Towing a 2.9t platey
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Towing a 2.9t platey

Ausfish Platinum Member skipalong's Avatar

Towing a 2.9t platey

hey fellas just got a new alloy c/cab on order and was curious as to what to tow it with as my gq patrol is not as rated to that, its only a 2.4t towing capacity, was after some info on what you other guys tow your big boats with, i didnt really want to buy new, is there anything out there that will tow this?

cheers for your thoughts

Justin

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Re: Towing a 2.9t platey

Here is a picture of mine on Moreton Bay Protest day.

I tow with a turbo diesel landcruiser and it does it with absolute ease.

- Darren

Justin, I have a 2.7t Glass boat. I was in the same predicament as you.. had a pajero(rated to 2.5T) I ended up going r the V8 Lancruiser..have you seen the price of diesel lately take a hell of a lot of driving to save the $$ now

Retired Honda Master Tech

Justin, Honestly go the ever reliable Landcruiser, if your budget allows the V8 200 series would be the go. (If i only had the cash to buy one myself) otherwise shop around for a good turbo diesel 100 there will be some great buys around with the price of diesel and interest rate hikes of late. Remember to search everywhere including interstate for that bargain.
    Best of luck,
    Dags..

Justin if you cant justify the expence of a new car id go a 4.2 td cruiser (wagon or ute) or a GU patrol 4.2td wagon.
    If your only doing short trips to the ramp and back its probably best to save the dollars and buy a petrol cruiser over the diesel.
    But if your planning on plenty of longer hauls to more distant destinations i'd go diesel. As you might already know I resently towed gregs new 7 meter platey from alexandra hills to waddy point and back with a loaded up V8 TD cruiser ute, the car used around 200 ltrs all up thats including a bit of running around up there. Theres no petrol car that would even come close to that economy towing that boat . (sorry garry )
    It all comes down to where you plan to travel and your budget ... foxy

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Mate, be warned about the 200 series, my old man and brother spend most of their time out bush (serious desert work), the brother says the 200 series is a dog, leaking door seals, apparantly more dust inside the care than out, not the only bad reports I have heard either.

Dont forget the Jeep, grand cherokee v8, goes great, petrol and pretty good on the juice, with 3.5t tow rating, very underated vehicle, can pick up a nice one second hand more reasonable priced than the toyota equivelant.

Honda.

You know I have been thinking lately when I retire what would I tow the new caravan with.
    And the thing is why buy a 4wd or similar when you can buy a diesel Toyota truck with all the room you will ever need. And more towing capacity than you could ever use and as far as ruggedness goes, not going to kill the gearbox are you ? and don't forget buggger all price. So how could you go wrong with a truck, even rent it out during the week if you wan't geez even have a buisness on the side with it.

Yeah I know cost more for rego, but insurance shouldn't be bad.

Quote Originally Posted by dfox View Post
    Theres no petrol car that would even come close to that economy towing that boat . (sorry garry )
    It all comes down to where you plan to travel and your budget ... foxy

I agree foxy.. but the Honda don't run to well on diesel

Retired Honda Master Tech

Ausfish Platinum Member tenzing's Avatar

Mate take a look at the Rodeo turbo diesel.Rated to 3 t . Would pull it along easily and much cheaper than the others to buy and run. If you have the funds and like the exotic things try a vw touareg rated to 3.5 t even in the 2.5l 5 cyl turbo diesel. It has more grunt than anything in its class but dear as poison new and rare second hand without a million km on them.
    Brendan

I've gotta 4.2ltr turbo diesel GU patrol (its not stock, its had a few adjustments), tows my 2+ton boat easily. Towed a 3ton or there abouts Razerline platey for work, towed my mates 3+ton formula with ease. Passing people towin 3ton of boat up a hill in a 100km/hr zone is gold I'll be sad to see it go (yes, its for sale), but hey it means my boat will be paid off quicker and i can get a few of my other projects goin

Ausfish Platinum Member skipalong's Avatar

thanks guys for your answers

FOXY saw it up there and looked great we are currently towing a 6.4c/cab with a 4.2 td 80 series but it only comes in at 2.2 t and we are much the same having just ordered a 6.5 half cab from dave at riptide

i was hoping to go more along the lines of a ute to carry a ice box on the back,

but at the moment the boat is most important and will look deeply into the right vehicle to tow

we will be doing many trips to fraser is, and probly very often to 1770 but the majority will be to noosa and back to deception bay

cruiser or F250

Hi justin,
    Had a similar situation just now, have a 7M fisher on order, will go around 2.4 dry, close to 3T all up, I have a 80 series cruiser that is 2.5T rated, looked at all sorts of things, the wife didnt like the 200 cruiser (and i didnt like the price) and I did want something that could also suit as family wagon, just like boats, everyhting is a comprimise, anyway after much research I bought a new pathfinder, 3T rated, TD auto - only had it a few days, dont get me wrong, I wouldnt tow the boat to waddy with it (father has the new cruiser ute for that job) but home to ramp and local I reckon it will be absolutly fine - they are really good value at the moment, the narvara is similar mechanically and I have a few mates snigging +2T boats and very happy - the other thing you could do is grab a 1997 model 80 series as they are 3.5T rated and pick one up for around 17K if you only want it for a tow car
    good luck with it

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

I have a 100 Series V8 Auto Cruiser. The Fisher loaded & on the trailer comes in at around 2800 kg. The cruiser pulls it well but does use the fuel. There are a lot of used 100 Series, both six cylinder & V8 around used for reasonable prices. The 100 Series non turbo diesel lacks power when towing, or even when not towing, but will last for a long time.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Hey skipalong I thought the 'cruiser's were rated to 3.5 tonne with a braked trailer and 750kg without. My boat weighs a lot less than 2.9t (1.8t) but I tow it easy with my 'cruiser without a turbo. Best car I have owned, I was gonna swap it for a new luxy awhile back but couldn't bring myself to doing it. Hope this helps

Cheers Benny