Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Sooner Or Later, it has to happen

Re: Sooner Or Later, it has to happen

Great fish Brain and on light gear , geez those jews are nice looking fish.

Bec and I , ended up at the Tiger Mullet Ausfish carpark.. Everywhere we went there where Ausfishers out and about.

As we where launching we saw a couple of Ausfish shirts and said gday, had a chat, then we caught up with Scalem as he was heading back, nice fish! then bec and I caught up with Poodroo as he was landing his flattie, then off we went and anchored up at Tigermullet next to a houseboat... out walked Craigie .. a couple of hours later Pinhead rocked up and then Webby and Deckie.

Bec and I had to leave them to it as weren't prepared for an overnighter and water was coming in through the bung I thought it wasn't sealing properly and at the ramp it looks like a small bit of plastic was in the threads, bilge pump got a workout.

bream apparently where out and about last night but the afternoon was a bit slow, but ended up with some nice sized bream for the table and caught my first eel .

Great day out and about and great to catch up with all the Ausfishers.

mike
    Tangles KFC

Quote Originally Posted by For Steve View Post
    Congratulations Scalem on an awesome fish. I can't take any credit mate - you were a true pro the way you fought with that monster on light gear.

Thanks for the trip mate. I got to practice my knots with all the times I got snagged and now can replace a heap of jigheads and leader, and the rod I snapped the tip off.

By the way, time to get a bigger net.

I be very polite to the skipper and ALWAYS let them catch the quality fish. For example, yesterday I was with SummerTrance at Mud Is when he skillfully caught his PB bay snapper. And today with Scalem at the pin when he got that beauty and a haul of bream. Out of respect on both of these occasions I decided not to catch a single legal fish. That's my story anyway...have to keep some self-confidence.
    LOLOLOLOLOL!!!!

Mate, it's not too late to come back and grab enough fillet to have something in the frypan!!! Thanks for the company Brad, it took a while to get there, but we are setting a good average when we do manage a fish, and it does not seem to matter who's boat, yours or mine.

Take care mate

I agree Pete. Jewies are firing at the mo eh. Great stuff boys and keep the pics coming.

rich

Congradulation boys on a top day ..... I told ya poo, you the man for photos !!!!
    Cheers for the post .....

What a great report and fantastic Jewie. Well done on landing him on the light gear, sounds like fun. I gotta get me one of them soon. Should feed you for a while. Do Jew fillets freeze and thaw OK ? Or do you have a big mob and eat it all fresh ?

Seems I should also get some Ausfish stickers for my boat before I go to the pin, which hopefully wont be too far off, if the weather gods will smile. Im planning at least an overnighter if not 2 nights, solo and sleeping curled up in my boat or camping somewhere.

Funny story with a good reward boys. You sound like the same fishermen as me with all rods geared up for snapper and none tiny enough for the brimbos so i finally got a fine tiny set up cause i am down the pin next sat. to chase those touchy little critters (not like our hungry reds) even though i spent 6 hours sat. night on the smaller veriety of snapper i still enjoy the hits. Cheers and good catch.

Quote Originally Posted by Lancair View Post
    What a great report and fantastic Jewie. Well done on landing him on the light gear, sounds like fun. I gotta get me one of them soon. Should feed you for a while. Do Jew fillets freeze and thaw OK ? Or do you have a big mob and eat it all fresh ?

Seems I should also get some Ausfish stickers for my boat before I go to the pin, which hopefully wont be too far off, if the weather gods will smile. Im planning at least an overnighter if not 2 nights, solo and sleeping curled up in my boat or camping somewhere.

Make sure you have plenty of insect repellent.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark-P View Post
    Congradulation boys on a top day ..... I told ya poo, you the man for photos !!!!
    Cheers for the post .....

Thanks Mark. Sooooooo. Anyone plan on heading out to catch a PB and want an on the water cameraman to capture the moment? Very affordable rates. Just PM me.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Hey Brian

Meant to ask - did you measure and weigh?

Brad
    What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Quote Originally Posted by For Steve View Post
    Hey Brian

Meant to ask - did you measure and weigh?

Brad
    Hi Brad,

When I got around to filleting, the fish came out of the 60litre esky in the same position it had spent the last 5 hours, almost a circle. So I tried to flatten out and put a tape measure over it. Almost a perfect 1 meter fish. 99.5cm + or _ a scale or two.

I didn't weigh it, after posing for Poodroos, yours, and the my daughters' happy snaps, I had forgotten to weigh it, and besides, a certain individual in the house was becoming obsessive about her weight, so the only scales in the house are "broken" and put away if you know what I mean. What would you guess it to be as you lifted the net in? 15KG? 20KG? Somewhere there, it was a great catch.

Had my slab of Jewy fillet for dinner tonight with the kids and I have to say that it is right up there on the taste metre. Fantastic table fish. Thanks Scalem for sharing. The kids loved it and wanted seconds but there was no more to give. May have to venture back into the Pin soon with the "Blue Vein Cheese placcy" and catch my own.

P.S. Brad what brand of dishwashing liquid do you use? That is probably the cleanest frypan I have ever seen.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Thats a nice fish in such a light leader. The fishing Gods must have been smiling on you. Those Jew are almost out numbering the Snapps this year

Lovely work guys, great going!!

Mickstar

Hi Brian,

This one slipped right past me.

Good fish on light gear mate. Not too much swell on the water either..

I have attached a copy of Flick Flack's catch the other day at 10Kg for comparison.

Frank OO

Quote Originally Posted by Frank OO View Post
    Hi Brian,

This one slipped right past me.

Good fish on light gear mate. Not too much swell on the water either..

I have attached a copy of Flick Flack's catch the other day at 10Kg for comparison.

Frank OO
    Hi Frank,

Pigeon pair maybe? What did flickflack's measure? I guess mine was not 15KG then, it was a rough guess. Doesn't matter, my new prop pushes me to 54.9K WOT on the maiden voyage, the weather was fantastic, the deckie has earnt the right to passenger my boat whenever he wants, and I used a cup full of fuel to get my fish. It just doesn't get any better.

good report, good fish, great pics
    figjam :wink: