whots the go on camping around the pin
can you just pitch a tent anywhere you like
Do a search, there's been plenty of threads relating to camping at the Pin.
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
we camped at the well, managers of the park wernt too friendly. Made me park the chevy and the quintrex 640 on the street.
See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.
G'day!
I've camped at the top end of South Straddie about 50m back from the water's edge. Paid a Ranger for the camping (something quite reasonable) but don't try to avoid paying like one bloke as there is a fine.
Great camping but be careful to pull the tinny well up the beach. The tide rises higher than imagined.
The whole place is thick with bandicoots and ticks. Got my pb 4kg tailor from the ocean side and turned him into a Thai green curry. Bandiocots came in the dark, as we were eating and sat round out feet. Some were in the empty fry pan licking the curry juice and scraps. Dug ticks out of my mate's head as well as his son's.
Watch out in dry weather for the dry litter from the Casaurinas/She Oaks. It burns like wild fire.
Bad news? On returning to Jacobs Well where we'd left the car for 2 nights it had been stolen. $55,000 4wd! Fortunately not mine, and the insurance for once paid out.
Lots of hoons around the Jacobs Well campsite of a weekend. Beware.
Regards, Rob.
Ballina
yer rob, we found that out.
the old bag at the cvan park would let me park the 640 in the park, so we asked the guy in the brick house, over from the entrance if we could park the chevy & 640 in his vacant block next door. Hell of a nice bloke he was also.
Me mate decided to sleep on the boat, sure enough, around 2.00pm, the juvies climed up and tried to ransack the boat. Lloyd told then to f...... off.
JUst camped at the park, very noisy from the pub and the managers use to work for hitler in a gastapho camp I think codes in and out and expire on the dot 10.00am everything was an effort for them. Great spot with views of the water etc. But for us probably not again. On the island will be my choice next time. cheers Kevin
As well as having a look at Crusoe Island you might also check out the little island at the eastern end of Tiger Mullet. There is a large tent there (and has been for a while) but still sufficient room for others.
The water police went all over that spot last Thursday or Friday (I forget which day) after a helicopter did a creeping line ahead search over a couple of little islands the day before.
The mangroves on either side of the small creek were also well searched.
I doubt whether you will find any evidence of cash cropping from pot plants suspended in the mangroves after that search in the area but, who knows, you might get lucky.
amte you can also camp just down from the tip of short island as well oposite the pig sties...have a good luck on nuggets map for idea or go for i cruise one weekend and see where everyone is is doing before your trip...at the pin if it looks like no ones been there before do stay there...nothing much left untouched there anymore....