Thread: Discount fuel for QLD..

Discount fuel for QLD..

Have a go at this for all you qlders,NSW already subsidises your fuel and now are trying to stop anyone else using it.
    Imagine how much this would cost to set up with everyone having to get a new licence

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2...section=justin

Re: Discount fuel for QLD..

According to a VERY Senior guy at Qld T'sport, it's a matter of 30 seconds to get your licence electronically issued with a bar code. From there all ok.
    Don.
    "Magpie Navy." VHF 73.

It was a Woman who drove me to Drink......
    ....and I never gave her money for the Petrol......

meh, petrol stations will put up prices gradually by 10-12c a litre... you get your 8c back, they still make an extra 4c per litre (or whatever figure they decide to put it up by).

NSW already subsidises your fuel
    Huh???? I beg to differ.

http://www.racq.com.au/images/docume...el_subsidy.pdf

The only thing NSW is responsible for is wrecking our roads.

Lots of people naturally want to move to Queensland because it is better than NSW.

When they do, they fail to change the rego over because the poor, slow witted NSW ex-pats still think they will avoid losing points on their license this way, then drive all over the roads and pay to keep roads in NSW well maintained.

Then, having driven the price of housing up, they move back to Sydney as soon as summer comes around and sit in cafes drinking lattes whinging about not being any good at playing rugby league.
    Last edited by baitwaster; 02-06-2008 at 05:36 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by baitwaster View Post
    Huh???? I beg to differ.

http://www.racq.com.au/images/docume...el_subsidy.pdf

The only thing NSW is responsible for is wrecking our roads.

Lots of people naturally want to move to Queensland because it is better than NSW.

When they do, they fail to change the rego over because the poor, slow witted NSW ex-pats still think they will avoid losing points on their license this way, then drive all over the roads and pay to keep roads in NSW well maintained.

Then, having driven the price of housing up, they move back to Sydney as soon as summer comes around and sit in cafes drinking lattes whinging about not being any good at playing rugby league.
    Love it!! You can tell it's Origin time.
    Joel
    Fishing for the thrill, not for the kill

Quote Originally Posted by akman1 View Post
    Have a go at this for all you qlders,NSW already subsidises your fuel and now are trying to stop anyone else using it.
    Imagine how much this would cost to set up with everyone having to get a new licence

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2...section=justin
    Please explain how NSW subsidises fuel in QLD

Another half arsed, ill conceived idea from a politician.

What of the Interstate truckies who come up here to do a few jobs? How will that impact local transport costs => food costs?

Suddenly tourists don't get cheap fuel? (not much cost wise, but perception is EVERYTHING, and they love the cheap - comparatively - fuel here).

I'll be interested to see whether there will be any compliance costs for Business. - Who pays for the scanner?
    - Who pays to repair it if it breaks?
    - What service turnaround if it breaks?
    - If the code won't read what paperwork is there and who has to do it?
    - If the code won't read does the servo have to pay me the rebate then wait on the Government to pay it back?
    - If the code won't read do I have to fill out paperwork and wait on the Government?

Most people will not do the paperwork. on a 50 litre fill it's 4 bucks? Less a stamp and your time? Nett result? Govt pays less for rebate than before...

Smelling a rat again!
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Heard a few comments on this yesterday on the radio.
    One that stands out was a query about why they are doing it? Tongue in cheek the caller suggested that there were around 2 million license holders, at $50 a pop for a new license that's $100,000,000 into state revenue for no real reason. Yes, bit tongue in cheek as I mentioned and maybe conspiratorial but these days you have to wonder.

For those that do not realise the fuel rebate as such now crosses the boarder into northern NSW as far south as The BP at chinderah.... so when Queenslanders come down to the Tweed for work you still get the discount under the new system you will miss out

Fuel rebate for Qlders, what utter crap!! It seems that some here need a bit of a history lesson.

Back in the dim dark past when Joh was Premier, Queensland had the lowest taxes and charges of any of the states. State government excise on Tobacco and Grog was lower and the Qld State government did not charge State excise on Fuel. Lots of other charges like licenses, rego, fines, Workers comp, CTP etc etc were all lower. In Qld there is a whole of life boat license, you only pay once!

The NSW State Government were meanwhile screwing over their voters by collecting a State Fuel Excise of about 8 cents a litre. The other state mostly followed suit over time. The Service Station industry cried foul so the NSW government agreed to subsidise servos near the Qld border.

Fast forward to the 1990’s and the present Qld state government came into power. The High Court also ruled that the State Governments did not have the power under the constitution to collect Excises. So the States did a deal with the Federal government. The Fed took over collecting the excise and agreed to backhand them to the States. They have to do this in convoluted way, otherwise it would be deemed by the courts that the States were still effectively collecting the excise via agents (The Fed). All smoke and mirrors folks!. Qld gets less excise (back) than other states, the other states do not subsidise Qld fuel prices!!, another political furphy!

Meanwhile the new Qld government started to erode away some of the lower tax regimes. Tobacco excise was first to go up, hard to get public support for subsidising the old wheezers! Then the excise on grog went up, off the back of some drummed up publicity about binge drinking etc (did someone mention Alco Pops!, déjà vu!!).

But they have never been able to up the fuel excise to parity with other states, their polling tells them the voters would kick their ass big time on that one!!. The real joke is that the Feds have continued to crank up excise so we have been getting ripped anyway. The old 8c diff should be something like 15/20c these days.

As to Anna’s latest pork barreling!, she seems to continually paint herself into a corner with these unworkable schemes. Next she will expect us to believe in the tooth fairy! The Fed are no better with their Fuel Watch scheme, what a crock!