Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Off The Cape!

Re: Off The Cape!

[quote=TimiBoy;845037]Quote:
    Originally Posted by TimiBoy
    I didn't have plans, I just know I am SOFT.

And the sledging continues................

good fish mate

It is sad to note that Wags on the Water will no longer be seen on these forums.

From now on he will be known either as "Squid Boy", or "Tangles".

I always thought he was a bastard, but now I know for sure!!!

ROFLMAO

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

looks like it was a good trip for you guys good to see your snappers are slowly getting better tim. bout the same pb as me still trying to find the elusive 8 - 9 kg snaps. hopefully next time!
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

I learned something major yesterday. I caught some good fish yesterday, but the greats come from persistently, and I mean persistently, floating baits down. Squid Boy caught quality, not quantity! Snapper wise that was, I creamed him on the Pearlies!

Interesting that is was about the 407th time I have learn't that lesson. Learn to float baits and the 9kg fish will beat a path to your door...

Looks like you guys had a good day and a fun raed
    Cheers Gaven

good report timi,lookin forward to seeing some of those big pearlies this winter ,havent seen any yet..and havent been round the cape for a while either .might try n get down that way this season..

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    I learned something major yesterday. I caught some good fish yesterday, but the greats come from persistently, and I mean persistently, floating baits down. Squid Boy caught quality, not quantity! Snapper wise that was, I creamed him on the Pearlies!

Interesting that is was about the 407th time I have learn't that lesson. Learn to float baits and the 9kg fish will beat a path to your door...

any weight at all on the floaters timmi.????

Quote Originally Posted by DEANO68 View Post
    any weight at all on the floaters timmi.????
    The Pearlies will come on the paternoster easy enough, I suspect.

Floater wise, yes, weight is needed. What I've learn't is you need enough weight above the bait to keep your line at about 45 degrees. Otherwise it's sinking too fast or not fast enough. So it's a matter of letting one go, seeing how it sinks, and adjusting the weight. Pain in the a$$ changing weight all the time, but worth it. Proof's in the puddin', and I've watched Squid Boy and Bowser eat heaps of puddin'!!!

The Pearlies will come on the paternoster easy enough, I suspect.

Floater wise, yes, weight is needed. What I've learn't is you need enough weight above the bait to keep your line at about 45 degrees. Otherwise it's sinking too fast or not fast enough. So it's a matter of letting one go, seeing how it sinks, and adjusting the weight. Pain in the a$$ changing weight all the time, but worth it. Proof's in the puddin', and I've watched Squid Boy and Bowser eat heaps of puddin'!!!

Cheers timmi, thought about the same .bit more current bit more weight, but not to much...

yeah mate thats all our rigs are all floaters only way to go out on those deep reefs we reckon used to use the droppers but since changing rigs the quality of snapper change alot. only thing there good for is the good old wrecks to get down there as quick as possible as u dont have that long till u move away from it. and your right with weight although ususally out at DT u only need a size 10 sinker. u know when your to heavy breaking 50 pound braid aint all that fun. altho i must say it could be used as an anchor untill the hooks bend.
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"

hey timiboy
    well done im not going to pick on you whilst you enjoy your fishing
    thanks jim

Cheers Mate, nice to have someone on my side.

Might have to take you fishing, huh?

LOL. Actually, I did not read that he was on your side, just that he was not saying anything. Bit like I tell the kids, if you don't have anything nice to say, don't say anything. LOL. In hysterics reading this thread and writing this post. WOTW you are a legend.

TB, interesting to see that you are progressively moving up the percentage scale. Looks like you are definitely on the can do side now. All the power to you as you are putting in the work, so great you are getting the rewards.

Looking forward to the next episode.

Ive figured out I will have to allow an extra hour at your place Tim.

After the lawn and garden it will be boats motors rigs knots spots motors rigs boats.....

All good

Rod
    My dictionary defines green as ‘unripe, immature, undeveloped'. Perfect description.

Most political parties are seen as interested in what the voters think, the Greens are seen as thinking the community should be interested in what they think.

Fellow AF's, what Tim failed to mention was that he actually fished better under pressure (aka sledging).
    Thanks Wags......No problem Tim. Anytime Tim.