Who saids there are no snapper in the bay?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • bayfisher
    Ausfish Gold Member

• Jul 2002

Who saids there are no snapper in the bay?

It's been a while since i have put up a report but to be honest there hasn't been a whole lot of great fish caught. No matter, persistence is the key they say so this arvo I ran out to mud for a quick flick with john (vic1). It didn't take long and we were on to some action. I only had my light outfits (6lb) with me so it was a bit of a surprise when i got a little inquire that when hooked started to peel some serious amount of line. John quickly started to clear the rest of the lines but i was running out of time so with a bit of craft winding and boat driving I won some line back and after a short tussle netted my new PB snap on the placcies, upping my PB by 6cm to 88cm. We continued on until nightfall and john managed a 40cm keeper amongst the numerous throwbacks. Conditions were ideal out there today and ran all day at WOT. It doesn't really get much better than that.

Cheers Chris

• bayfisher
    Ausfish Gold Member

• Jul 2002

Re: Who saids there are no snapper in the bay?

I might add we tried our best to revive him for a release but after the fight on the light line he was stuffed so he ended up in the esky.

Comment

• SummerTrance
      Ausfish Gold Member

• Mar 2008

WoW! Awsome fish mate, top effort!!!!!!!! Im only still dreaming of landing a fish like that.

Comment

• Pistol_P
        Ausfish Addict

• Jul 2006

Top snapper mate.

Great fish.

Comment

• Leighton

• Dec 2007

Thumper, Hog well done on the new Avator pic

Comment

• bluefin59
            Ausfish Addict

• Aug 2006

congats mate a beautiful fish thats worth the effort and the time put in to get everything right 6 lb is the go it makes it so exciting i have to go out again tomorrow with my little bro so see what happens ,once again great fish he will look great on the bar-b ......matt
            A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

Comment

• jez and suze
              • Sep 2006

gotta be happy with that one!
              hope i get his mate tomorrow

Comment

• For Steve
                Ausfish Gold Member

• Oct 2006

I know that fish...that's Henry. I had arranged to catch him tomorrow on the western side of Mud in 32' of water at 1:15pm. He must have turned up a day early...

Brad
                What would Steve do?

fortes fortuna adjuvat

Comment

• bayfisher
                  Ausfish Gold Member

• Jul 2002

Originally posted by For Steve View Post
                  I know that fish...that's Henry. I had arranged to catch him tomorrow on the western side of Mud in 32' of water at 1:15pm. He must have turned up a day early...

Brad
                  Thats exactly what he told me after i caught him , thats also why i tried to release him, unfortunately he wasn't coming good so he agreed that it was best he go into the esky .
                  Last edited by bayfisher; 05-06-2008, 10:09 PM.

Comment

• Outsider1
                    • Dec 2007

And Henry has arranged for a bit fat Cattie called Bill to meet you tomorrow instead Brad!

Last edited by Outsider1; 05-06-2008, 09:47 PM.

Comment

• T1

• Mar 2006

Originally posted by bayfisher View Post
                      I might add we tried our best to revive him for a release but after the fight on the light line he was stuffed so he ended up in the esky.
                      Yeah! Sure you did !!! Did you give him a kiss first? So that's what i missed out on today huh! Hmmm, oh well, there's always next week then...

Top fish Chris! Very nice indeed!

Take Care T
                      home is where the loan is...
                      Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

Comment

• foggy
                        Ausfish Gold Member
                        • May 2005

Nice one Chris. There's a few more than that one around in the bay at the moment. Just have to know where to look.

Foggy

Comment

• sleepygreg
                          Ausfish Addict

• Mar 2006

bloody nice snapper there. Will go great on the BBQ.

Comment

• Horse
                            Ausfish Addict

• Oct 2002

Well done Mate

I take it you did not blood your Nitro on it.Was it one of your new swimbaits?

Comment

• plaztix

• Jul 2007

Thats a top quality bay snapper mate. and on 6lb

What plastic were you chucking? and what size leader?

Comment

Working...
                              X