Kimberley waterhole

Thread: Kimberley waterhole

Kimberley waterhole

Posted elsewhere but thought you mob over there may be interested.

We try to get right off the beaten track once or twice a year. This weekend we we found ourselves a bit more remote than usual. The last 25ks was done on the bikes as there's no track in this neck of the woods.

We'd never been to this particular waterhole before but have known of its existence for a while. Needless to say we weren't disappointed.

Ended up a great trip with plenty of fish all willing to eat a lure, even nightfall didn't stop them, had a nice session using nightwalkers. The sooties were a bit lean but fit and healthy.

Camping was as good as it gets, though after a few hours bouncing around we were in the swags on moon rise.

Next morning we had a casual fish, repacked and enjoyed the scenery as we rode back out.

One casualty, No 2 son found one of the many ants nests. threw him and the bike for a six, wrist not good but not broken, it'll heal

Re: Kimberley waterhole

Can words even describe that country or that type of excursion? I'm mystified.
    Thanks.
    JM

Thats Gold....What a country we have......Thanks Dick........Whitto
    Good Mates....Good Food.....Good Fishing....Priceless

what a place that man or woman can dream of ist got it all scenery, fish and more scenery . that is one of my goals in life to fish the remote area's in the kimberley's. awesome stuff mate keep it up + those photo's too.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

If the photos are that amazing, I can only imagine what it must be like to actually be there. Thanks mate. The previous posts have said it already but it was the first thing that popped into my head also " what a country we live in " WOW.
    Hope the young blokes wrist heals up nicely.

A few more

Sunrise under a boab at the camp spot,

The ridge next to the gorge we drove up and down a couple of times for photos was 100 metres above the valley floor. A bit too steep for a standard 4WD but the quads did them easily enough with the front diffs engaged.

Last pic was a small pool that still have at least four fish in it about 30cm. Doomed as the pool shrinks over the next few months

awesome piccys looks like agreat trip. cheers bdowdy,,brett

Mate

"Brilliant"

Hope the boy's doing better

How far did you travel from home to get to this spot?

Do you do Charter's?

One day I'd love to do something like that, and thats what dreams are for

keep up the good work

Rob T

Sorry Rob no Charters, I'd go broke pretty quick

The spot was about half a day from home.

Young fella's wrist is fine today, anyone who's hit something with the wheel of a quad bike knows how they can wrench at your arms

Quote Originally Posted by Dick Pasfield View Post
    Sorry Rob no Charters, I'd go broke pretty quick

The spot was about half a day from home.

Young fella's wrist is fine today, anyone who's hit something with the wheel of a quad bike knows how they can wrench at your arms
    Bummer about the Charter, Maybe a free guided tour then

Yeh those Quads don't have a great deal of give in them, you live in a beautiful part of the country mate, good luck to you., and keep those posts comin
    Rob T

Good one, mate. Lived in the Kimberley Region on and off for about 14 years; both Derby and Kununurra (MRD), from 1964. Brings back great memories. Those little sooties are a glutton for punishment!! Heck, spit in the water and they, and the spanglies come charging over to investigate.

Thumbs up Re: Kimberley waterhole

G'Day Dick,

Awesome country that!! Many thanks for posting the pics. Could look at them all day & dream.

Fitzy..
    Australian Lure & Fly Expo - Australia's largest ever gathering of Aussie lures under one roofwww.lureshow.com.au
    Australian Lure Shop - Get aussie made lures direct from the lure makers at www.australianlureshop.com.au

Thanks for the pics. We did a trip up that way in May 2006 - MAGIC!

Cant wait to go back. Unfortunately didnt get much fishing in due to flooding at the time.

We were stuck in Katherine until the Victoria River went down enough to get over to Kunnanurra.....did manage my 1st barra at Ivenhoe Crossing but!!!

Hi Dick wow what a fantastic post and photo's. Keep them coming - as whitto says - how good is our country.

We are lucky indeed. We wish more WA, NT and NQ fisho's posted on here as there would be many hidden gems (anglers & locations) that we don't hear from or see which is a real shame because they and their knowledge get forgotten and in their place a lot of other stuff is dished up.

Keep up your interesting posts please they give us another perspective. You have lots of keen readers in the Barra Scene over here. Lots of nice people are members on this site and it's hard not to bump in to them when on a barra lake in Qld..

Let us know if you are ever travelling Qld way - we and a few of our barra fishing friends always have a spare place on a boat and chair around the campfire (esky)...Queenslanders have even been known to have an esky or 2 stocked with cold drinks (winter & summer)...

Thanks again for posting..
    All the best on your next trip. Cheers Lyndon & kel

Ausfish Platinum Member Obi _ Wan's Avatar

G'Day Dick, WOW!!! What a fantastic post with great pictures.

And our Australian Landscape, bloody amazing! We certainly live in a magnificient country.

Thanks again mate and please keep those reports comming.

John.