc too?

Its not a bad idea having a spare motor on hand, and i had never considered the ol valient motors.

I think that rag has got it all sorted for you

Quote Originally Posted by Razgo- View Post
    I had a valiant 6 ute back in the late 70's early 80's.

What cc's are they? they would be around the 250cc too?

Its not a bad idea having a spare motor on hand, and i had never considered the ol valient motors.
    The 6 cylinder Valiants came in 245 (4.0 litres) and 265 (4.3L) cubic inch models. Ford's equivalents were the 200 (3.3L) and the 250 (4.1L) cubic inch 6 cylinders. Holden had the 202 (3.3L) 6 cylinder and the 253 (4.2L) cubic inch baby V8.

The slant 6 Valiant is a 225 cid, it slanted slightly to keep it's bonnet height down, of course all the knockers would say it wore out only one side of the cylinders.

Yeah crap, never drove a quiter more powerfull, economical straight 6 in me life, with that torque it's great in a boat motor.

Think I know where one is in S.A. it's one of me old mans cars, me old man bought for 60 bucks.

Corect me if I'm wrong AP5 or AP6 around 1965 -66 would be the era of those motors. The block Won't ever bloody rust thst's for sure.

The slant six was 225 cubic inch and was in Valiants from 1962 until the VF Valiant models which came out in 69-70, then they brought out the 245 Hemi motor followed by the 265 Hemi motor. The Hemi refered to the hemispherical combustion chamber which was supposed to give more power. The slant six was a very strong reliable motor.

Maccas

Hi Razgo,

I managed to find a hartley book from the 60s at my father's place. Yours looks like the 3rd keel down on here so I think the keel's ok. You're going to need a new rudder though.

Hi on-one that's a very interesting book! any chance of a scan of the other pages on the keel talk? don't worry if it s a lot of pages i am just asking.

I am starting to think the existing keel is just that and there was no more to it after seeing some variations in that book.

thanks for the info.

No problem, send me your email address in a pm and i'll scan them next time I'm over there - might be a week or so.