cars parking in boat spots - Page 3

View Poll Results: Who thinks cars should be allowed to park in boat car parks

Voters
181. You may not vote on this poll
  • yes i do think they should be allowed to park in boat car parks

6 3.31%
  • No they shouldnt be allowed to park in boat car parks

175 96.69%
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: cars parking in boat spots

Ausfish Platinum Member honda900's Avatar

Re: cars parking in boat spots

"I'd be happy to pay a kayak rego fee that is appropriate to the strain we put on public infrastructure. Mind you, it woud be a hell of alot less"

Great then, just like us motorcyclists you can also pay 3/4 of the cost of what my 4wd costs to drive on the road, and how about the cyclists, lets get them on board as well. hey thatll spruce up the ramps.

Honda

Quote Originally Posted by honda900 View Post
    "I'd be happy to pay a kayak rego fee that is appropriate to the strain we put on public infrastructure. Mind you, it woud be a hell of alot less"

Great then, just like us motorcyclists you can also pay 3/4 of the cost of what my 4wd costs to drive on the road, and how about the cyclists, lets get them on board as well. hey thatll spruce up the ramps.

Honda
    If you pay too much, there you have every reason to be unhappy about it. I wasnt having a go at motorcyclist, or the registration system for any other form of transport. I'm not aware of motorcycling registration systems so i can't really comment.

I assume alot of the extra registration that goes with motorcycling would be to do with the extra pressure they put on the public hospital and emergency response systems. I think i saw a figure somewhere which quoted that motorcyclists were to a power of 10 times more likely to be involved in a serious road incident causing death or injury than a car user.

As for the cyclist, i think the common users should pay if everyone is happy with the user pays system that we currently live with. Government are probably reluctant to do so as it would discourage bicycle usage, which is a clean, and healthy traveling method.

Myself, i'm not too up for user pays governmental systems, of which we are currently heading for. It disadvantages those in lower socio-economic positions, and really causes some serious social equity problems.

Not to mention, it makes things a hell of alot more complicated

if we dont pay a walking registration, can we not walk on footpaths? If we dont pay a public park user registration, can we not play in teh parks? It's a ridiculous, subjective, overcomplicated and narrow minded system.
    Last edited by theclick; 28-05-2008 at 03:50 PM.
    Perception Swing Flatty and bream angler
    Landbased Too.
    Subaru Lover

Yes I almost gave myself a hernia last time I tried to launch my canoe, and not offend boat owners (of which I am one as well, and fully rego'd)
    I parked in the correct spot for a car, at Nudgee, trollied the canoe to the sand beside the ramp, scratched the paint, cursed and then told my 7 year old son to sit tight while I went and got the leccy and rods / pfds and esky.

I was buggered by the time I got set up, even before I wet a paddle I was feeling like a lie down. Its a 30+KG fibreglass canoe so once you have a battery in there and all the accessories, it is flamin heavy.

On the flip side, last time I launched at Cabbage tree creek, I had to ask someone to hold the tinny for me while I parked my car / trailer about 200mtrs away where there was a space, and jog back !!
    If men are from Mars, and women are from Venus, politicians must be from uranus ?

Quote Originally Posted by DR View Post
    maybe there should be some kind of registration fees on canoes, windsurfers etc & then they can have the same rights at boat ramps as those that do have registration..get a sticker on their vehicle that states they have paid & are contributing to the (minimal) upkeep of boat ramps.. & can use the designated parking bays.
    Too right!!...only people with a watercraft that's too heavy to carry/wheel should be using designated boat & trailer parking areas and of course they should pay the same fees.

As for the larrddy-dahh mob that want to park there because you can see the water -- they should be prosecuted severely..or maybe a bit of boat trailer sticking out could give 'em a bit of a 'scrape'..would be a good deterrent!

Well I personally think they should not be allowed to park in a trailer park and if they do and the trailer park runs out of spaces then we should have the right to park them in and their car can just stay where it is until we return back from our fishing trip. Perhaps all trailer parks should include designated single car park spaces for Kayak, car toppers, and even handicapped parks for those with disabilities who are going out as deckies? Perhaps a letter to the local MP is in order?

I think this is the most sensible suggestion to come from this thread. Clearly marking whose spaces are whose, and policing it is the best option. A 250 x 350mm sign with trees growing over it is not exactly clear, and easy for Joe public to ignore. A 900 x 600mm reflective bugger is more appropriate, along with clear linemarking, and would eliminate a lot of "confusion". I doubt that most councils are aware of the needs of yakkers etc, and a few well placed letters may actually be helpful to everyone who uses the ramps.

BTW - Once at deepwater bend, I was getting ready to throw the boat in, and some clown came and parked in the rigging zone, locked his car and started walking away. When I confronted him, his excuse was "I'll only be half an hour". When my criticism got much louder, and more expletives started coming out of me at the top of my voice in earshot of a few more boaties, the gent in question decided the rigging area was not a good place to leave his car all of a sudden. In fact, he hopped in and left altogether. I did not threaten him at all, but another member of the boating fraternity suggested he may need a snorkel to get back to his car if he left it alone for half an hour LOL.
    Last edited by baitwaster; 28-05-2008 at 04:27 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by SummerTrance View Post
    Mate, I still dont think thats a good enough excuse. What, because there is only limited car spaces, or you have two vehicles. Park your car out on the road, and leave the trailer spaces for vehicles with trailers. I spose youd park in the rigging lane (Like many people do every weekend at Deepwater) if there was no spare spaces. Come on... park out on the road and walk the extra 200 metres. It's just inconsiderate lazyness in my opinon
    Mate it isnt laziness I did once park out on the road and came back after a day fishing to find the side of my car sideswiped and the electric mirror ripped off and because the person didnt leave a note to say who it was my rating one was put in jepoardy. A point that was also raised by my insurance co was that was I legally parked by parking out on that road aparantly something to do about road widths I cant remember what the tech point was but I wont risk parking out there again. And no I DONT PARK IN THE RIGGING ZONE. I have now taken to pleading with the minister for Finance to drop me off approx a 45min round trip. But to others who are not familiar with the area could become stuck.

I dont advocate parking in trailer bays but realise that due to poor design this can occur.

It appears this problem is State wide. All boaties get a raw deal on infrastructure. Come up to Sunny Townsville and see what our local authorities laughingly call boat ramps.

The previous council had a unique way of showing what they thought of boaties. There is a ferry terminal alongside the lagest boat ramp in Townsville and day trippers almost completely fill the trailer parks at times. A complaint to the council resulted in one of my all time favourite bureaucratic answers of all times "Hardly anyone uses the boat ramp during the week" Tell that to all the boaties on annual leave, FIFO rosters, retired or even on school hoildays.

Believe it or not the council WILL book boaties who park their trailers on the grassed areas when the trailer park is full of cars.

We will just have to wait to see what the new council's attitude will be. Of course we were promised the earth during the election but now the same tired old excuses "We don't have any money because the previous council (or any government) cooked the books.

The 2nd biggest ramp in Townsville doesn't even have a public toilet which is a real problem for the ladies. It does have a very nice collection of growing pot holes though.

Sorry about the rants but I am getting sick of paying regos etc for absolutely nothing.

Polly

If you park a car without a trailer in a boat trailer spot in Tewantin or Noosaville you will get booked... be certain of it...and rightly so....probably partly because the main parking area is just outside the council offices..?

Launched at Wello Point a few Sundays ago then drove around looking for a car/boat trailer park. Saw a heap of cars only in these spots.

Followed a Holden Commodore that found the last car/boat trailer spot. When they parked I stopped behind them, beeped my horn and politely indicated to them to move so I could park there. They very reluctantly backed out and then gave me the finger as I parked.

Gotta love the d*ckheads!

Regs

Quote Originally Posted by SgBFish View Post
    Tassie.
    This is a case of where we used to have unwritten rules that people seem to know. We know have a situation where because of a number of reason peoples attitudes are " I was here first and bugger you".
    A classic example of what you describe occurs at the Coast Guard ramp at Mooloolaba. Over summer it fills with beach goers who either have no idea or simply don’t care.
    Is it legal?
    This is a problem not only for boaties at the ramps, but a simmilar situation for trucks at shopping centres and loading zones
    the easy fix at shopping centres though is to just park behind the lazy fat slob's cars and make them wait the 1/2 hour while you do your duties, gives them a good lesson about why loading zones are put there

Problem with boatramps is that you'd probably end up with a parking ticket, or worse some retard who has the shits because they have to wait 6 hours for you to return, starts damaging your vehicle, sometimes it would ALMOST be worth it

what annoyed me the last time I took the mates boat up to Mooloolaba CG ramp were the clowns with the F250s and trailers parking across 3 parking spaces, I counted at least 5 of them, and I had to park 200 metres further along the rd with the other boaties and cars.
    If You Can't Run With The Dogs....... Stay On The Porch

Now what's wrong with these photo's ???

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 27858

Attachment 27859

Nagg

Nags, None off those un-trailered cars have flat tyres.....

Un-trailered cars that park in space's reserved for boaties really pisses me off...
    Last weekend, I came into my usual boat ramp with only one parking space vacant... I drop the boat in the water, and then went to park my car and trailer in the only vacant spot, but only to find some arsehole without a trailer had taken the spot... I had to park 500m down the road.... Not happy Jan

But I am a revengeful person and on the way back to my boat I took the liberty to take his valve stems from his wheels...
    Last edited by Jabba_; 31-05-2008 at 07:14 AM.

I think we all need to be talking to our regulators (Councils) about this issue, and making a lot of noise.

While letting people's tyres down is quite satisfying, it's not a long term fix. God knows what is, because they just dismiss us as cranks anyway, but it is the legal avenue...
    Carbon Really Ain't Pollution.

Quote Originally Posted by NAGG View Post
    Now what's wrong with these photo's ???

[ATTACH]sum[/ATTACH]

Attachment 27858

Attachment 27859

Nagg
    ooh ooh i know tis not raining .

regards,
    keechie
    Breaming is my LIFE!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Keechie View Post
    ooh ooh i know tis not raining .

regards,
    keechie

Very good Keechie ..... go to the head of the class! ( It was a magnificent evening actually)

The True answer is .....drum roll

"Someone actually had the audacity to park their car & trailer in the correct bay "