Hi All
Went out on Wednesday morning for a quickie before work to target some snapper. Had a mate come down from Brissie to test his new custom built Loomis. The previous day was a ripper as flat as but as we went out the bar the wet weather gear had to be taken out in double quick time. The sea had chopped up a bit and the run out was a bit of a bumpy one. We arrived at the area that has been producing some cracking snapper lately but the reefs seemed really bare and after hitting one spot with not a touch we decided to move a bit deeper. First cast at the new spot and a subtle tap told me it was time to set the hooks. The fish surged off and I called it for a BIG Knobbie but after a few minutes had my doubts. A few hectic minutes followed of fully red lining the gear to stop the fish bricking me. Out she came a beautifull Jewie and Mike stuck the net over her head and lifted the fish into the boat. After a few quick pics for the mags she was released and swam away strongly. Put a BIG smile on my face and made up for the missing Snapper.
Good Fishing to you all
Rod