Thread: Gulps in the fresh ?

Gulps in the fresh ?

G'day All

Has anyone had success using gulps in the dams. The only soft plastic often mentioned are sliders and I have used them successfully - but I wonder why gulps wouldn't work ? Something like a 4 inch nuc chook or pumpkinseed swiming mullet can catch a heap of different species in the salt and since Bass are really a salt water fish - why wouldn't they be just as successfull ?

Any comments / thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Gulps in the fresh ?

Quote Originally Posted by jrf1973 View Post
    G'day All

Has anyone had success using gulps in the dams. The only soft plastic often mentioned are sliders and I have used them successfully - but I wonder why gulps wouldn't work ? Something like a 4 inch nuc chook or pumpkinseed swiming mullet can catch a heap of different species in the salt and since Bass are really a salt water fish - why wouldn't they be just as successfull ?

Any comments / thoughts would be appreciated.

Hi jrf

We did a trip to Lake Cania last October & my mate used exclusively Gulp 4" drop shot minnows & powerbait bass minnows in pumpkin
    Well he cleaned up ....... & outfished me 2:1
    He was fishing them .... casting onto the bank & slow flicking them back ( most fish were hooked on the drop in 1 or 2 feet of water ........ but some good ones came out of the deeper water along a rock wall.

PS I've included some pics

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 29305

Attachment 29306

Attachment 29307

Attachment 29308

Try the 3" gulp watermellonseed in grub tail.
    We used some two weeks ago in Maroon dam and caught bass.
    Cheers Brent

The gulp range was really designed for the us market where almost all the fishing is in fresh water for bass so there is no reason they wont work on our bass either.

The bass climb all over the gulp shrimp.

3" minnow grub in pumkinseed has won quite a few bass tournaments in south east Qld dams.

In Maroon Dam we catch a lot of bass using the 2inch berkley shrimp in natural colour casting it out and giving it small hops then a long pause!!!!!!

actually there is 2 different types of gulp the gulp in the light blue packetts are SALTWATER.

and the red packetts are FRESHWATER. i didnt know this till i looked closey at the lure wall at work oneday.
    "True Blue"

I've had some good catches of bass with Gulp shrimp and smaller Gulp minnows. I think any little "thing" zipping through the water will attract the attention of a bass on the prowl, and the horrible smell seems to help a little as well.