Marine ply V bunnings ply

Thread: Marine ply V bunnings ply

Marine ply V bunnings ply

I am about to construct a casting deck for my boat. Just wondering if the bunnings ply will cut it or should I go for marine or form ply? If i treat the bunnings ply with bondcrete or epoxy will that do the trick?

Also, where can I find marine ply on the northside?

Re: Marine ply V bunnings ply

Bunnings sells formply (17mm)- should be o.k. they'll also order anything you want

otherwise mister ply and wood

narangba timbers

Mate
    I used normal ply and painted it top and bottom covered it in carpet and it has lasted in excess of four years

Ken

But the CD grade and coat it with something, uses the same glue as Marine, more voids but unless building a boat you cannot go wrong.

why would u go to bunnings to buy ply, you don't know what your getting.

Go to old reliable Mitre 10 or Home Hardware, not only do you get service from people who know what they are talking about, but they sell Marine ply as standard for about $2 more than bunning's normal stuff.

Bunnings is a rip off.

Quote Originally Posted by Local_Guy View Post
    why would u go to bunnings to buy ply, you don't know what your getting.

Go to old reliable Mitre 10 or Home Hardware, not only do you get service from people who know what they are talking about, but they sell Marine ply as standard for about $2 more than bunning's normal stuff.

Bunnings is a rip off.
    Cause bunnings has wiped out all the local hardware stores, so I have no choice. Dont worry, I detest bunnings. Would happily pay double to go to a quiter store. Would go trade stores, but you try to find one open on a sunday.

Have bought heaps of ply from Bunnings for building decks etc for the boat. Excellent stuff, been in for years, never had a problem. I buy the 12mm. I've never found Mitre 10 or any other hardware shop cheaper than bunnings for the ply, and if you don't know what you're getting when you're standing there looking at it and rubbing your hands over it then you need to give the game away and get someone else to do it for you.

Just my thoughts

The standard Bunnings CD Ply will be fine, lighter (due to species of timber) butthats to only difference, same glue and treatment as marine ply at less than 1/2 the cost. Just paint with Bondcrete diluted to 3:1 water:bondcrete.

I can honestly say that the bunnings ply is a good product (all bunning timber also comes from plantation forests, a renewable resource), and you will find that most timberyards will get there stock from the same suppliers so the comment of you don't know what you're getting, unless you've worked in the industry, totally unfounded.

Also I would really like to know how "good" this marine ply for $2 more than CD Ply is, you'll probably find its just standard CD ply with a maple veneer for looks, or its not marine ply at all, true marine ply is all harwood, such as maple, cedar, gum etc hence the extra cost.

With CD Ply you will get one 'good' side, where there will be no knots, cracks etc, obviously, this will be the face side of the sheet.

there is marine ply and marine ply...I occasionally build wooden boats and use 6mm and 4mm ply called Gaboon...the timber is african mahogany and it is laminated in Israel..the last sheet I bought some years ago was $120 approx for a standard 8 x 4 thin sheet and it is much more now ...but you just need outdoor ply and a couple of coats of decent marine grade varnish. Thin the first coat down by 10% with thinners or turps to get a good soak and then finish with a couple of normal coats. Will last for years . Bunnings and Mitre 10 just dont sell Marine Ply.

I've found construction ply to be fine for the job. Just paint the top and sides with exterior paint before sticking on the carpet.

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Ausfish Platinum Member ronnien's Avatar

did mine a couple of years ago used 17mm structre ply, thinned the first coat (oil based undercoat) so it gets sucked in & seals it than another coat of the same not thined out, finished with 2 coats of enamel paving paint than carpeted it still looks like new.

ron.
    reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

I just replaced the floor and stringers in my 5m half cab using 12mm CD ply from Bunnings and can't fault it. At $35 bucks a sheet and sealed with a couple of coats of polyester resin theres no reason why it won't last for at least 20 years.

doesn't matter where you buy it from.....its all the same product.
    CD ply is the go, just seal it up real good and it will last for ages. unless you are spanning big openings, 12mm will be fine and keep the weight down.

Talking of different types of ply I think someone said you can source second hand construction ply. That would be just as good wouldnt it?

Lets face this stuff doesn't have to be pretty, it can be painted waterproofed etc and half the time its carpeted too to tart it up and the real crook side will be covered anyhow.

Is this sort of stuff available on the Gold Coast?

What could go wrong.......................

i used 17mm form ply on my deck.
    sealed it up and works a treat
    BreamBuster33