-
castneting mullet
g'day boys and girls, I am after some tips on where to locate live mullet in the logan to cast net. Do they sit at feeder creek mouths or do you look for swirling water etc ? any assistance will be helpful.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
Re: castneting mullet
i am not too sure on stuff like that but when i go down to a local creek i throw in a bit of bread on the surface and if there, they will start hitting the bread. or if i can see a shark chasing them out of the water thats a good sign .
regards,
keechie
Breaming is my LIFE!!!
-
not sure about your area, i usually get alot of mullet in shallow water , about 1 metre past your vision in the water from the shore.
-
Ausfish New Member
hey mamu mate your best option for locating some nice live mullet in the logan would be to have a look at the two creek runoffs near the cable ski park at carbrook there is one creek which is directly across from the carbrook boat ramp and another on your right hand side from the carbrook boat ramp just on the bend of the river also try the shallow banks along the right hand side of pits rocks where the little hut is on the water there s just a few if you have a good sounder have a look at the drop offs at the junction between the albert and logan rivers you can sometimes pick up some good live herring which are just as good as your live mullet , they tend to sit right on the deep drop off and they can be there in really good numbers sometimes , sometimes it may only take you 1 throw to gather your bait for your trip
-
i had have got some 15cm+ mullet for fillets and some small for livies from castnetting around the permanent house /pontoon thing here \/\/\/\/\/\/
Last edited by mookyandlumpy; 14-06-2008 at 12:59 PM.
Reason: spelling lol
-
Thanks heaps for the advice so far, Its been a real help, especialy the google earth one. Thats tops. I was going to put in at Cabbage tree point intending on hunting the almighty jew tomorow at marks rocks ,prob a waste of time but a bad days fishing is better than a great days work.Any spots further up towards Cabbage? Thanks again.
-
i do alright at these spots \/\/\/
-
if you want more advise on where to fish around these areas? pm me, i would be glad to help
-
Ausfish Addict
In mookyandlumpys' google map you see the "split in Island" mark. Looking north, where it becomes one waterway oncemore, you can see "drains" where water empties from the mangroves, which almost look like small creeks one or two hours after the full tide. I have always looked for greasy prawns around these shallow drains, and noted just how many small mullet hang around them. Bit of a pest when trying for Prawns, and your net comes up loaded with little mullet, but a handy spot to try if you are on your way to Marks rocks from Cabbage tree.
-
Ausfish Gold Member
i net them in my local creek.
i scoot round looking for a bit of surface action and usually get a fair few
BreamBuster33
-
Ausfish Gold Member