Thread: cal 12 mile and beyond

cal 12 mile and beyond

Myself and craig (W2F) ventured out to the 12mile yesterday (friday) left Mooloolaba at around 4:15 and in perfect conditions we were at our mark before 5. We had high expectations of a hot pre dawn bite but nothing. Once the sun started to light the eastern sky things started to happen with a few fish starting to come over the side. While pulling in my floater just as i saw the bait coming up I watched this nice spotty 6-7kg smash my pilly and head for mooloolaba. After a short battle he was on the end of my gaffe and into the esky. Things were starting to happen so I took the opportunity to throw out a chook on a light rod and bagged a couple of decent squire. We then decided to leave the fish bitting and take advantage of the conditions and head out to a mark that I had for cal wide another 9nm east with high hopes of getting a big knob and some pearlies. When we arrived at the spot we found a few fish on the sounder in 70m this is going to be great I was thinking pearlies for dinner how wrong was I. All we managed were 4 of the biggest ugliest grinners I have ever seen so after stuffing around for another hour and a half we decided to head back to our first spot we only manged 2 moses then the whole place shut down hardly manageing to get a bite let alone lose a bait.About 1pm we decided to call it ay and head for home. We learnt a valuable lesson today NEVER LEAVE FISH BITING because the grass is never greener on the other side. While we were disappointed with our result the conditions were fantastic the company was great and it was better than being at work. We also saw a whale,a shark and a s#$t load of bloody dolphins. All up it was a great day on the water. CHEERS BRENDAN
    [ATTACH]Attachment 28336[/ATTACH]

Re: cal 12 mile and beyond

awesome stuff mate. looks like great conditions you had there and a good feed to go with it. cheers steve

Hi Brenden, at least you got a feed, I'm not too sure that many reefies were boated yesterday but as you say the conditions were excellent....maybe too good

Bloody nice spottie there mate and a nice mixed bag you got there .....matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

brendan some nice sweeties you got there and nice spotty mak, well done

Cheers guys the conditions were awsome the best I've had so far this year. As you said clee maybe to good. CHEERS BRENDAN

Nice fish Brendan. Gives ya the shites when you leave fish to catch fish hey.

Cheers Scott

nice mack and great feed

Nice Spotty Lido

Yep, pretty brave leaving 'em on the chew. That's brave! Nice to have a few fillets in the fridge though.

Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Sounds like a top day.. Did you do the right thing by the grinners and let them go in peace or with a headache....

Bluedog

Nice Catch. Seems to be that sometimes the shallow reefs do better that the deep water. Have had problems with grinners but not has much as happy moments, cant keep baits on as the happy moments keep picking them off.

Grinner for dinner is not a winner spinner.
    Its got lots of bones and full of muck
    Every time you serve it, the guests will say yuk!
    So here’s a tip that’s just from me,
    Forget about Grinner for lunch or tea!

Steve A