Thread: NPD Bassin, but no pics

NPD Bassin, but no pics

Well, the urge was over whelming this arvo, get a fish on lure, so a quick land based sess at NPD was in order.
    I havent fished out there since last winter, but Little Grey Mans reports had me gee'd up, so threw the spin stick, little tackle box and back pack into the ute for the looooooooong 20 minute road trip to Forgans Cove.
    What a differance an inflow makes! Places that were hi and dry last time I was out there were now prime fish holding points, all I had to do was pull out the machete to carve a path thru the shoulder high grass to get there.
    Was it worth it??, yep best fish went 47 to the fork, another dozen or so a bit smaller, plus my first fish on a spinnerbait, a lovely coloured golden around 40cm.
    Bummer on the pics, took the missus's camera cause its smaller/lighter than mine, and the battery was flat, apparently no one ever told her they need to be re-charged
    Great little two and a half hour session, so if your local, have a go, fish are there and nice and fat to boot
    brian

Re: NPD Bassin, but no pics

Good on ya brian. Good move not hitting up monduran. 9hrs driving, 13hrs solid fishing for 4 catties. Would have settled for a decent bass like you got. Ben

Good stuff Brain

Did you go mid arvo, 'cause LGM and myself flogged the water late arvo/evening for zero.

Norm

So......it was you that stole my mojo!!!
    Nog and myself should have hit Forgans instead by the sounds of it. We walked back to the car dragging our feet with our bottom lips poking out, wet, cold and fishless. I didn't even get a hit ????
    I threw everything at them, Soft plastics on a beetlespin, Jackalls, spinners, blade lures. I even dug down to the bottom of my lure box for some obscure things I've never used before. We covered the water column from very deep to really shallow and they were just gone. Nog was tossing heavy slugs half way across the flamin dam to reach the deep water and I worked the edges for no result.
    Next week we'll get em.....if I don't I'll sell my gear and take up square dancing.

Brian,
    Good report and great to see you get onto some fish.

Quote Originally Posted by Nog View Post
    Good stuff Brain

Did you go mid arvo, 'cause LGM and myself flogged the water late arvo/evening for zero.

Norm
    hit the water bout quater to three mate, gone by 5, gentlemens hours

btian

Quote Originally Posted by Little grey men View Post
    So......it was you that stole my mojo!!!
    Nog and myself should have hit Forgans instead by the sounds of it. We walked back to the car dragging our feet with our bottom lips poking out, wet, cold and fishless. I didn't even get a hit ????
    I threw everything at them, Soft plastics on a beetlespin, Jackalls, spinners, blade lures. I even dug down to the bottom of my lure box for some obscure things I've never used before. We covered the water column from very deep to really shallow and they were just gone. Nog was tossing heavy slugs half way across the flamin dam to reach the deep water and I worked the edges for no result.
    Next week we'll get em.....if I don't I'll sell my gear and take up square dancing.
    sorry mate, stop writting those good reports, ya geed me up, just had to have a go.
    fish were in the deeper water, if your cast fell short, just burn it back and stop wasteing time
    great spot for a lazy sunday arvo flick, but geez that grass is awesome, both on the dry and submerged, glad I was fishing 14lb, had to high stick bulldoze a couple of times
    brian

What Lures where you using, sounds like a ripper session there, i might try to fish the dam soon.

Cammo
    Australian Native Fish Vids
    Specialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons

I was fishing 14lb, had to high stick bulldoze a couple of times
    Good idea to use line of that weight. I'm using 10lb and when the bigger ones bury themselves it's a real battle to get them out without popping the line.
    Nog was using 4lb I think ( brave man ). That grass is rotting away but still very tough to drag a lure through.

Nog was using 4lb I think ( brave man ).
    Stupid and too lazy to take overhead outfit more likely

.....if I don't I'll sell my gear and take up square dancing.
    hmmm.... Never danced with a square...

Nice stuff Brian its nice to go back to basics after the long summer haul (well your huge summer haul) trying to supress the IBD problem that is ever growing with intencity as the wamth struggles to come back. The bass fishing it a great altenitive and is well worth a shot just as you have done.

Well done mate looking forward to getting up to you know where I have re- geared (new reel after the last trip) and am getting more and more amped for the first cast.

Cheers Nath

Quote Originally Posted by Tropicaltrout View Post
    Nice stuff Brian its nice to go back to basics after the long summer haul (well your huge summer haul) trying to supress the IBD problem that is ever growing with intencity as the wamth struggles to come back. The bass fishing it a great altenitive and is well worth a shot just as you have done.

Well done mate looking forward to getting up to you know where I have re- geared (new reel after the last trip) and am getting more and more amped for the first cast.

Cheers Nath
    yeah, bring it on nath, did somethin a bit differant today, out to wide caloundra for some snaps and pearlies, great fun

Quote Originally Posted by BR65 View Post
    yeah, bring it on nath, did somethin a bit differant today, out to wide caloundra for some snaps and pearlies, great fun
    yeah going for the odd nobby is good fun, my brother inlaw is lookin at a boat and wants me to take him for a day out outside to test it, so may get a few myself one of the few fish I will take home to eat.

Cheers Nath