Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 40lb JEW ON SNAPPER GEAR

40lb JEW ON SNAPPER GEAR

Hi All

Went out on Wednesday morning for a quickie before work to target some snapper. Had a mate come down from Brissie to test his new custom built Loomis. The previous day was a ripper as flat as but as we went out the bar the wet weather gear had to be taken out in double quick time. The sea had chopped up a bit and the run out was a bit of a bumpy one. We arrived at the area that has been producing some cracking snapper lately but the reefs seemed really bare and after hitting one spot with not a touch we decided to move a bit deeper. First cast at the new spot and a subtle tap told me it was time to set the hooks. The fish surged off and I called it for a BIG Knobbie but after a few minutes had my doubts. A few hectic minutes followed of fully red lining the gear to stop the fish bricking me. Out she came a beautifull Jewie and Mike stuck the net over her head and lifted the fish into the boat. After a few quick pics for the mags she was released and swam away strongly. Put a BIG smile on my face and made up for the missing Snapper.

Good Fishing to you all

Rod

Re: 40lb JEW ON SNAPPER GEAR

THe mug shot of the Jewies gob and another one

Hi rod,
    very impressive catch, can understand the smile! well done

Shit yeah that's a cracker Rod. When are you taking me out cause Nathan can't put me onto any fish out there!

My Thready was bigger then yours .

Troy

Very nice Jew that one.....very dark in colour.

Impressive catch....I would rather that Jew over a snapper anyway...

Great fish mate and great pics to that a ripper mate cheers.

Great fish mate they seem to be smashing the placcies out their lately ,i got one that went about 15 kg on a placcie of the goldie a couple of weeks ago we ended up with 3 all together . Good catch great to see a happy fisho especially on the placcies...matt
    A bad days fishing has got to be better than any day at work......

nice jew mate he would of put up a good fight

Geez mate, could you look any happier!
    Great stuff.

Troy

Yeah mate it looks like it. Can you send me a few pics in full size if you dont mind for an article

Rod

Holy smoke! Nice fish!

simon

Nice work Rod. they certainly test your gear at that size.
    I got one there last year that was quite a bit lighter in colour....real yellow fins too. not quite as big tho, was only about 30lb i think. now leave my spot alone

Cheers Roo.

Very nice fish there Roderick, it justifies your grin well and truly.

Did you get a few measurements of the old girl before she swam off?

What a slob!

Awesome fish. Great effort.
    Not to get technical...... but according to Chemistry, ALCOHOL IS A SOLUTION