Thread: any good spots near royal brisbane and womens hospital?

any good spots near royal brisbane and womens hospital?

Hi Guys

My misses ran into some bad luck recently so ive been making daily visits from the sunny coast to the hospital in brisbane , in the arvo the hospital has 2hr quiet time where they kick everybody out leaving me with 2hrs on my hands, anybody know of any good spots near the hospital that id be able to kill some time in

Re: any good spots near royal brisbane and womens hospital?

Nearest Pub?........don't think there'd be any decent fish in the creeks around there, although I stand to be corrected. I have looked over the creeks when driving past and often wondered what's living in them

have though about the pub, although i would get stuck in the pokies then id be broke in no time , hehe , fishing is the cheaper option also gets my mind away from things

You could try near the mouth of breakfast creek, which should not be too far away. I have not fished there but jf you search this site you should be able to find a report about it.

Yeah should be a fair few bream up breakky creek. Only about 5 minutes away from the hospital.

Any of the creeks and stretches around the river there WILL hold bream, cod, flathead, and even the chance of Threadys, jews, jacks, trevally, squire, all depends on the Time of the year, fresh influence and tides/ time of day/night i guess, but deffenetly worth a shot.

thanks for the headsup guys, might have to suss out a quick session during the week

anybody able to give me directions on how to get there ?
    Last edited by nufin_flash; 31-05-2008 at 08:33 PM. Reason: need directions

Breakfast creek, I'd have to agree.

How to get there? Kingsford smith drive, find your way there and you'll find it easy enough

Just run a search on whereis.

Quote Originally Posted by gaintsquid View Post
    Any of the creeks and stretches around the river there WILL hold bream, cod, flathead, and even the chance of Threadys, jews, jacks, trevally, squire, all depends on the Time of the year, fresh influence and tides/ time of day/night i guess, but deffenetly worth a shot.
    G'day!

You forgot the catfish!

The eastern end of the Inter City Bypass which goes past the hospital brings you out at the mouth of Breakfast Creek but on the wrong side of Kingsford Smith Drive.

Ray De R

Maybe you could pull something out near the hospital to pass the time but I wouldn't be serving it up so I'd head toward where the creek meets the river. With all the tunnel construction, easiest way for a visitor is to head north from the hospital along Lutwyche road about 3 k's, turn right at Albion Rd, take the overpass and turn right at the T intersection into Sandgate Road. Head south past MacDonalds [staying to the left at the Albion 5 ways]. See the bloke at River City Marine, 133 Sandgate Rd Breakfast Creek Brisbane. He's on the left as you head south from MacDonalds Albion - about 400 metres maybe. [The Breakfast Creek Hotel is at the end of the road near where the creek meets up with the Brisbane river]. He's a Stessco dealer and I think into tournaments, he may not fish the area but should be able to give you a heads up. He's only got about 5 boats in his yard and the sign tucked up on the building at his boat yard is "River City Seafood" i.e. no "river city marine" sign. Hope all turns out well at the hospital.