Page 4 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Boat Rego Increase

Re: Boat Rego Increase

Quote Originally Posted by rob tranter View Post
    We are Australian

Take fuel costs

If we all, as Australians, stuck together, and only bought fuel from ONE Company for One week, we may force Other Fuel Companies to reduce their price to entice us back

Rob T
    I take it Rob that you have absolutely no idea of how the fuel companies operate
    otherwise you would not believe the tripe you read in certain emails

Kev
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    I wonder what would happen if each and every one of us just simply refused to pay the next rego bill?

What is the fine? I'm sure we could set up a fighting fund to pay the fines for a while, and send a pretty loud message to these twits.
    well your boat would not be registered
    the fine for late rego is written on your renewal notice
    and then as you launch your boat the Police will be busy writting out unregistered boat tickets as you attemp to motor away

the Gov't would easlily make up the difference and none of us would be going out unless we paid the extra

I mean come on you guys
    $15 a year????????
    I think you should all be more worried about what your NEW council's rates are gonne be

Kev

I think that this thread has really nothing to do with boat regos or whether they're justified, but more to do with how the Aussie consumer gets screwed over.

All these threads about loyalty to Australian retail when you can buy overseas at so much cheaper./All these new "impositions" that were never mentioned in election manifestos.

It' a wake up call to self, that Oz consumers cannot be isolationist and they shouldn't sit abck and take what the pollies never mentioned in manifestos.

Quiet civility is the choice of those who choose not to fight. I never tool the Aussie populace for that, but it seems like they've been screwed over and will continue to be screwed over.

Nothing at all to do with rego increases and more to do with accountability and whether you want what you voted for.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Increase are from $15 ---- to $360

as an example.

4.5m boat is $15, 5m =$60 , 6m = $90 ,10 is $180

For all you small boats $15 may be nothing, but bigger boats can cost more.

But hey, If ya can't afford $90 extra a year, you can't afford to go fishing.

But honestly, If there are 200,000 registered boats, There should be at least 50,000 trailer boat parks and 5,000 boat ramps in queensland???

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    I think that this thread has really nothing to do with boat regos or whether they're justified, but more to do with how the Aussie consumer gets screwed over.

Nothing at all to do with rego increases and more to do with accountability and whether you want what you voted for.

Exactly!

They up the rego, telling us they will spend it on our facilities. Bollocks. I bet they'll do up a ramp in a conspicuous spot, make a fanfare about it in the press, and the rest will go to General Revenue to fund a job for Anna in London spruiking our State when she quits.

They ripped me a couple of years ago by introducing rego on Earthmoving kit, when the damned things don't even use the road. No new taxes they said, but thats $120 per machine, per year.

They tell you they're fixing the Hospital system. Do you believe it? Had a look at Public Transport lately? Our roads? Electricity was going to be cheaper? Water? Jobs for the Boys? And yet we just shrug, roll over, and cop it up the ar$e like the pathetic little voters we are.

We do have to pay our rego, I agree - apart from anything else if you don't you're not insured. But my point is this;

We complain, but nothing gets done. Why? Because we don't do anything effective about it. If you complain, you're a crank, a winger. If you don't like something, you have to fix it, or just learn to like it. So I want to find a way to fix it, and stop complaining about it.

I just don't know where to start, the problem is bigger than me, but I suspect there are enough heads here to put it together, rattle it around, and start coming up with something useful, if we have the collective will.

Do we?
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

[quote=TimiBoy;832642]Exactly!

They up the rego, telling us they will spend it on our facilities. Bollocks. I bet they'll do up a ramp in a conspicuous spot, make a fanfare about it in the press, and the rest will go to General Revenue to fund a job for Anna in London spruiking our State when she quits.

They ripped me a couple of years ago by introducing rego on Earthmoving kit, when the damned things don't even use the road. No new taxes they said, but thats $120 per machine, per year.

They tell you they're fixing the Hospital system. Do you believe it? Had a look at Public Transport lately? Our roads? Electricity was going to be cheaper? Water? Jobs for the Boys? And yet we just shrug, roll over, and cop it up the ar$e like the pathetic little voters we are.

We do have to pay our rego, I agree - apart from anything else if you don't you're not insured. But my point is this;

We complain, but nothing gets done. Why? Because we don't do anything effective about it. If you complain, you're a crank, a winger. If you don't like something, you have to fix it, or just learn to like it. So I want to find a way to fix it, and stop complaining about it.

I just don't know where to start, the problem is bigger than me, but I suspect there are enough heads here to put it together, rattle it around, and start coming up with something useful, if we have the collective will.

Do we?[/quote]

Answer to that is a definitive NO. It has been tried and all that emerges is a bunch of egos and nothing else and nothing eventuates.
    Everyone says that the State Opposition has nothing to offer...how does anyone know when they have such very few seats. They may have some brilliant talent standing in the next election but we will never know unless they win seats.

[quote=PinHead;832785]
    Quote Originally Posted by TimiBoy View Post
    Exactly!

Do we?[/quote]

Answer to that is a definitive NO. It has been tried and all that emerges is a bunch of egos and nothing else and nothing eventuates.
    Everyone says that the State Opposition has nothing to offer...how does anyone know when they have such very few seats. They may have some brilliant talent standing in the next election but we will never know unless they win seats.
    Unfortunately Greg, I think Bruce (duck egg) Flegg has done irrepairable damage.

See my breeder fish photography here: https://kevindickinsonfineartphot.sm...opical-Fish-2/
    Quality digital copies free to Ausfishers............use as wallpaper or can be printed......size up to 20 x16. PM for details.

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin View Post
    I remember as a young soldier in Aden, reading about Rosa Park refusing to give up her seat to a white man on Montgomery''s segregated buses.

I think that comparing legislated racial segregation in southern US states to an increase of $15 on boat rego is taking things a bit far. I'm pretty sure Rosa Park had more to whinge about than us poor boat owners.

Quote Originally Posted by bluefin59 View Post
    Its a shame some of you blokes didn't put in this sort of an effort when we workers were going to lose all your working conditions under the last government ,imagine the crying you would have been doing if on top of whats happening rate rises , fuel costs ,the price of food ,electricity going up just to name a few you had have lost your wages and conditions . And if you think it would have been better under a liberal government then you are DREAMING i was one of the people who protested about worstchoices and am proud to have done my part toward the demize of that little t##d . I believe theboat rego increase is minor if you want to get some sort of a protest going make it for something worthwhile .I hope i haven't rubbed anyone up the wrong way but thats my opinion and i am intitled to it ...matt
    Bluefin59 I don't agree with all you've said but I can see you point. You should vote for your rights.
    I guess when there's a leak from cabinet sometimes it's done deliberately to see public reaction (remember just recently Peter Garrett and the Plastic Bags and Seniors cuts). When the reaction is adverse enough, they pull their heads in.
    We're already getting slugged with fuel taxes, fishing restrictions, etc....how much more? Easy targets? Why haven't they charged bushwalkers for pathway and tracks they've created in National Parks ... because the lettuce munching Greenies have a very big voice.
    Let's make some noise! Cheers

OK, I won't start anything.

Pinhead, I agree with you. I've seen internal politics come up so often in many "small arenas" and I think your warning is spot on.

Ah well, I threw it out there!
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

I just want to know where to get a trailer for our 56'er so we can use these ramps we are paying for. I'm not sure if the Landy is legal towing 28 tons either

Quote Originally Posted by Horse View Post
    I just want to know where to get a trailer for our 56'er so we can use these ramps we are paying for. I'm not sure if the Landy is legal towing 28 tons either
    as long as it is drive off/ drive on (refer to another thread about launching etc), we don't care if you want to use the ramps

and all of this explains why i should have the right not to vote legally[ not get fined every election]. i dont like any pollie, they are all there for themselves. if they want to be there then they should be paided a wage, just like you and me, not some over the top amount like the recieve. they should work for us , not against us, we have a right to live , i know i work hard enuff for it[ as do others]. i just dont know where to start.if they did some of the shit they say they will do, i,d be happy but alas they wont so #### e,m.cheers sid

Quote Originally Posted by sid_fishes View Post
    and all of this explains why i should have the right not to vote legally[ not get fined every election]. i dont like any pollie, they are all there for themselves. if they want to be there then they should be paided a wage, just like you and me, not some over the top amount like the recieve. they should work for us , not against us, we have a right to live , i know i work hard enuff for it[ as do others]. i just dont know where to start.if they did some of the shit they say they will do, i,d be happy but alas they wont so #### e,m.cheers sid

With any Political debate
    the first thing you have to ask your opponent is "did you vote"
    if the answer is "No" then the debate ends there as they have no right to debate about any Gov't as they chose to not take part in the process that put the Gov't in power and in doing so forfeit their right to debate or complain

also not having compulsory voting you end up with a system where a Gov't is elected by a minority or the population, you think the Gov't of today is bad, imagine the Fanatics you'd end up with in that scenario

Kev

Quote Originally Posted by gwin View Post
    I think that comparing legislated racial segregation in southern US states to an increase of $15 on boat rego is taking things a bit far. I'm pretty sure Rosa Park had more to whinge about than us poor boat owners.
    The comparison had nothing at all to do with the hardships experienced by either Rosa and the black community, or fishos experiencing an increase in regos and more to do with the fact that they did something about it other than whinge.

My heartfelt apologies if I am not literate enough to have illustrated that properly, I will try harder, next time I have a point to make.