NIce fish there mate there great to catch, yeah northern blue fin tuna or long tails nice one.
After recent outings nailing little speedsters like trevs and queenies, I made a spur decision to try and put my mate from Brissie onto a few fish yesterday arvo.
The wind had dropped a little so the 25knots that we'd been plagued with this week didn't look to be too much of an issue with my 4.35 Hornet.
Anyways, arrived at the ramp and while waiting to launch I noticed what looked to be surface activity about a km out into the channel.
"Billy..............I think they're Tuna out there mate. If they are, I'm sorry, but we're into them this arvo........."
Sure enough on cue, another bust up and I knew they were in the Harbour terrorising bait.
Enough said and after putting in, the 3 minute run out felt like an eternity. Filled with anticipation and then excitement as a scene out of a fishing show unfolded. Not one school but about about 5 different schools stretching between Mandorah and Emery and now only 10 Knots blowing.
Take your pic Richie!!!!!
Only one other bloke out there running his clients around trying to put em on fish. All I can say is this bloke had no idea and after crashing every school I was stalking I quickly got the poo poo's and decided to put some distance between me and him.....FAST!
Turned out to be the best move I made as over the next hr we had Tuna between 8-10kg's grace Shrek's deck. Billy (deckie) had never caught Tuna before and to be honest niether had I, but I had done enough research to have half a clue. His casting wasn't the best so I'd just get him to idle up and predict where they'd pop up. Every cast were hookups and I'd just hand over a screaming drag to him and give chase watching him hoot.
We had a ball in a sesh that would have only lasted 2hrs. Kept one fish for Buster (gee that dog has got the best looking coat in Winnellie) and left em biting releasing the rest. Home for a pizza and reflecting.
He's still up for work for another 2 weeks so I assured him we'll get amongst a few more again soon.
30g Halco's on a TSS4. 15lb mono/30lb leader.
Richie
PS: I'm not a pelagic expert by any chance, thinking they are little Northern Blues?? Anyone with a clue please inform me of species. Thanks in advance!
NIce fish there mate there great to catch, yeah northern blue fin tuna or long tails nice one.
Awesome session! Jealous as!!
bloody good fish richie
figjam :wink:
Top catch their Rich. Darwin certainly seems to be agreeing with you from what I have been reading, and you seem to have cracked the fishing habits somewhat in your relatively short time there, it took me ages to crack Townsville, but that was mainly due to lack of time on the water, but now that I head out almost every weekend at least once, I'm starting to see some great fish come aboard.
Yeah that would be fun richie. I got into the mack tunas in the seaway last fri nite, gee they are fun. First time for me too.
Nice work there fella's
Whats next on the speedsters list
Lee
few nice fish mate
BreamBuster33
Sounds like a sensational session Richie. Very jealous as always!
Keep the reports coming.
Brad
What would Steve do?
fortes fortuna adjuvat
Good work Richie! Looks like you had a great day. Makes me wish I'd got a chance to fish more when i was up there a few years ago for work...
nice longtails richie, you should hav kept 1 for yourself, they taste great nice and fresh.
Cheers boys,
Cobes: Yeh, I will keep one for next time. Bleed her straight away tho.
LeeLee: Spanyiards on the jig I hope off Lee point. Another 5 minute ride from the ramp.
Scotty: Yeh mate, I had about 3 weeks before I started cracking the barra pattern and now that the bluewater season is on I'm really getting the Harbour sorted again. They say it can be fickle to fish but you just gotta do the time and learn those tides and moons.
Something I never really paid much attention to in Brissie.
Also the fact that I can fish due to a 4 on 4 off roster means it's always mid week sessions for me and they are as we all know productive.
Cheers, I'll keep putting a few pics up now and then.
Richie
Good stuff. Yep longtails 5-6kg. Ben
Nice report again mate. What sort of work are you doing up there?
Pete.
mate - thats fantastic. Well done. I reckon its good advice to not hoon around the bay without pre-rigging a rod to throw a lure at school fish. I was with a mate in the main passage outside of Wallum Pt at Straddie on day a few years ago and we came accross a school of GTs and Tuna breaking the surface. He had pre-rigged a bloody great crane of a rod with a million pound line (he fishes heavy) and a hard bodied wood lure. I drove his boat around the outside of the school and he payed out the line...he son did the same and double hookup but his sons broke the trebble. My mates held on an he pulled in a bloody great GT. Didnt weigh but got photos and ate it.
I remember an article by Kim Bain a couple of years ago where she reckoned that bay Tuna are a bit weary of metal slugs...she recommended a soft placcy (big one) but I cant recall which one...anyone use plastics for this work...?