Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst 123456

Thread: Downsizing, i know im not the only one!

Cool Re: Downsizing, i know im not the only one!

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    F#%$ing Classic!!!! Id just like to state that I didnt head out in the 30kt 3,4 metre conditions more like 20kts 2 metres, it just whipped up to that in a hurry and very unexpectedly!!! Im not that phsyco. Happy days
    Hey deano dont worry mate i ll go in your little cat anyday even if i own a 6.5m ally centre console. i dont know about the new boats but most old ally and glass boat woildnt come close to any cat s ride. and dont worry if these big flash boats go flying past because as you know some of the best spots are closer than the banks or nth end. good fisherman catch fish not flash boats and mate they all knocked steve irwin for being fanaticial.

so cats rule !!!

and ally craft centre consoles. yee ha yee ha

Re: Downsizing, i know im not the only one!

Quote Originally Posted by supa29 View Post
    Hey deano dont worry mate i ll go in your little cat anyday even if i own a 6.5m ally centre console. i dont know about the new boats but most old ally and glass boat woildnt come close to any cat s ride. and dont worry if these big flash boats go flying past because as you know some of the best spots are closer than the banks or nth end. good fisherman catch fish not flash boats and mate they all knocked steve irwin for being fanaticial.

so cats rule !!!

and ally craft centre consoles. yee ha yee ha
    Hey well said Kel!! And there was not even a word about FLATHEAD Im heading offshore again tommorow (2nd friday in a row) does this mean I still apply for the weekend warrior? You have to come out soon buddy

And I meant to say im heading out in lippa's macklay, so ill see what a late model allys made of A good run to the banks will be enough to find out Yes mate ive got that berley

I had an interesting day Tuesday.
    I went out on a mates catamaran.
    This is a prety decent sized sail cat.... cant remember the length but it weighs about 6.5 tonne.
    The saloon upstairs a tall man can stand wearing a hat, she sleeps 6, has a toilet and a shower.
    This is something about the size of a smal, house.

now we motored it out of the creek at idle, when we were in clear water he opened her up a bit and easily made 5 to 6 knots ( By the gps ).
    If he opens her up she will do 7 knots " if the bum is clean & no headwind".

Undersail she will do 6 to 8 knots with little or no effort and very comfortably.
    He has had her up to over 15 knots........ aparantly that is a "bit exciting".

Now here's the thing.
    he has two ten horespower motors.
    6.5 tonnes at 7 knots by 20 HP

So there has to be something in this hull efficiency thing.

I'm now wondering how a 14 to 16 foot sail cat hull arrangement that weighed arround 1000KG would go with a pair of 15's up the tail.

food for thaught.

Old boot

What yout talking about is hull speed and every boat is subject to it! It's the reason that oiltankers do 30 knts but dont plane!! Cats have a advantage as you combine the hull lengths in the equation. Once the boat/ship is planing this equation is not applicable

Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    And I meant to say im heading out in lippa's macklay, so ill see what a late model allys made of A good run to the banks will be enough to find out Yes mate ive got that berley

youll be right dean, dont forget ya kidney belt for all those harsh bangs!!!!

Same here !

The price of fuel has doubled over the last six months and just filling up to go fishing is getting painful. When I first bought my new boat, gas was $1.85 per gallon, now its $4.05 a gallon and still going up. A fill up has gone from $112 to $230, not to mention that my boat only gets 4 miles per gallon.

I've been trying to sell my boat, but with the way things are I'm not having any luck. I'd like to go down from the 20 foot boat I have now to maybe a 17 footer just for the fuel savings. With our economy going under the market for selling boats is horrible. I've cut back from 4 fishing trips per month down to 2 per month and will probably cut back more since gas is projected to hit $5.00 a gallon by the end of July.

Noelm .. Very good question. I am doing it at the moment on alternate motor choices I have to make between Etec 75 and Suzuki 80 and Yamaha 80 where I am considering purchase price plus service costs and running costs. You obviously need to make some assumptions about hours per year and you can only guess some issues but no...you dont see any discussion about total cost of ownership.
    It can all be estimated OK on motors I reckon except resale value..? I mean who can sensibly say that a Suzuki or an Etec will have depreciated more at 5 years..? let alone hulls and trailers.

I'm a weekend warrior.
    don't have the luxury of fishing whenever I like. what Sh!ts me is people looking down their noses at others who can only get out on weekends or every odd weekend day.
    you're not hardcore cos you fish more than me - you're just lucky that your lifestyle allows you to.
    as to how good your boat is to mine,well my boat takes me where I want to go therefore is the perfect boat. my next boat will also be perfect for me, as will the next.
    yep its old, yep the outboard is not an etec, verado whatever, yep its not worth $50k. I respect and and drool over bigger, expensive boats but the reality is I simply don't need one.
    but I own mine outright and I can afford to run it and I don't care about fuel prices - I only care about enjoying the little spare time I have doing what I love.

I have just read some of this. Its funny because we all have our own individual ideas of the right boat. Some blokes would think I was mad to spend so much time at the Pin (I get out also, but the Pin is fishing well lately) in my Vagabond. She is old and I got her at a good price and have spent a lot of time and some dough tarting her up. One of the main things I like about her over my old V16C Haines is that even at the pin its small enough to get most places and big enough to have heaps of room for a couple of boofs fishing, all the extra food and gear that they want (dont need!) and plenty of room for a nice overnight kip. When the northern bay roughs up, she is safe, but I dont much like being out in the northern bay over 15 knots anyway...so I generally pick my days. I know full well that the Vag can handle much worse conditions, but I simply dont want to catch fish THAT much to go out in it. Its nice to know that if it does blow suddenly its ok though.

I think all boats are a compromise of sorts. Whilst I have the extra room and comfort for even pin fishing compared to the bloke with the smaller alloy boat (pretty common down there) I pay for it with towing and fuel costs for the boat. Personally I can live with that because I dont go out all the time. If I was so addicted and my life allowed me to go out all the time, I would probably have a lighter tin boat and a 4 stroke or modern 2 stroke and pick my days and charge around burning less fuel.

The point I try to make with the catmaran example is that the vast majority of fishing is from from plaining hulls with relatively large motors & this is very fuel hungry.

Now here's the big rub with plaining hulls, if you want to travel slower, it costs you more, where as with a fast displacement hull the slower you go the less it costs.

considering a variety of other options lake fast displacement hulls, traveling slower, sail, smaller boats, camping or anchouring up to spend more time at the location for the same amount of fuel......... there are a variety of ways to reduce the cost of boating.

Buying a cheaper ou used boat is certainly a reasonable option.
    so you baught a $40K boat instead of a $50K boat.... thats a lot of fuel.
    more likely for most of us it will be a $3000 boat in staed of a $5000 boat..... that still buys you a lot of fuel.

Quote Originally Posted by Stumpy-USA View Post
    Same here !

The price of fuel has doubled over the last six months and just filling up to go fishing is getting painful. When I first bought my new boat, gas was $1.85 per gallon, now its $4.05 a gallon and still going up. A fill up has gone from $112 to $230, not to mention that my boat only gets 4 miles per gallon.

I've been trying to sell my boat, but with the way things are I'm not having any luck. I'd like to go down from the 20 foot boat I have now to maybe a 17 footer just for the fuel savings. With our economy going under the market for selling boats is horrible. I've cut back from 4 fishing trips per month down to 2 per month and will probably cut back more since gas is projected to hit $5.00 a gallon by the end of July.
    Hey stumpy i have been watching your bass comps over there would love to come to the states and give it a go looks like it is great organisation and a lot of fun. with the boats over there, i have seen some very cheap boats and motors what is it like to ship them back to oz would be interested in some motors.
    PM me any responses would like to pick your brains on this subject thanks supa.

Quote Originally Posted by mik01 View Post
    I'm a weekend warrior.
    don't have the luxury of fishing whenever I like. what Sh!ts me is people looking down their noses at others who can only get out on weekends or every odd weekend day.
    you're not hardcore cos you fish more than me - you're just lucky that your lifestyle allows you to.
    as to how good your boat is to mine,well my boat takes me where I want to go therefore is the perfect boat. my next boat will also be perfect for me, as will the next.
    yep its old, yep the outboard is not an etec, verado whatever, yep its not worth $50k. I respect and and drool over bigger, expensive boats but the reality is I simply don't need one.
    but I own mine outright and I can afford to run it and I don't care about fuel prices - I only care about enjoying the little spare time I have doing what I love.

well said mate it sounds like you got a boat like mine, she aint pretty but it doesnt matter about blood and guts it still gets you to the reef and catches fish,
    the boat is only a part of the fishing package and as i always say
    A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work or mowing.

So after finally waving goodbye to the Kc 2400 , all of a sudden the fuel goes up 15 cents a litre......

I have managed to replace her after alot of testing and to and froing, studying books on plateys , i ended up buying a Barcrusher 560 c-c from my mate Matt at John Crawford Marine, after years and years of chewing his ear everytime i am in Brisbane or at the Sanctuary Cove boat show , it finally paid off.

Took her for a spin a couple of days ago , and i have to say, she is one of the best platies i have been in! It seem to "slide" through the water with great stability, and turn on a dime. While at rest , it settled right into the water and me{120 kgs}could climb all over it without it ever seeming to move. The 115 yammy on the back seems to compliment it to a tee, with great fuel burn figures quoted, but yet to be confirmed.
    Cannot wait for rougher weather to really put it through its paces.Although i know the cats ride will not be beaten(or come close to it) by a platey, i will not miss the fuel bill , maintenance bills, cleanup time, upkeep, etc that comes with a expensive boat.

will report back when i do more research on fuel burn, ride ect.

INSIDEOUT

mate u wont be dissapointed great boat and like i said for a 160km round trip to dt in back we use roughly 75 80l depending. it wont be a cat but handle well for its sze should organise a trip out one time. be good seeing them side by side..
    560c Bar Crusher "Overtime"