Thread: Who uses the search button ??

Who uses the search button ??

I've started to notice alot lately that when someone asks a question, we
    give a quick reply of ..... Hey buddy use the search button !!!!
    Why is this ?
    Are we getting lazy in our questions or our answers ???
    I dread the day when i turn on the computer to view my fav site
    to find 500 members on line, but no new posts since 2008 !!!

Any hoo just an observation of one who spends to much time
    reading than fishing .......

Re: Who uses the seach button ??

Gee;s mate with a post like that I would have expected you would have had more take the hook than on SP's. I can see both sides of the argument.

By the way I think this has been already covered, just use the search button.

Whats the old saying, "teach them to fish and you feed the for life!".
    With many forums around not just fishing that seems to be the culture, do some research yourself and if you then cant find then ask.

I find a lot of people who use computers dont know anything about search techniques. Master internet searching and you have a world of knowledge at your fingertips (not that all of it is accurate).

Re: Who uses the search button ??

i thought this was a fishing site com on guys

To be honest, It's bloody boring reading the same friggin questions.

How do you use SP's.....................
    Main line to leader knot....................
    What's the best braid......................
    Etec questions........................
    Cast nets..............................
    etc. etc. etc. etc............................ need i go on.

People are too lazy to do searches, and I reckon older members are sick of replying to the same simple basic questions asked over and over and over again.

Do a search people, there's heaps of good info hidden away in there.

I use the search function but that isnt always the end of it.
    People have new experieces and also sometimes change their stance,ideals and opinions and a new thread on a topic that has already been covered may bring new answers and opinions,also new members who have joined the forum may have something to contribute on an already covered subject.
    Sure search but dont be put off just because a subject has been covered in the past.
    And as for the people who get all upset about thread on a previously covered subject

Cheers Craig

Quote Originally Posted by ffejsmada View Post

People are too lazy to do searches, and I reckon older members are sick of replying to the same simple basic questions asked over and over and over again.

No one, older members or newer has to reply to the questions. Maybe the ones that do reply to the same question, do so cause they want to.

If you read something that bores you, read something else.

The thing is, there new fishos, members etc registering here everyday and we all have to start somewhere. Asking a question is relevant for the time, maybe some older replies are not relevant in this day. If the new member is computer / chat forum smart, they can do a search, but for the average fisho that has just tuned into the computer age, simply asking a question is exactly that....maybe there are just as many members doing searches that are asking the questions....

New technologies, line, reels, rods, tackle etc and also new motors, boats, EPIRBs, radios, sounders.... new wrecks, no-go zones etc.

Maybe those members that post "Do a search" would be better off not posting anything, unless there are no replies for a day or so. Or doing the search for the other Member and posting links to relevant posts.

Not many people know how to do a Boolean search and some things may not come up in a search unless you type in very specific words or phrases or use the right lingo.

I know in my pursuit of knowlage, i would prefer it fresh & now !

l,ve been laid up for the last 2 1/2 months
    work acccident
    this site has kept me from going insane
    to those of you that have helped out
    THANKS