After recent outings nailing little speedsters like trevs and queenies, I made a spur decision to try and put my mate from Brissie onto a few fish yesterday arvo.
The wind had dropped a little so the 25knots that we'd been plagued with this week didn't look to be too much of an issue with my 4.35 Hornet.
Anyways, arrived at the ramp and while waiting to launch I noticed what looked to be surface activity about a km out into the channel.
"Billy..............I think they're Tuna out there mate. If they are, I'm sorry, but we're into them this arvo........."
Sure enough on cue, another bust up and I knew they were in the Harbour terrorising bait.
Enough said and after putting in, the 3 minute run out felt like an eternity. Filled with anticipation and then excitement as a scene out of a fishing show unfolded. Not one school but about about 5 different schools stretching between Mandorah and Emery and now only 10 Knots blowing.
Take your pic Richie!!!!!
Only one other bloke out there running his clients around trying to put em on fish. All I can say is this bloke had no idea and after crashing every school I was stalking I quickly got the poo poo's and decided to put some distance between me and him.....FAST!
Turned out to be the best move I made as over the next hr we had Tuna between 8-10kg's grace Shrek's deck. Billy (deckie) had never caught Tuna before and to be honest niether had I, but I had done enough research to have half a clue. His casting wasn't the best so I'd just get him to idle up and predict where they'd pop up. Every cast were hookups and I'd just hand over a screaming drag to him and give chase watching him hoot.
We had a ball in a sesh that would have only lasted 2hrs. Kept one fish for Buster (gee that dog has got the best looking coat in Winnellie) and left em biting releasing the rest. Home for a pizza and reflecting.
He's still up for work for another 2 weeks so I assured him we'll get amongst a few more again soon.
30g Halco's on a TSS4. 15lb mono/30lb leader.
Richie![]()
PS: I'm not a pelagic expert by any chance, thinking they are little Northern Blues?? Anyone with a clue please inform me of species. Thanks in advance!