westpoint maggie island

Thread: westpoint maggie island

Ausfish Platinum Member ronnien's Avatar

Thumbs up westpoint maggie island

hi all, headed out from pallaranda 11am today & with mate ivan shot over to westpoint i have got a big mark wide of it . when we got there slowed the boat down lures over & started to troll 1pm came around & still nothing i'll put that down to no run in the tide. we decided to pull up on it & have a fish soaking some pillies for a couple of hours caught some good sized sharks than when the tide turned & started to run in things changed, ivan hooked up this was a good fish & after a 5min fight had a 11kg cod boat side, my turn next that did'nt stop for about a hour & 22 doggies later & not 1 that i could keep little shits came in just under size. a few sharks more 1 cattie about 6kg, 1 ray & 1 small trev, time was getting away on us so with 1 last troll about 5pm saw the tld 20 screamig with about 100mtrs of line gone in under 10secs nothing? no hook up. it was a good calm day.............. feel sorry for the guys that had to work today............. NOT!
    done this today while off work sick

ron.

reels screamin aboard Hyper- Active

Re: westpoint maggie island

Nice cod there Ronnie. You're not wrong about the weather today. I spent the day down in Bowen and just about drooled when I saw how calm it was.

couldn't beleave we were the only boat out there for most of the day, sat on 26knts over there & 26knts back it was that calm!

ron.

Mate.

I've been hanging out for your report. Took the 10 y/o out to West Pt just on dusk yesterday with similar conditions. Managed a 55cm doggie and missed another good hit in probably less than an hour on the water as I had to get him back to prep for school.

He was on the bait jigging rod and boated a couple of little trevally and a fusilier that was promptly dispensed back with a hook pinned to its back but, he's ready for the bigger gear now so I guess its time to kiss goodbye to one of my outfits.

For a couple of weeks now I've caught a few doggies all around the same size. Hopefully a larger size school will move in soon.

Mudge and I are gonna hit it again early Wed morn and see what happens.

Ta for the report. If ya don't mind me asking what do you troll? Lures, chin guards, skirted rigs? In my quest for a spaniard this year I tend to troll first thing with a either a gar on chin guard or skirted rig and a lure on the other line. It sounds like you had one el spaniardo briefly attached there at the end...

Mozza
    Last edited by Mozza; 02-06-2008 at 10:02 PM.

Gees youve got it hard up there. Great weather, big fish and glass out days. Im sick of the wind and rain down here, i might have to come upto townsville for the next couple of days.

Whytey
    If you wish to learn more about reading and getting the most from your Lowrance units or learning more about fishing with artificial baits I will come out in the comfort of your own boat for one on one coaching. Please call for more information.

mozza, over years trolling off westpoint, bay& burdken rock i have found that late in the arvo's is best with alot of run & down deep early in winter. i troll big halco in the red body with black strips, as it gets colder will also put in a big gar on a chin guard, the mass schools of greenback herring were everywhere . 1 up & 1 down until i get a solid hit than change to where the depth of the fish r hanging, good luck when u head out mate & i think it was a big mack that hit.

whytey, the weather has only come good dont think it will last much longer mate, hoping for it to stay good until after the long weekend.

ron.

Thanks heaps Ron.

We'll have to tee up a Pallarenda depature together one day.

Mozza

mozza, for sure mate cause i usally fish by myself as my mate always works the weekend, & a hand at that beach would be great!

ron.

Nice cod ron. Did you get that cod on that mark you gave me?

Thinking of heading out either friday arvo into the night or sometime saturday if the wind doesn't kick up any earlier than predicted.

scott, i give u a few marks but where we were is a mark that was in the paper that eddie was giving out, u know the ones with the maps . i have never seen the sounder light up as much like big round bait balls & BIG archs around them & very good structre on the bottom, we were in 9-10mtrs & THE STRUCTRE ON THE BOTTOM! good luck when u get out there.

ron.

I didn't do any good at all from West Point on Sunday. And I have some pretty good marks there too. Proper report on my website.

I don't get the paper and missed the marks Eddie gave out. Anywhere I can still get them? What date did they come out and I might try chase up an old copy of the paper from work?

Mal

dont know mal it was this year, so how come u r at westpoint & not over the palms or the reef in that big boat?

ron.

Ron. I like to take the family out on the water (main reason I was alowed to get the big boat). And I have a 1yo and a 3yo. So going too far is difficult. Mum does not like me waking them up a 4am to get going early. Last time I did a big trip, we left the afternoon before and slept on the boat at maggie. Then left from there first thing. Worked really well and kids loved it. We will do it again next good break in the weather.

The other problem is cost of fuel. If we fish as a family the entire cost is on us! Compared to splitting with a couple of other fishers.

This is why I am after some good marks withing about the 15-20nm range.

Mal

Mal, I've still got the page from the paper at home, I will pm you the marks from it if you like.

Hey guys,

Report on this morning's outing to West Pt. to follow. Check for a new thread from Curmudgeon this arvo sometime after I've emailed him the picks.

If ya can make it this arvo or early tomorrow am or late pm, I'd recommend you make the effort 'cos we had a ball for a couple of hours on the run-in. Don't wanna ruin the post but here's a 'heads up' for you all. Once we found the doggies, they hit fresh herring and slugs.

Ron, there were plenty of Aussie bonito in amongst them so if you're after some trolliing bait.... Bait jigs were no good, they were getting trashed as soon as they hit the bottom so no livies...

Mozza