Thread: G'Day from Darren fellow fisho's

G'Day from Darren fellow fisho's

Hi There,
    I joined up about a month ago when I found this site and realised most people were from around SE QLD. I moved to Brissy a year ago from Perth. I love fishing but haven't really had much chance to do it consistently and get better at it. I've always fished with bait and mostly land based as I dont own a boat (yet...)

Since reading how successful soft plastics are on this site I've decided to give it a go. For my birthday last week my wife and kids got me a Shimano Sonic Pro 6'6" graphite rod with a Shimano Sahara 1500 reel and a selection of Squidgies to try. I've spooled up with braid (first time trying braid too). Gave it a try out at Hervey Bay last weekend for a couple of hours at Burrum Heads and Dundowrin beach. Didn't catch anything on plastics at Burrum (water was tea coloured from the floods) and caught only a 25cm puffer fish at Dundowrin. Pretty embarrasing but at least it was a fish on plastics! In Brissy I live on the north side so closest estuary is the pine. Hopefully I can catch a few flattys to get started there. I think I'll try down near the Hornibrook bridge on the low tide tomorrow unless anyone gives me a better suggestion.

Thanks to everyone for all their regular posts. Its great to hear the reports of what everyone catches. It convinces me the fish are out there. I just have to learn how to out smart them.

Re: G'Day from Darren fellow fisho's

Welcome to ausfish mate, happy birthday for last week. Im sure you will learn heps about soft plastics here and good luck for tomorrow.

cheers tassie JR

Welcome mate

welcome and enjoy ausfish mate
    BreamBuster33

what part of north bris?

Quote Originally Posted by Seahorse View Post
    what part of north bris?