Thread: Pine - Saved by the bell, and a muddy or two

Pine - Saved by the bell, and a muddy or two

After being inspired by Baitwaster I decided to head to the Pine in search of flathead. Went with a mate after work, dropped my pots and headed to the mouth just after dark.

My mate doesn't fish so I was keen to put him onto something. Fished plastics around the pilongs and on the edge of the drop-offs for no result. Also had a pilly and a big prawn floating out the back. We had very few touches, he only got one small bream and we managed the smallest tailor ever on the pilly - I have no idea how it got the gang in its mouth.

Decided to drift the creek for a while, again no touches, so called it a night and pulled the pots.

1st pot - undersized buck

2nd pot - jenny

3rd pot - untouched

mounting disappointment and much philosophy about a great night on the water ...

Last pot - eureka Two bucks, a jenny and a very happy mate.

Re: Pine - Saved by the bell, and a muddy or two

i bet you get the flatties next time. them crabs have me thinking of lunch now hehe yumyum
    figjam :wink:

Nicely done dave, I'll have to throw the pots in next time.
    I'd rather come home with some muddies than a coupla lizards any day!!

G'day Lapras,
    Couple of nice muddies there mate! Good to see that they are around in the colder weather. Well done!
    Lunatic

Nice too see them.. I am going to head down the Pine Thursday arvo late and stay a while with my son. Hope to see something like them myself.