Thread: Iluka revisited

Iluka revisited

Had another week at Iluka chasing the usual suspects. The weather gods knew I was coming and ordered in the gale force winds, big seas and showers for most of the week. The fishing was a bit quieter than most of my trips. There were plenty of bream but the quality was way down and I was releasing more fish than I kept. Almost all of the bream were males, and the roes in the few females I caught were almost always immature. Should be good in anout a month I reckon. Tried for tailor a few times at dawn and dusk at several locations but only scored the odd one most times. Same thing with the luderick - had a few goes but only managed a couple. Still it was a very relaxing week if you don't mind gales and showers - I quite enjoy fishing in heavy conditions, and since the deckie couldn't make it this time it was just me and the polar bear.
    Cheers Freeeedom

Re: Iluka revisited

Nice stuff, and fantastic pics mate
    How long does it take to drive there from Brissie ?

Russ
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

nice bag dude
    figjam :wink:

nice catch down there again mate great pics also... every report u do from down there really fires me up to pay a visit

Quote Originally Posted by Dirtysanchez View Post
    Nice stuff, and fantastic pics mate
    How long does it take to drive there from Brissie ?

Russ
    I left there at 2.45a.m. this morning Russ and as a result missed all the traffic. Had a great run and was home (Brisbane northside) by 6.15a.m. That included one stop for petrol and a burger. The Tugun by-pass makes a big difference too!
    Cheers Freeeedom

Mate wasnt the weather horrible...went for a flick in shark bay last Sunday...managed one legal lizzard in half an hour... then drove straight to sedgers reef for lunch and a coldie....much more comfy!

That was an enjoyable read and beautiful photo's. I like the heavy weather too mate, the rain drops in the water, big dark rolling clouds. BEAUTIFUL!

Nice bag again mate, I think you fish iluka more than I do! The last week and a half we've found the blackfish to be feeding exclusively on the trainer walls around the marina at iluka and on the ocean half of the middle wall. They are at alot of other spots but just won'tbe tempted to take a bait.

Thanks Freeedom, thats it.. I am booking a few nights in the caravan park, 2nd week of the school hols coming up.. I was heading to Port Macquarie to see mum anyway, so I will take a stop over with my son, break up the drive and wet a line or 2

If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

taking the family down first week school hol and see Ma and Pa, hope to get a few days on the water in between chores....hope we can crack some weather and some fish like you, nice pics too.

Quote Originally Posted by mattooty View Post
    Nice bag again mate, I think you fish iluka more than I do! The last week and a half we've found the blackfish to be feeding exclusively on the trainer walls around the marina at iluka and on the ocean half of the middle wall. They are at alot of other spots but just won'tbe tempted to take a bait.
    Thanks Matt - I must have a look at those walls next time I'm down. I've caught a few on past trips on the walls at Moriarty's but didn't have a look there this time. I also kept an eye out along both sides of the main break water during my travels but couldn't see any schools feeding there at all like you usually can, but the weather didn't help. Next time!!
    Cheers Freeeedom

Its certainly a special place. A few of us will be next door at Woody Head for the first week of the school holidays. I hope the weather plays fair and the Greenbacks come out to play.