Thread: Brissie River - help needed

Brissie River - help needed

Fisho's

I was hoping you could give me a few tips on fishing the brissie river for bream and snapper..

Is it as simple as just hitting the piers with SP's and HB's and if so what lures do you recomend.. We used to hit a small reef section under the Gateway that is now covered with road base for the second bridge.. Had produced a few squire and other miscelaneous reef fish.. Other than that I have had many unsuccesful trips..

Don't need secret spots but more a bit of direction so I don't feel I have wasted a morning. Planning on hitting Saturday early for the high tide at 6am.

Re: Brissie River - help needed

i can help you with the bream, fish the sunken wall along pinkenbar, the pipe across boggy creek and jetties around the gateway have produced a few nice bream for me so far no squire. plastic wise go for atomic prongs, squidgy critters and flickbaits and squidgy wrigglers. personally i try to stay away from gulps as i beleive other plastics test your skill more. Choose jigheads that vary from 1/32 to 1/12th as this should cover most of the river( one day i was using 1/40th tt hws in 11m of water in the brissie river so days can vary. i tend to use size 2 hooks the most but i often se size 4, 2, 1 and 1/0 hooks on my jigheads. leader wise, for bream i use 4lb all the time even if fishing under jetties, if i am going really tough and losing to many rigs to fish i will change to 6lb or 8lb leader. harbodies sx40's and jackal chubbies are killers on bream but lately i have even found the bream are smashing small rmg's and halco laser pro's, i would rather be losing a $12 halco laser pro than a $24+ jackal chubbie to a snag. early mornings under a few jetties using surface lures and squidgy bugs can produce some exciting fishing. if you have a sounder and find the bream schooling in deeper water purchase a few little metal blades and tiemco sinking minnows and you will find they will smash them, often you can get by catch of threadfin salmon, cod, squire but i am yet to try this method. i hope it helps and reply if you want to learn a bit more or i missed something.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

cheers Keechie

just for clarification.. we use the pinkenba ramp.. is the sunken wall closer to the mouth or the gateway?? sorry if this is naive.. does the tide change help your catch at all..? cheers

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post
    i can help you with the bream, fish the sunken wall along pinkenbar, the pipe across boggy creek and jetties around the gateway have produced a few nice bream for me so far no squire. plastic wise go for atomic prongs, squidgy critters and flickbaits and squidgy wrigglers. personally i try to stay away from gulps as i beleive other plastics test your skill more. Choose jigheads that vary from 1/32 to 1/12th as this should cover most of the river( one day i was using 1/40th tt hws in 11m of water in the brissie river so days can vary. i tend to use size 2 hooks the most but i often se size 4, 2, 1 and 1/0 hooks on my jigheads. leader wise, for bream i use 4lb all the time even if fishing under jetties, if i am going really tough and losing to many rigs to fish i will change to 6lb or 8lb leader. harbodies sx40's and jackal chubbies are killers on bream but lately i have even found the bream are smashing small rmg's and halco laser pro's, i would rather be losing a $12 halco laser pro than a $24+ jackal chubbie to a snag. early mornings under a few jetties using surface lures and squidgy bugs can produce some exciting fishing. if you have a sounder and find the bream schooling in deeper water purchase a few little metal blades and tiemco sinking minnows and you will find they will smash them, often you can get by catch of threadfin salmon, cod, squire but i am yet to try this method. i hope it helps and reply if you want to learn a bit more or i missed something.

regards,
    keechie
    LOL...........

Howson, basically no, it is not 'as simple as hitting the piers and wharves with sp's and hardbodies', unfortunately. The river is full of mysteries. Great one day, shocking for the next 2 weeks

As with any decent spot, you can do all the right things and be there at what we all think are the right times and the fish are a no show. Basically (as with all fishing) it all comes down to time on the water and getting a bit lucky now and again.

There is no set of rules and if there was they would change every day but there is no shortage of places to try so just keep changing spots and you'll eventually get an idea where the fish hang around.

Generally the river fishes better when theres a bit of run. At the top of the high and dead low, i would be trying for jew in deep holes but everything else pretty much shuts down.

Lure or SP wise, squidgy flick baits and fish, prawn imitations and jackalls have all produced fish for me in the past but anything that works elsewhere will work in the river.

The sunken wall is on the left towards the mouth from the pinkenba ramp before boggy creek. You wont see the wall if it is high tide (thats why its called sunken wall) so be careful.

thanks plaztix.. appreciate your help..

Mate hop onto the reports page and check out Chief's reports. He is the river guru and he is quite good for a tip or 2.
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

howson, check your pm

I am in the same spot as Howson. Just looking for some spots to catch fish, and I'm not that interested in keeping them - just enjoy the whole catch and release thing.

Went to the rockwall on Sat arvo and while I got nothing, my 7 yo daughter got a 28 cm squire on the first cast using a sp like a 'normal bait' on the first cast (I hadn't even got the line in yet....). She is now banned untill I catch something.

I was trying TT Switchblades without even a touch, my cousin was using Halco (hx/vx/vz????? not really sure what they were) but neither of us even got a touch.

Will take some of this info next time.

Quote Originally Posted by howson77 View Post
    cheers Keechie

just for clarification.. we use the pinkenba ramp.. is the sunken wall closer to the mouth or the gateway?? sorry if this is naive.. does the tide change help your catch at all..? cheers
    it is a very close to the pinkenbar ramp heading towards the mouth, if you go have a look at low tide you will see a few rocks sticking up out of the water and this is the sunken wall. on a high tide here cast surface lures across the submerged rocks and retreive back. i always try to fish the out going tide as it has been more productive for me. everyone thinks you must fish the high tide but as i have said in other threads i beleive the fish are more active on a moving tide as there is more water getting into there gills giving them more energy to feed and chase your lures. when the tide goes flat then it's harder to catch fish on lures.

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!