Brisbane River Friday 6th

Thread: Brisbane River Friday 6th

Brisbane River Friday 6th

This one's a little late due to computer issues ...
    Hit the river on the 6th with my mate Tim in the hope of luring a few Bream & Squire. Things soon changed when we got to our first spot finding the Tuna & Tailor smashing up the Baitfish in every direction. It was a fish a cast and we quickly dispatched 4 legal tailor into the Esky. I cast my 4" Stickbait and after a couple of sharp twitches all hell broke loose, watching my 6lb Braid quickly disappearing I suddenly realised I might a bit under gunned with a 2000 Sol & a 1-2kg Bream Stick. With the electric on full thrust and slowly screwing up the drag I had no choice but to keep the pressure on, eventually loosing out to the cranky Mack Tuna. Not beating myself up, I stepped down a class and got out the 3lb Flurocarbon with a 3" Gulp Minnow and started using that instead. As Tim looked at me in disbelief I felt a dull tap on the fluro and set the hooks home .... oh dear ... here we go again. This time it turned out to be a 55+ cm School Mackerel which I slowly but surely coaxed to the boat but it spat the hook right at the net .... Oh well 3rd time lucky maybe????? In the next 30 mins we caught 2 nice School Macks and a couple of small squire plus#various#sizes of Tailor. Rigging up again on the heavy (6lb) gear I threw a 4" Stck bait into the Horizon, 2 twitches and I'm on again with the drag in full noise .... not again, not this time. Slowly drawing the fish away from structure I soon realised I was in for a battle and kept as much pressure on as I dared. Roughly 10 mins later, run after run, up popped a head and a flash of red lit up my eyes ... finally a decent sized Snapper hit the net, measuring 62cm ... my biggest to date. After a bit more fishing, things slowed down and we agreed to make a move. We decided to actually target what we originally came for ... Bream!! Visiting a new spot is always an experiment but it just looked and felt right ... I won't go into too much detail but in a hectic 1 hour session we landed around 30 Bream with all but 2 legal and the biggest going 37cm, multiple double hook-ups with all fish lured on Ecogear & Little Max Blades. With both of us sporting sore forearms, we made our way back to the ramp fishing a couple of spots along the way with no more luck ... it has to run out eventually right? Tim's brag mat is now in the Bin as the 62cm measured a poor 55cm on it, a full 7cm difference to a proper ruler.

Ta

Re: Brisbane River Friday 6th

Hey Matt, that was a ripper session & congrats on a top read. Just shows what a great resource we have with our river, Peter.
    "We gave Howard the Arse now we have to fix Rudd"
    "Now we have to sort Gillard" F@?k me RUDD again
    Abbott and Newman what a great next few years "NOT"

Good report Matt

It was certainly the best river session we've had

cheers tim

Ausfish Platinum Member ddobson's Avatar

Geeze yah had a go at all species in one hit. Great stuff. Good snapper to.

Nice work matt. you now know just how hard you can push 3 and 6lb fused braid. we've got some nice 4-5kg long tail on just the same sort of gear....bit heavier on the leader and rod tho'. Definatly bin that brag mat Tim. mine is more of an over read by 1cm in 1m.

cheers Roo.

nice session there matt.
    good work
    BreamBuster33

Ausfish Platinum Member lethal098's Avatar

theres some nice fish in that lot well done.

Nice work mate a good variety of fish.Well done

That's a great session Matt. The river seems to be really firing lately.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Wow, what an exciting session, very nice snap! top effort boys!

Ausfish Platinum Member nuggstar's Avatar

thats a prittie cool bag of fish. top work matt
    figjam :wink:

What a great session Matt. The river throws up a fair bit of variety, all you needed was a thready or jew!

Well done

Top session mate, good work!!

Ausfish Platinum Member plaztix's Avatar

Sounds like a pearler of a session. Great mixed bag.

Thats a decent snap for 6lb gear too, well done.

maybe thats where the mackies have been all summer....