Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast

Thread: Downsizing, i know im not the only one!

Re: Downsizing, i know im not the only one!

Quote Originally Posted by insideout View Post
    gday dean , i got to admit i havnt even given the 5.2 a thought, could you tell me a bit about them ie fuel economy, handling ect. i have been looking at the sailfish 5.5 though.
    G'day insideout, sorry mate just sortin out the platie boys Mate the 5.2's are a kickarse boat. A little boat with a big heart. Ive been out in some ugly conditions (3 metres 30 kts) and always felt safe. With the 60 high thrust yammies which im upgrading to, fuel economy is roughly 22 litres/hour for both motors, or 1.6klms/litre. Have a read of this if it works ill see if I can find it. I hear the sailfish 5.5's are a good boat I cant comment, id say go for a run in both and go from there. I'll see if I can find this.

Quote Originally Posted by Greg P View Post
    I could go on but I dont really give a f!rk

What I do know is that you spend a lot of time hear bagging other boats and trying to justify your decision to buy a 20y/o boat and now you gotta repower it cause it chews too much juice.

Whatever works for ya mate !

Sounds like you got the best boat in a crappy neighborhood
    Hey Greg all in good fun mate. You guys stir me up as much as I stir you blokes up! It would be boring without it wouldnt it? I know platies have come a long way and no doubt yours and other fishers have there place, im just a cat man and wont change in a hurry. Oh yeah my boat is 11 years old too All good Greg, no hard feelings, cheers.

Geez Dean you would be the ideal saleman for a K.C 5.2. I think you need to get out more in other boats to see where your boat stands. 3 metre seas & 30 kt winds????? come on get real fella. The number of guys who beleive there been out in 3 metre seas and 30knt winds just amazes me. It always seems to come from the guys who have small boats as well.

I can honestly say we got caught in an overnighter off the cape in a coastal cat in a NE wind that reached 32kts at 2am in the morning going by the wind reading next morning and it scared that crap out of us.

Insideout, I would lean to a plate boat, easy to tow, east to handle at the ramps and the next best thing regards to fishing space after a cat. You may have to cruise slower but it will be a hell of alot cheaper to run in all aspects.

John.

Quote Originally Posted by skipper07 View Post
    Geez Dean you would be the ideal saleman for a K.C 5.2. I think you need to get out more in other boats to see where your boat stands. 3 metre seas & 30 kt winds????? come on get real fella. The number of guys who beleive there been out in 3 metre seas and 30knt winds just amazes me. It always seems to come from the guys who have small boats as well.

I can honestly say we got caught in an overnighter off the cape in a coastal cat in a NE wind that reached 32kts at 2am in the morning going by the wind reading next morning and it scared that crap out of us.

Insideout, I would lean to a plate boat, easy to tow, east to handle at the ramps and the next best thing regards to fishing space after a cat. You may have to cruise slower but it will be a hell of alot cheaper to run in all aspects.

John.
    John, get real hey? I'll try to bite my tongue here. Yes 3 MTERES 30 KNOTS THAT IS CORRECT. Actually there was the odd 4 metre job coming through occasionally as well. Ive been offshore fishing for 18 years now and I know what the height of a wave is and wind speed. Last time I was out in those conditions was out the barwon banks. I headed out in 15-20 2 metres. Dont ask my why but I did ( I had withdrawals and just wanted to get out there for a fish and this very achievable in a cat). Well as the arvo proggesed the wind came to a solid 30 kts, 3 metres. I have to admit I was a little scared but didnt feel threatened. It was a scary ride home but the boys in my boat all commented on how well this boat rode in a following sea. The scary bit was when the biggins ( 4 metres) were standing up coming across in front of us, having to back off to let them through. Kevlacats are better in following seas than coastalats fact. Mate I had a 18ft sharkcat 5 years ago and rode out GALE FORCED conditions out the banks. Coastgaurd reassured me of this it came up to 38 kts and we anchored it out for the night coz I wasnt keen on heading in in those conditions as id just bought that boat. Do me a favour and dont try to tell me what wave heights and wind etc. are when they arent, ask my mates they reckon im crazy the conditions i head out in. I dont have to sound macho i just tell it how it is. Keep it 'REAL' 'FELLA' Dean.

Quote Originally Posted by Dean1 View Post
    John, get real hey? I'll try to bite my tongue here. Yes 3 MTERES 30 KNOTS THAT IS CORRECT. Actually there was the odd 4 metre job coming through occasionally as well. Ive been offshore fishing for 18 years now and I know what the height of a wave is and wind speed. Last time I was out in those conditions was out the barwon banks. I headed out in 15-20 2 metres. Dont ask my why but I did ( I had withdrawals and just wanted to get out there for a fish and this very achievable in a cat). Well as the arvo proggesed the wind came to a solid 30 kts, 3 metres. I have to admit I was a little scared but didnt feel threatened. It was a scary ride home but the boys in my boat all commented on how well this boat rode in a following sea. The scary bit was when the biggins ( 4 metres) were standing up coming across in front of us, having to back off to let them through. Kevlacats are better in following seas than coastalats fact. Mate I had a 18ft sharkcat 5 years ago and rode out GALE FORCED conditions out the banks. Coastgaurd reassured me of this it came up to 38 kts and we anchored it out for the night coz I wasnt keen on heading in in those conditions as id just bought that boat. Do me a favour and dont try to tell me what wave heights and wind etc. are when they arent, ask my mates they reckon im crazy the conditions i head out in. I dont have to sound macho i just tell it how it is. Keep it 'REAL' 'FELLA' Dean.

I wonder if this is just about someone trying to justify to the CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER the cost of operating a thirsty floating rock

If she read the article referred to by fnq she would be waving a big stick by now.

Perhaps if we all sent someone a PM saying that his boat was the worlds best
    And that he was the worlds best skipper we could get back to TOPIC

seabug

Quote Originally Posted by seabug View Post
    I wonder if this is just about someone trying to justify to the CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER the cost of operating a thirsty floating rock

If she read the article referred to by fnq she would be waving a big stick by now.

Perhaps if we all sent someone a PM saying that his boat was the worlds best
    And that he was the worlds best skipper we could get back to TOPIC

seabug
    I gave insideout an option, an idea. He responded by asking me a bit about this idea. I told him how it is, what ive discovered. Im a bit tired of people on here doubting statements. I dont lie and am known as a very honest person. Ive never said my boat is the worlds best by any means. I know how platies and cats compare. Yes my boat is thirsty, i know of a #%@*load more on here thirsty than mine. Im in the process of upgrading to 4 strokes. Insideout has come out a 2400 KC, im sure he'd still like a nice ride. At the end of the day he will pick what suits him. We are all entitled to give our opinions. I think maybe we should just keep our opinions to ourselves. Not what this site is meant to be. Im very happy with my boat i know that much. No wonder people give up with this site, theres always the knockers. Good luck Insideout, pm me if i can help in any way. Thanks, Dean.

You are the typical weekend warrior Dean. I can't see how you expect people to take you seriously. How many trips have you done and come back here saying you've had boat problems, either outboards, water coming in, canopy falling apart on the trip up. you can't even get the weather right little alone keep your boat up to scratch.

Being out in those "so called condtions" is not a reflection on your boats handing ability just a reflection on how poor of skipper your are, even after 18 years

yes your little 5.2 K.C is a good boat for an 18 footer and that's about it. If you want to compete with the bigger boys then buy a bigger boat, I'm sure you could buy a very nice late model boat for your $65k.

John.

You are the typical weekend warrior Dean. I can't see how you expect people to take you seriously. How many trips have you done and come back here saying you've had boat problems, either outboards, water coming in, canopy falling apart on the trip up. you can't even get the weather right little alone keep your boat up to scratch.

Being out in those "so called condtions" is not a reflection on your boats handing ability just a reflection on how poor of skipper your are, even after 18 years

yes your little 5.2 K.C is a good boat for an 18 footer and that's about it. If you want to compete with the bigger boys then buy a bigger boat, I'm sure you could buy a very nice late model boat for your $65k.

John.
    Ha ha ha ha. John, im sure many of us on here have problems with their trips. Even brand new boats still have dramas. Ok, one of my motors blew a stator 2nd last trip.. How was I to know that was going to happen, am I supposed to be phsycic?? At least i had twin motors so I still got home safely. Water came in coz one of my overweight mates stood on the plastic spinout causing it to crack and allow water in. I replaced them with alloy which they should have been in the 1st place. My canopy is the original one, i cant xray the stitching to see if it was going to rip, even lippa my mates brand new maclay had the same incident. Im very good with maintenance thank you very much. Once again get the weather right EVEN THE WEATHER MAN CANT GET THAT RIGHT!!!! Get your hand off it tiger. And the big boys??? Are you for real?? 6.5m platties big boys What ya on bro?? New 5.2kc's !00k brand new , my hull is in near new condition and the new four strokes im getting fitted are in the total 65k figure i mentioned. I wouldnt trade mine for a platey worth that figure for keeps, it wouldnt even have twin motors on it. Geez.....

John.
    love to go fishing with you, john my friend.
    you can always get the weather right, and your offshore vessel has never had a drama at all.

the overweight person that stood on deans spinout to cause a bulk head to fill, was me. and as stated by dean there are now ally ones there to prevent that happenin again.

dean does fly the 5.2kc flag a little high. he loves his boat, and lets face it, whats wrong with that????????????

youve come out a little strong, john. by calling dean a weekend warrior mate,
    i know plenty of people that have had drama with new boats, let alone 2nd hand ones mate. dean is doing the right thing, and making improvements on his vessel all the time, if deans a weekend warrior then so are 95% of boaties, mate.

the facts remain though, the 5.2kc is a fu#$ing awesome boat.
    insideout asked for sugestions and opions, and dean gave his.

no one asked you to get on here and belittle a decent man.
    keyboard hero, is one name coming to mind that would suit you, john.

inside out,

check ou the range of mclays at mr t's tinnies. awesome boats and great value

John.
    Skipper,

Do you not get it? The point of the thread is downsizing to save costs yet still be functional in our current roles.

65k will not buy you much late model (by definition that means less than five years old) any bigger than 20 foot these days. Look at the two Noble's above. Who would pay that for them secondhand?

The 5.2 presents as excellent value when comparing to a "late model" 6.0m Seafarer or the like.

Take a chill pill guys, and settle.

boy am i glad ive only had little boats
    but hey it made for a good thread .
    but at the end of the day we all like what we like & will defend our opinion on our chosen craft . me I am an Ally Craft fan , dont know why dont really care why .
    I have looked at most other boats in the size that I am up grading to but still went back to the same boat company even though my second boat had a few issues . the issues were sorted out & every thing was fine .
    so I am a happy little camper .
    Dean I have never been in a cat of any kind fishing but who knows in the futre I might even buy a cat . sorry Ive got two but at least I get to stroke a pusst every night ha ha .
    every fisherman loves their boat or they would not have that boat .
    cheers haggis .................. a weekend warrior as i work all week .

Popcorn, Hotdogs, Cold beer, Pizza!! geees this has gone downhill over the weekend huh!

Geez guys you need to harden up alittle. I think most people on this site are alittle tired of Dean beating his chest about his boat, an carring on that his boat rides better then fishers and so on. mate that's great your hard up about your boat but don't keep going on to other people saying how well it our performs others. People often get alittle offended.

As for the getting the weather right....yes point taken, but I can bet when you go out in the below average conmditions that the carpark wouldn't have to many double bogey trailers and when you can hear the wind whistling through the lines it's usually a good indication that you've got it wrong.

John.

Skipper

How about you beat your chest a little bit mate! What sort of boat did you end up buying? The 680 CC or a platie? I would like to hear abit of your history aswell as it's always nice to no the history of one so critical of other members who actually get out and have fish even if the conditions are less than ideal! I mean any weekend warrior can head wide and scrounge a feed in 5-10 variable but it's abit much for those people to critisize guys that head wide in 15-20 ( and plenty do on this site) because they would rather get knocked around abit than sit at home wingeing about the weather!!!

So what's ya history John? I would hate to wrongfully accuse you of being one of the weekend warriors!

Ps post like this do make me wonder though?

Geez you guys are keen. There should be an honest 1.5 - 2m e/se Swell rolling through with a good 1m of slop left over with at least 12 -15 knots of SE on top. These will probably be conditions once your 5k's out of the harbour. Low tide at 1am Friday morning and no moon. Conditions are only going to get worst the further offshore you go and as the weekend comes on conditions will go from crap to shit. I'd be leaving with alittle light in the sky so you can at least drive the throttle the whole way out. All the best.

John.

Ps.
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!